1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Damn it. Seems like I can't keep all my crunchers up and running at once. I'm down a rig until I can get a hold of a cheap power supply. Second OCZ PSU to die on me in the last year.
  2. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    OCZ? really? :confused:
  3. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    Just to confirm, blkhogan,you have done http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=106370 to your rigs.It makes them report immediately .:toast:
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Damn Paul, that's bad news. I got no luck with PC"s lately neither. I can't get my AMD rig to boot, pretty frustrating man :banghead:
  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    sounds like other teams are out to sabotages us, i started yesterday got like 6 things done but i dont have any points not for sure how long it takes to update
    neoreif says thanks.
  6. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    No worries man! As long as you Crunch that would be fine!:rockout:
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It takes a few days to update :toast:
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    WOAH! i just achieved something i never saw before!!!:eek:
    lower ddr2 timings with ddr3?:laugh: all other subtimings are as low as possible,1.7v
    its blazingly fast, only 1 mhz htt more, and everest will crack the 10k mark for both memory and L3 read speed;)

    EDIT: i believe, from now on, i will call it my "sandbox-ram" :D

    Attached Files:

  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    3.5GHz 1.4v :)

    stock voltage is 1.425. That's too high, so I trid 1.375v... I got a BSOD or something, (wasn't paying attention when it happened) so I'm at 1.4v now.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's the same CPU I have :cool:
    Awesome timings on the RAM, my DDR2 runs at 5:5:5:18 :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thanks! i can go lower,subtiming-wise but the IMC of the K10 doesnt let me :D
    have you ever seen a trc of 11 on ddr3? in the beginning i didnt believed it:laugh:
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    A fast C2D is better than a stock C2Q?

    E8400@ 4.00Ghz total runtime 3:00:02:47 points generated 14,742
    Q9400@ 2.66Ghz total runtime 8:12:09:59 points generated 26,749

    I'd been thinking a quad is always better since it's running 4 tasks...
    :confused:
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    this is a very big difference in clock speeds, and not one of the strongest quads...
    can be... do you have that cc_config files, for reporting immediatly on both rigs?:)
  14. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,027 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    It depends. Your E8400 only gets 700 PPD (efficient). Mine gets 1250 @ 3,8 GHZ. My point is that the CPU time is calculated for the periode of time the program is running regardless of the CPU load put into the chrunching. As I recall you had a 60% setting at one point. Are there more general load on the quad during the day?

    Then again there could be other explanations. My 2,7 GHz Xeon is only as efficient as my P4 at 2,0 GHz. Both are dedicated chrunchers.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Not that I know of...

    I started crunching at the default 60% on all pc's. Then I put the E8400 at 100% since the temps max out at 55 and I would be on the net. The Q9400 is kept at 90%, for now. It runs a simple SQL based accounting program. I'm being conservative with the Q9400 since it acts as a 'server' to the 2 other pc's.
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you maybe want to try them out.... some people that had consistency problems,solved them with that;)
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    did we just get some german there velvet:D
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    more like an accident, i must have mistyped very badly... like looking away during typing or so:eek:
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Fun fact: after installing the CPU, I forgot to plug the fan in, resulting in 50C load temps... I was getting ready to lap it... I had all my stuff laid out, then I noticed the fan was unplugged when I took the case door off.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    aww... priceless.... but i knew that from experience:eek:
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    The last time I forgot to plug in the fan, it was on a P4 HT 3.2 @ 4.1 with a TT Big Typhoon, temps quickly spiraled to 90C+ and the computer crashed. It's awesome the Athlon II X2 is so cool though :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wasn't really suprised to see 50*c. I was like "well, that's a little high, but it is the 1.425v model and I did clock the piss out of it (+700MHz)"... so I was ready to accept it. I still wanted to lap it though... now that I see the fan was unplugged (30*c now) my ambition has plummeted :cool:

    What a chip... +700MHz and undervolted to 1.4v from 1.425v.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thats not even one of the real good ones! but truly impressive, AMD have learned!:D
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    that seriously makes me want to OC and/or UV my X4 955, I'm only running 200mhz over stock with a voltage of 1.312 vs 1.408 stock...I'm going to push for 3.6+ after my exam (Wednesday)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    oh you poor son... youre at the end of the ghz ladder:D
    these c2 955´s need it as cold as possible!, even then, a 700 mhz was quite a hassle, if i also wanted high NB speeds:(
    with enough cold, i probably can scale mine up to at least 4 ghz.Probably! but i need cooling power for that, and in this case Overkill,is the new standard. im currently thinking about developing a really overdimensioned, unmovable setup, but the pump layout, with so different pumps, is a little confusing :D it will be costly, and weeks of testing,relocating,testing, and again, relocating the pumps... it will be fun, but it will also be much work. i even plan to repair my rad, so its not heavily limitant in my loop. with hose and epoxy!:rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page