1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,083
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Cool! I'd offer you an HDD, but for the price of shipping it to London you could probably find one cheaper locally
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Cheers buddy! I know I got some old IDE drives that are fine for the job. The problem is knowing which pile of mess to look under. :laugh:

    I should find it soon though I'm planning to do a proper tidy up of my room. Heat and dust is becoming an issue with all the rigs I intend to have running WCG and F@H, so I need some clean air/ventilation.
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,083
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Temperatures are an issue, it's getting up to 90F frequently here, so the computer is having to spend a large part of the time turned off to keep it from getting any hotter. And that's just with one rig :(
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Ion, if you were closer, I'd give you the extra AC I have sitting in the garage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,083
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, we have central AC, but we don't run it much unless it gets to over 90F to save electricity...which makes some sense I guess, but it's still damn hot. We'll probably start using the AC more in late May, in which case I'll probably be able to run the computer a bit more as well (and the H50, due to arrive Wednesday, should at least keep the X4 955 cooler, if not the room)
    Thanks though :toast:
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    it's starting to get ridiculously hot and humid here in Miami. Thank god when I get home it's already a bit cooler. My room with both rigs crunching and the heat outside, holy crap :(
     
  7. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I think im gonna put to work this old intel 667mhz i just rebuilded
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Something is something, but might cost more to have it running that what it'll produce. Might not be worth it.
     
  9. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Every calculation to help fight cancer and poverty is a good calculation big or not.
    Anyway a 667mhz is not really high in wattage and i wont put any fan on it. i just have a big ass aluminium cooler to put on it. Fanless there will be no power consumption except for psu but even for it the psu will run so cool because of low cpu wattage ill just remove the psu fan.
    I got it for free so will curnch until it blows for almost free.
     
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's why I said something is something. :toast:
     
  11. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    btw can you find me the wattage of this intel pentium 3 667mhz ? ive been searching but not found it yet.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Look for the stepping (it should look something like SL2HA—the code for my really old P2). Type it onto google and you should get the specs page from Intel.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Ive just mounted it already installed everything and put the paste and heatsink...i wont take it off again lol i just wanted an approximate
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hmm... post a pic of cpu-z open and I'll see if I can find the code I mentioned earlier
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    nevermind this computer is stored for now. subjext closed ill find somewhere else. theres already setted wattage whatever the code if you cant tell it like that just forget it i got other stuff to do than to spend my time looking for codes lol
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its around 18 w
     
    MohawkAngel says thanks.
  17. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Thank for a short and sweet answer. Thats the problem here most of the times... You ask for the maximum wattage of something and those guys absolutely need the serial numbers. If the class of cpu is 85 to 120 watts for example then no need to seek serial numbers to find that the maximum wattage is 120 watts. Dang!!! :banghead:
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    np :)


    i hate too complicated answers, dont get half of it :laugh:

    i just looked at intels processor finder and all the 667 pIII were at 17.5w
     
  19. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    nice thx ;) so i could barely use an external laptop 60w psu for my mobo lol
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    You can try looking here, it's a interesting page anyways :)

    http://www.cpu-world.com/
     
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,083
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Ugh, the humidity is just as bad as the heat. It wasn't so hot yesterday, so I had things on 24/7, but today is promising to be extremely hot, (it's already almost 85f and not even 9 am), so things are likely going to get shut off at some point :(:eek::ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    aye its getting hot, im down on one cruncher on day time :banghead::cry:
     
  23. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Don't have a thermometer, don't even think I want to know how hot my room is. When it's freezing outside I have all my windows open and I still find it too hot to sleep with any bed sheets or duvet. Biggest problem I have is no airflow through my room, so heat just keeps building up and dust gets regurgitated by the crunchers.

    Anyone know what safe temps for i7 920 are? I'm crunching away at stock speeds atm and it hovers around 60C (peaks at 65C).
     
  24. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,528 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,633
    60 to 65 are safe (have been for me at times). I would try to stay under 70 C though:)
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hmm.. sounds like I may not have much OC headroom :shadedshu Certainly not as summer approaches. :cry:

    Is there a big heat difference when you overclock on stock volts? My Vid is 1.2V exactly
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page