1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. RAMMIE New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    My Grid > My Profile
    At the bottom.
    Cross project ID
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys,

    Just got my QX back up but now BOINC keeps saying "Retrieving Current Status" and that's it. I can't detach/attach, nothing is available in the "advanced view"

    Help???
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    tried uninstall / reinstall it? i mean boinc
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yep, no fix.
     
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    it may sound dumb... but is the date right?:)
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    +1^^
     
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yes.
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    weird
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That sounds at least reasonable, my X4 955 will do 3.6ghz @ 1.35v (vs 1.408 stock) as long as I leave the side panel off and use a better fan on the CPU (the Rocketfish has massive cooling issues), so 3.6ghz on a 3ghz stock (?) CPU certainly sounds believable
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Problem fixed, had to install a older version of BOINC.

    ANyways, look at the temps under load with the Megashadow :D The fan is on it's lowest setting too!

    [​IMG]
     
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Wow, those are awesome temps! *looks at temps on the X4, and discovers that they are 66c :eek:*
    Time to OC that now :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yeah man, some insane temps!!!!
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    CoreTemp reads Yorkfield wrong. Use RealTemp.
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    its more then true. Mine did 3.6ghz on 1.35v and stock voltage is 1.4v :)
    BTW the i7 is back at 3.7ghz and seems to be fine now that i Installed 7 64bit. Seems that maybe it was a software problem with XP
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you got it working? That's great, man!

    Hmm... I should at least get it running at 3.5GHz (250x14)... my board's done 250FSB with my 7750. I don't know about pushing it much farther though, given my generic $70 budget board :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I got it working lastnight :) passed 500x LinX at 3.7ghz@1.2v :D temps ~69c hottest core with push/pull fans on low. I had my 240 running at 3.6ghz on my cheap Gigabyte GA-m61p-S3(Nforce 430) it ran stable on that board even. I got 3.9ghz@1.5v stable on my Asrock 790GX(that i just sold)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hey Sir Ion:

    How much PPD do you expect from an Athlon II x2 240 at 3.5GHz?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I know i'm not Ion but i say around 800-1000 PPD as thats about what i got from mine at a slightly higher 3.6ghz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wonder if my aunt would mind if I set up WCG on her machine as well...

    Here's a brain teaser: if I overclocked the processor to 3GHz, but undervolted it to 1.25v (1.275v stock), would the temps be safe for WCG on the stock cooler? The processor is lapped.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    wuhuu, now i got myself this board for my other phenom

    40$, okay i gotta stop now otherwise im gonna ruin my self :roll:

    [​IMG]
     
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    That is a bright board Hat:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    $40 for a board like that? Damn... I paid $160 for my DFI LanParty 590SLI back in the day...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its been used for some 4ghz+ oc'ing, and no reciept ? dont know the right word, thats why its so cheap,
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Makes no difference man. Temps a bit higher now that it's been crunching for hours.

    [​IMG]
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,171 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Got to love the Mega series.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page