1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    should be am3
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    that means i'm going to have to sell off my AM2+ and grab a AM3 board :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @ Erazer & pos
    Pretty sure you would need an 8 series to run them but don't quote me on it. Does thuban have quad channel only or can it also do dual channel? i'm thinking if it does dual then it COULD possibly be backwards capable with AM2+ boards.

    EDIT:

    Looks like dual channel capable & 125W. Odds are that current 140W capable(mainly 790GX & 785G) AM2+ boards would only need a bios update.
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1738904&postcount=1
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if thats the case that would be a nice drop in upgrade... Having a i7 and X6 crunching that would be some nice points :)

    EDIT:It seems i will have to have a DDR3 board :(
    Also JR are you still looking to get a different board?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,218 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,907
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I was told over at OCN that my 785G board would support the Phenom II X6 (or whatever they are going to call it :p) with a BIOS update, so if I still have my Phenom setup by then (may get bored and get an i7 before that), I'll upgrade to an X6 for the PPD boost
    I guess I would probably rather have a Phenom II X6 than an i7 860, despite that it would probably be slower in WCG.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    cant wait to see how much ppd amd x6 could do :D guess im gonna wait lil longer to buy new WCG rig even tho im really having bad itch to buy :laugh:

    almost bought another q9550 for 169$ damn microcenter w ther sales
     
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i only paid alittle more then that for my i7 :D

    on subject of i7.. I am going to reinstall the OS i am having alot of problems and i'm sure its not the OC as it passes Linx as many times as i ask it to. So i am going to put windows 7 on it after i reinstall XP 64bit on my other 2 crunchers.today all the crunchers get a fresh OS :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    MC got i7 920 for 199$
     
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats what i would grab if i was you
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thats a heck of a deal!!!
     
  11. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    might as well ask u guys, im thinking getting i7 860 (225$) gonna be mainly for crunching im looking for a good mAtx board able to OC pretty well and cheap good ddr3 mem any suggestions? i preffer to shop in MC

    http://www.microcenter.com/
     
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    how many gigs of ram? how many PCI-E slots you need?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    4g one pcie should be fine but mainly gonna use onboard, again it mainly for crunching
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
  15. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Anyone ever have issues with LinX crashing your display drivers? I really seem to hate Linx, think I will stick to OCCT Linpack fo stability testing on my WVG rigs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if i am right i don't think the i7 can be used with onboard video only the i5 and i3 with the built in GPU can
     
    ERazer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hmmm well that sux, i need to do some more research

    i thought mAtx board with onboard vid can run i7s, wow totally got the wrong idea :slap:
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    the i7 is down for the count i can't get it to do shit but BSOD even everything all stock and even when installing windows it crashes. I have tried everything that i can :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you need the new i3/i5 6xx series i think to use the onboard vid as the gpu is in the cpu, and you need a H55 board, not a p55
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ew, that's gotta suck hard. Clear the cmos, pull the battery... make sure the QPI voltage is within .5v of the memory voltage
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Try that and let us know Tim..
     
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    already done all of that. and still no go. It does suck hard. I am going to work with it alittle more and see if i can atleast get it to post again :banghead::cry:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hrm... boot with only the essentials. one stick of memory, one drive, one optical drive, use onboard video if you have it

    so how did this happen... it just up and randomly started being gay?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yes it randomly started being gay. It was working fine and i went to restart it because it wouldn't load anything and it started that shit. I got it into windows now. I'm not sure what fixed it but i did all of the following
    clear CMOS
    reseat CPU and heatsink
    cleaned gold pins on ram
    blew out the CPU and ram sockets
    changed PSU
    reseated GPU heatsink(needed done anyways)
    switched HDD
    reinstalled windows
    put a fan over the NB

    i think that is about everything. I am now running LinX to be sure its stable
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page