1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,017
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Don't forget about the 45nm Athlon x2 5000 unlock on the SB750 chipset(ACC of course). Save yourself $35.00 and end up with a Phenom X4! I've got my 2nd one arriving tomorrow to be unlocked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,220 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,810
    My 785GTM-E45 that I have for sale has a SB710 which supports unlocking I believe and it uses DDR2. Food for thought :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if your talking to me i'm good on that. I have a board that has SB750 and another that has SB710 :laugh:but that really isn't the way i want to do
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,220 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,810
    Oh that was just another shameless plug :) Figured someone would be enticed to buy an unlock capable board immediately after reading Buck's post :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    Glad to hear it CP :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah bro. The QX is at default and the PH II is at 3.9 GHz :toast:
     
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    I have been running my cruncher #3 rig at defaults (i7 920 & Rampage II Gene) for over a week due to stabilty issues. It ran at 3.8 GHz for about three weeks pumping out nice numbers but then started having problems. So I reset to defaults and have been averaging over the last nine days only 3,161 Boinc ppd instead of 4,476 Boinc ppd.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    The only rig that is overclocked is the Phenom II because it's my daily rig. It's got a nice performance boost over stock. The difference in overclocking the AMD rig and the i7 is more noticeable in the AMD. I guess since the i7 has HT, not everything benefits from it so it's less noticeable, not sure if you get what I mean. But I really like this setup a lot.
     
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    I understand what you mean. It would be interesting if you turned of HT at stock and oc speeds on the 920 to see what results you would get. However I am not willing to try that at this point and am fact going to have to figure out my instability issue with the i7-mini so I can get it back to 3.8GHz:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah naw, not asking you to do that. Have you tested RAM, PSU?
     
  11. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    Just to keep you guys posted, it seems whatever happened only took out the PSU's. I have my i7 rig up on a spare PSU now. The q9550 is down for the count until I get a PSU for it, but have other things on the burner first. After I'm 100% sure the i7 rig is stable again it will be back and crunching 100% well I'm not gaming on it.

    The electricians that came out didn't find anything wrong, they are just writing it up as a fluke. At least they didn't charge me.... and right now I'm just thankful whatever it was didn't make it's way to the home theater.....
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    In a way that's good to hear, it could have been worse. Good luck man and keep us posted.
     
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,429 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,016
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    The Q9550 has been running strong @ 3.6GHz with the new ram.. I'm taking it to 3.8GHz... Cross's fingers.. hehehe
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Good luck dude :toast:
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what are the specs of the q9550 rig?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    e6320 is down dunno wats wrong wont even run prime95 prolly bad mem (stupid crucial ballistix) :cry: ill recheck when i get home, heck might just build another x4 620 :banghead:
     
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Keep us posted bro :toast: Good luck.
     
  18. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    q9550 @ 3.6ghz
    Asus Maximus Formula
    8gb ddr2 800
    2x 640gb WD AAKS raid0
    2x HD4850 CF @ 720/1100
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if you build another 620 and want a 790gx board i have an Asrock for sale that we should be able to make a deal on. Also i maybe willing to sell my patriot ram(DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 2x1gb)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,220 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,810
    With an i7 is there something special I have to do for BOINC to rec the 4 additional cpus from HT? CPUz says 4 cores 8 thread buts BOINC still shows 4 after updating preferences to 100%, running benchmarks, etc.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It should download the extra work automatically. What's your work buffer set to?
     
  22. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,220 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,810
    2 days. I have it set to 100% in preferences. Also have the profile on WCG.com updated as well and nothing. Win Taskmanager shows 8 threads, 4 are idle when WCG runs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Weird!!! Try forcing 4 more to run...
     
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,220 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,810
    I must be missing something, how do I force it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    nevermind, not possible.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page