1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Damn, two rigs are down and don't have time to fix them, sorry.
     
  2. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey guys just ordered an i7 860 today! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    @ mindweaver
    I think you have the same bug as me. Just did one new buid(i7930), upgraded main rig(955 to 1055t) and threw in another (new home for 955):laugh:

    How is that 1055t?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I was wanting to get a 930 but I couldn't justify the added cost.. lol The 1055T is kickass so far. I noticed something pretty amazing.. It clocks down to 800MHz when idle and light use.. :eek: and will jump up to 2.8GHz when needed and keep going up to 3.3GHz. I haven't tweaked a thing.. hehehe everything is still on auto. I'll try to get it to 4.0Ghz tomorrow. I've seen where a few ppl were only able to get it to 3.7Ghz-3.8Ghz.. That's still great for a x6 processor. Oh well i'll better head to bed... My eyes are burning..lol I'll update tomorrow. :toast:

    Edit: I wish AMD would go pinless.. I know they said they would never do that... but I still say never say never.. I mean really if they keep adding pins where will they put them..lol Surely they would save money by doing it. Don't get me wrong pins are cool but.. it's a whole lot easier to lap pinless processors..lol
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    My AII throttles to 1GHz when not in use (it would be 800MHZ, but it just drops the multi and voltage, not the fsb... heh)

    Although, this almost never happens cause of WCG, hehe...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice! and yea WCG puts a stop to all of that..lol but still a nice feature for powersaving htpc's..lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    WCG servers must be down. I have lots of work units to report but nothing gets through.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,914 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,236
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Same here.

    BTW, I'll probably be "downgrading" my rig to an i3 shortly, I'm hoping for 4-4.2ghz, so it should actually bring a minor boost in PPD :cool:
     
    AlienIsGOD and mjkmike say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    That sounds like an upgrade too me.
    server back up! yay
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2010
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hey guys.

    i havent been on lately, and there is different reasons for it

    1. my internet has been down for almost a week and will be down for 1 more at least / getting new ISP because of problems with the one i have now:)

    2. im going to the hospital to get checked, been having chestpains, very bad headaches + i got this thing as big as a golfball in my leg that has to be removed, dont worry its not something bad afaik

    so all in all a bad week for me....but ill be back soon guys.
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Don, if there's anything you need, let me know. I'll do my best to help you.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,914 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,236
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I wish you best of luck Don :)
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Magny Cours are all made using the LGA process... they dont have any pins anymore.
    see for yourself:
    [​IMG];)

    you get, what you wished for! :D
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    AMD has been using LGA for years now, in one of thier server platforms.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,914 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,236
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I must say I vastly prefer LGA to pins, I've broken way too many pins on various CPUs (fortunately, none on the X4)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    Hey guys... So over the summer ima get a 1055T and eventually a mobo and such. My question is, are kvm switches easy to use and somewhat cheap? I wont be able to afford another monitor for awhile and desk space for my current AMD box is limited. I havent had any experience with these b4 so please excuse my noobishness...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,914 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,236
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Trivial to use
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've never broken cpu pins. I only like LGA better because it's easier to lap, and the mounting system is more secure.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,914 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,236
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    Would these x6's work in my board, if they come out with a lower wattage model?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It should say it on the manufacturers site.
     
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    It wouldn't say, cause I only got a 95w board. These CPUs are 125w, thus not officially supported. I was wondering if any lower wattage models came out, would they be supported...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Could always grab one and undervolt it. lol.
     
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    We'll have to wait and see if they release one with a TDP of 95W, If not I wouldn't try it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)

xvi, BUCK NASTY

Share This Page