1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Doesn't fail to impress me.
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,961 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Ohio
    While we're talking about temps...

    The Athlon II's have actual temp sensors on the core, right? My Kuma doesn't have core temp sensors—all I get is socket temp
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    maybe the sensor is dead? it happends sometimes
     
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I only got Socket Temp with my AII X2 so maybe its just a shot in the dark
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yay, the first part for my cruncher has arrived


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    nice board. What socket is that? I think thats the board i was going to grab when i was looking at the i7 860 (if i am thinking the right board)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i hope i can get a cheap i5 750 next month, have spend way to much on hardware this month :lol:

    so next month i'll be buying either a 750 or a i5 6xx, with HT, and 1 or 2 sticks or ram, nothing fancy, just to make it work.


    great dude, what was the problem then?
     
  10. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah i do :) uhm its a eos 1000d and i'm not very good with it:)

    yeah it looks empty, but it will soon be filled with some things :toast:
     
  12. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    I know it is a EOS 1000d, shoot at 1/3", F9. That was the long exposure and the little blur that made me think that you used a tripod.

    Since you now have a country tag assigned to your name I can inform you that at the first update of today were 7th overall for that update (guess who were #1). It is easier to race against Denmark then TPU ;
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    should be a nice setup with decent PPD :toast:
    the problem was aparently a software problem when running windows XP. I didn't change anything other then install Win 7 and set everything in the BIOS back to the setting i had for 3.7ghz and ran LinX 500x (~10hrs IIRC) and another 25x just to be sure. Also added a 2nd fan to my heatsink for push/pull. now i need to get the rig back in the case :banghead: maybe i should paint my 300 again and then put it in there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i must learn the settings of my cameraXD i dont really take that many pictures, still need to learn how to position the light, and etc. :rockout:

    haha i guess you are n1 :D i will be putting up some nice numbers soon i hope, hope ill be getting the AM3 board this week for my other phenom II 965 :rockout:

    i can put up a q8200 for about a week, i'm at a friends house while he is on vacation :cool:

    dude that just sounds VERy annoying?

    well just sand the paint down a little, and then give it a black coat? it always looks nice imo
     
  15. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    You had your share of problems p_o_s. Hope that it will run for 30.000 hours only interrupted by the bi-annual cleaning.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Supreme0verlord is right on me. If i have another day of the i7 giving me problems he will for sure overtake me :(
    I agree i have had my share of problems. I hope it will run only being interrupted by cleaning and upgrades
    I'm thinking about doing that. Its red right now but i'm not really liking the red anymore. But i also did my old case in black so i was kinda wanting a change... Maybe a nice gloss black will look nice. the old case was a flat black... so its kinda a change then
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    Stop running test, just crunch then you can keep him off.

    I have been blessed with no blue screen, no nothing and I'm running 4 GHZ at 1,184 now (i7-920 D).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    On the topic of OCing, my internet was down for 7 hours, unfortunately it was while I was sleeping so I did not mess with my clocks. I think I will actually keep them where they are, nice mix of temp and performance.

    My Phenom 965 only has one temp avail. Its actually not the socket temp- it has a single temp sensor for all four cores.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    You have a kick-ass cooler and good board and you settle for 3,51 GHz? Is it very warm in your room? What are your temps? I (know different CPU) have 20,7 C at my fan inlet and less then 60 C on the cores (HWmonitor). I'm "bless" with a workshop where there right now is 6.5 C. The rig goes there tomorrow. I might try 21x200 @ 1.20 V, close the door and come back later.

    Edit: Is it the i860 or "the other one" that you stopped fiddeling with?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    Its my i7. Its winter time and I rarely run the heat, so its very cool right now. Hottest core is 51C and the socket temp is 47C.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I'm done running test. I just had to be sure everything was going to be stable this time. i have only had the rig for a few days so its normal for me to have bugs to work out for like the first week or 2 anyways :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,961 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Ohio
    I loaded hwmonitor and it says it's the core temperature, and the temp is the same for both cores, but it's impossible to be at this temp... it's at like 21c load, which is lower than ambient.

    What does your temp say?
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Meh, if it's not crashing, noticeably throttling or smoking, it doesn't matter, you're fine. lol.
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I agree with that statement :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    Im using Core temp and its reads as 49C loaded.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page