1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's an incredible chip you have there!
    I am so irritated that I didn't know the difference between the two Phenom II X4 955s Newegg had and I picked up the $10 cheaper one (C2). It takes more voltage and doesn't clock as well :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    if he holds that stable with 2800+ NB and probably 1.3 NB-CPU, i also would be very impressed!:D
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Excuse my lack of knowledge of AMD CPUs, but what is NB-CPU and 2800+ NB?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    @ fourstaff

    gotcha bro. We can always send some parts to college :)
     
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    CPU-NB (had a twist in there:D) is the voltage feeding the phenoms internal memory controller, which speed is responsible for increasing the L3 Caches speed, mainly its write speed. :)
    With 2800+ NB, i mean 2800mhz NB or more;)
    you never heard of that possibility to gain more speed and snappyness on phenoms?:D
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    All I've done with my Phenom II is up the multiplier up to 18.5x and increase the voltage :eek:
    I haven't spent much time playing with it because of heat issues (ordering H50 for this very reason)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i would aim for a higher NB, at least 2400mhz, for more optimal performance and system responsiveness. your proc should do that on stock CPU-NB volts, and the 3.4, should be possible, even with undervolting it by a fair amount;)
    have you tried undervolting yet?:)
     
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yep, I'm running at 3.4ghz but 1.28v...I tried 1.20 and it was unstable (rebooted randomly under WCG), I'll try 3.4ghz and 1.24v or maybe I'll try 3.6ghz and 1.3v
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    This chip is very stable at low volts. I plan on uping the NB to around 2400 to 2500 first, then I will try and find its top end. My other 965BE needs a lot more volts to get 4GHz stable (1.504v). This one is is at 4GHz @ 1.42v @ 47c. It will boot at 4.1GHz 1.42v, but I havent stressed it much. Having a blast with this one. I got it to boot at 3.4GHz (stock) on 1.28v, but she was a little shaky. Will post some screens when I start pumping it up. :toast:
     
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    my 955 is pretty stable at 3.4ghz 1.28v,2800NB 1.325v for crunching and linx! dont be shy! :p

    Ion, sounds good so far! how are the temps?:)
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,244 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,011
    Location:
    Home
    Would there be any significant difference between running a Athlon II X4 and a Phenom II X4 at same clockspeed?
     
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Upper 40s to mid 50s depending on the room temp, ~47c now but it was up at 55c a couple days ago. I'm planning on an H50 shortly, which should help

    Not really, maybe a couple % max
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    You would see a slight advantage with a PII over an AII in bench marks. But everyday use you wouldnt see any difference IMHO. The Athlons dont have L3 cache on them like the Phenom II does.
     
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,163 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'd like to see a chip with 3MB L1 cache per core and no other cache... :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    7 day averages

    Pll B50@3.2 XP 32bit=2015 boinc per day
    Pll B50@3.4 Vista 64 bit=2119 boinc per day
    Ath ll 630 @3.3 server 2008 64 bit=1939 boinc per day

    All Quad cores running at 100%. And all very close :toast:
     
    Fourstaff and [Ion] say thanks.
  16. XZero450

    XZero450

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Wisconsin, US
    Would take awhile as the point of L1 is to have an extremely low latency data reserve, and larger size creates more latency. This and the cost of the typical L1's is extremely high due to it's performance level.. :)

    It would be awesome, but not economically feasible or beneficial today. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Trying to get some of my friends on Facebook to crunch for us.

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Good luck!
    I've tried (mostly unsuccessfully) to get my friends to join as well, hopefully things work better for you
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have a few good computer buddies. We'll see.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I am back on water now so i am crunching at 3.9ghz again :rockout:
     
    Velvet Wafer and blkhogan say thanks.
  21. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nice! :rockout:

    well im still one cruncher down, im deciding to get 5850 or 5870 with water block
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what do i need to get lower temps? I'm still sitting at
    63c 58c 64c 59c
    with the Swiftech MCR220 rad(coming from the Koolance HX-720) with about the same temps. I also have a 140mm rad on the way...
    So what is limiting me? Block?pump? fans? rad(s)?
     
  23. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    If your undecided, take the better of the two. So you dont second guess yourself afterwords. ;)
     
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    your block is your biggest limitation, followed probably by the rad... i also found it always difficult to even cool a phenom properly on a single swiftech 220 (i also have one).
    it gets oversaturated after a while of crunching.
    your pump power should be sufficient, but just think of following scenario: the pump lets a small amount of water travel extremely fast thru your rad, where it gets barely cooled, before it retravels, and is again used to cool the proc. over the time, the rad fails to keep the temperatures down, because the small surface of the 220 cant dissipate the steadily increasing temps.

    whats also critical is the room temp... with 1 window open, and no door open, i can get up to 10c° better temps.

    to sum it up:
    if you want to improve your liquid cooling system, its like Tuning a Car. you also can improve, as you knew i do:D
    you will have to pay a little bit otherwise (i would recommend you a new block also, if its affordable)

    ah, and btw,i find, thats one of the most difficult things to de-bottleneck... if you open a bottleneck, something other of your loop will become the new main bottleneck instantly... its endless:laugh:
    you just need to find an arrangement that fits your the best!;)
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    powercolor has made some with EK waterblocks mounted, then you dont loose warranty etc :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page