1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Cerianly not with a 2.2GHz P4, heh..

    Why would he uninstall the client? I just don't understand the unwillingness of people to run these programs...
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm with you on that hat.
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,040 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    BONIC works fine with Windows Server. I had four Xeon´s crunching at one point under the 2008 version.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Well it is his computer, not mine and I think he get tired of suspending it when he wants to game. And I know a single core 2.2Ghz is not much...it'll only put out half of what his would but again, it all helps, right?

    And Boinc client will not install on a domain controller :( Oh well.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not blaming you at all here, its his computer and we know you don't control what he does with it. However, this is the mistake most people make.

    But if you look at it from a points standpoint then it's not a lot. But if you look at it from a distributed computing standpoint then evey bit is worth it. Little bit here, little bit there. A lot of work can get done and that little bit a P4 could have done, could have been the difference in figuring something out or not.
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    If you tell me the games/apps he plays I can custom create a cc_config.xml file that will auto suspend BONIC/WCG what ever game/app he starts and start back up when he finishes. :toast:
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just leave WCG on when I play... doesn't make a bit of difference.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't turn mine off neither
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Is it possible to reduce the CPU use to say the default 60% whilst a certain application is running? Or can it only be suspended/resumed?
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I can't seem to find the link, but somewhere it was posted that there is something you can do to disable BOINC I believe when in 3dmode or something. Someone correct me if I'm wrong please.
  11. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I was looking more for a solution to throttle than disable. I can run most games with Boinc set to 100% without noticing, but Just Cause 2 seems to stutter sometimes unless I reduce the CPU use to 60-70%.

    Think FordGT90 was looking into something similar a while back, although I don't know if he's had any luck.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  12. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Some games I can play and some I get occaisional lag. For example Crysis and DDO I can. Trackmania I can't. His is a AMD X2 250Ghz and he plays Mass Effect 2 and the framerate suffers. Anyway he agreed to put it back on lol :) He was cleaning up disk space and thought it was something else.

    Yes Kiex you can put the default to 60% by going to "preferences" then "other options" at the bottom of the preferences dialogue box.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  13. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ah sorry, meant to have something automated through cc_config.xml rather than have to do what you described. It's a bit of a drag having to do that each time I go in/out of Just Cause :(

    Sorry looking for a lazy man's solution :shadedshu.. that and I sometimes forget to change it back to 100% after
  14. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Thank for the offer Mindweaver, and good to talk to you again. wouldn't it be a good idea to have one for any TPU Team member who would want it as well?
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    my first avatar change since over 12 months has just happened;)
    i preffered something indigo-themed (or to be more specific, Pleiadian);)
    The Ultimate Destruction a Nuclear Device will bring, didnt fit right in the pic (you know, me beeing the good guy, the helper,that creates, and not destroys:laugh:)
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,487 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    I would like to thank KieX for my new avatar!
    Thanks dude:toast::toast::toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Looks great on you Hammer!
    KieX, Mindweaver and HammerON say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Very true! :toast: That is why I am working on a big update for my Easy WCG_config utility. I hope to have it complete in a few weeks, but in the mean time I would alter the current one to add the ones you need. :toast:

    Oh and great talking to you too my friend! :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I would like to thank KieX as well for my Kick ass new avatar! :respect: I was begining to lose hope.. :laugh: With the new Avatar I may try and add a few more rigs! Currently I have 26 rigs Crunching Strong! Not including the 3 rigs I have crunching for Stanley! :rockout:

    Oh and Velvet Wafer great avatar bro! :toast: but i do still like your old avatar.. your radiator is the only one to tame that blast! :roll:

    @KieX
    I believe you can only stop WCG, but I will find out. This would be a nice feather for my Utility. :toast:
    KieX and HammerON say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    liking the new avatars guys :rockout:
    Velvet Wafer, KieX, HammerON and 2 others say thanks.
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks Bro! :toast:
    [Ion] and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Looks like My X6 is putting out almost as much points as my i7 yet it was down when I got home today. not sure why, I primed the rig and it passed a few hours. maybe power outtage and it's not set to power back on??
  23. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Yep, liking the new avatar's too guys!! :toast: Been thinking of changing mine too but not sure what I want yet. :confused:

    And CP, hope it's nothing major. Probably isn't. :)
    Velvet Wafer and KieX say thanks.
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    naw it's running. I'm just having some boot MGR issues that are driving me nuts, :banghead:
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    kinda related to crunching as i am asking about a rig that crunches
    would getting a 2nd pump for my loop be better then a NBmax block for the chipset/mosfet(connected by heatpipe) or should i just get both? the rig in question is in system specs.

    EDIT:i7 is down for now. I am working on the loop.
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page