1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Suppose it's off to play with settings, voltages and tedious stress testing tonight then. Thanks guys, I'll see what I can get on safe(r) volts.
     
  2. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    @kiex

    here my bios at 4005mhz
    p5q-e overvolt all your voltage setting
    vcore 1,36
    cpu gtl 0.635
    cpu gtl 0.635
    cpu pll 1.52
    fsb 1,28 (stay under 1.40 )
    nb 1.36

    *note that stock voltages are NOT stock voltages if you set it to AUTO or even if you set manually each parameter to the right voltage; the mobo overvolts it for you.
     
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    im no owner of an i7, but from what ive heard, thats in the safe range... 1.65 should be the max for i7 IMC´s, so youre within the limit,i suppose;)
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  4. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Lol, i think I had you PM me those once :) Certainly won't get me 4GHz seem to have a bad combo. But will see what I can squeeze from that. Thanks bud
     
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,166 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Yeah you're fine there. You did not need any VTT for stability? Thats pretty cool. I needed + .075 VTT and + .04375 Vcore to get my 860 stable at 3.5
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    @KieX Asus p5q-e - p5q deluxe bios overvolting (example only) i have the bios 2001 installed and it still overvolting
    [​IMG]
     
    KieX says thanks.
  7. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    Is 1.18 V really stock? Then I'm undervolting mine to reach 4 GHZ. I think that stock is lower but I don't care to reset my bios to find out. Anyway 1.2 is low and safe.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Good to know. Using the same BIOS too. Seems to be fine booting into 460FSB (3.9GHz) with these lower settings you've given me. Gone through 15 passes of linpack64 so far and holding.

    I appreciate I can't get the 4GHz on this, but 3.9GHz on lower volts is good thing. Is the damage I caused gonna keep getting worse or will it slow down now that I eased off?
     
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    it will be slowed down, but i really cant say you how long it will run...it may be years, but also could be months, or worst, weeks. you will notice it, when it starts to constantly loose stability. it doesnt happen very often,tho, and i only knew of a few procs dieing thru it. time will tell...;)
     
    KieX says thanks.
  10. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    the damage will probably slow down (i hope)

    maybe you can reset the cmos sometime it magic :D
     
    KieX says thanks.
  11. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Should start planning a commemorative frame to hang it up on the wall when it does die. "My first cruncher, a lesson on overvolting irresponsibly"
     
  12. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    :roll::roll: i have a box full of dead video card(thanks to Folding@home:D)
     
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    what kind of cards? and how did they died?:eek:
     
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    That's insane! And expensive! Lol
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I am running 3.7ghz rock solid the only thing i had to bump was the CPU voltage and ram voltage. Everything else is bone stock :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    on mine 1.18v is stock but i am running a c1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    bfg8600gts,xfx8800gt,zotac9500gt,zotac9800gt,sapphire 4850,palit4850

    the 8600gts and the 8800gt alpha dog= bad powersupply thermaltake toughpower500watt
    the 9500gt and the sapphire 4850 = another bad psu antec neopower 480watt
    The palit 4850 and the zotac 9800gt are dead for no reason

    This is one reason why I stop folding after 1 890 000 pts :mad:
    (i'll be back shortly:D)
     
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    oh oh, that surely wasnt cheap:ohwell: luckily, the PSU´s that died on me, never took sth out with them. that surely would make me cry, if this would happen to me:cry:
     
  19. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Yeah, how did they die from Folding?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    capacitator died, some solderjoint broke....chip burned up thru use.
    he can bake them all, i bet one or maybe 2 will run again. but that will smell like a PCB factory in China.:laugh:
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
  21. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    24/7 max overclocked, heat, 9 month + bad psu

    they just stop working.If i try to boot with one video card the pc dont boot at all(no light no fan spinning, nothing)

    if remove the video card and install any other video card i have (good card) the pc boot normally
     
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    theyre both bricked. as said, a solderjoint can break, or "get cold" when its only slightly melted, during excessively HOT operation.
    these 2 have a high chance of beeing relived, if thats true, what i read.
    out of 20 people trying it, only 3 seemed to were unlucky,for 2 it didnt worked, and for one, it worked only part time,until the card died again. you could also measure the volts on each cap, a dead cap gives no reading anymore,i believe.if you can solder a bit, a dead cap should be easily replaceable, and you may even be able to upgrade it, if wanted. your zapped cards probably are destroyed, but i would experiment, if i were you, and you dont mind, smelling hot plastic all the day long;)
     
  23. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    maybe i'll try with my zotac 9800gt i let you know

    edit:I'll go get the camera from my sister tomorrow an post some pics before/after
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    please do! im really interested, because i never heard details out of first hand!

    also, that would make your folding easier again,eh :D?

    i appreciate your will for experimenting!;)

    EDIT: that will really smell, please ventilate your kitchen good, i dont know exactly how "sticky" this smell is.

    one additional: nvidias solder seems to be harder than ati one. so you may have to adjust temps
    if youre not sure, try it with a relatively cool soldering iron, on a big solderdot. with a 16w iron, i wasnt able to melt the nvidia solder. it was no problem tho, to steal a cap from a defect x800. very easy to melt, like your normal household solder.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
    stanhemi says thanks.
  25. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    i'll start with the 9800gt sorry bad pic crappy camera
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (4 members and 2 guests)

[Ion], mstenholm, manofthem, twilyth

Share This Page