1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I've been taking them.:laugh:

    My i7 920 has 2,513 and my Q6600 has 884 so far for today. I'll have to retract that first statement. I don't see your 920 listed with my farm!:D

    There's going to be another milestone today:
    Team: TechPowerUp!
    So far for today Total Credit: 3,999,972
     
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    the i7 is really that much faster than a Q6600?
     
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    they're calculating 8 projects compared to 4 projects on a quad
     
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    yeah but it only has 4 cores, the rest are just hyperthreading and that should only add 15%?
    its getting like more than twice the performance...
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,494
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Make sure to update it in WCG. My Core i7 had about 16 WUs done but it was holding on to them for dear life. Clicking update makes it send them off and get you credit. My server (BOINC client) updates them as they complete.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Yeah but it's calculating the projects at normal speed, no matter what processor you use:)
     
  7. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I think HT on the i7 is a whole different HT than the old P4 HT. It's calculating the same speed for me on all 8 projects so I don't see it being a mere 15% or w/e.
     
  8. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    full speed? like as if it actually had 8 processors?
     
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    yeah basically:)
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,494
    Location:
    IA, USA
    5 minutes ago, my server and my Core i7 both had 300-301 for "average work done." My server just jumped up to 315. Core i7, clock for clock, is slightly faster than the Xeon 5310; however, the 5310 has 12.8 billion clocks per second while my Core i7 has 11.2 billion clocks per second. They're pretty damn close. I'll know more in about a month. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Each of the i7 920 8 threads are running projects at the same speed. I was only able to get my Q6600 overclocked to 3.2GHz while the i7 920 is at 3.8GHz WCG stable. My 920 is WC with what I'll call left over parts. Maybe with a better radiator I can hit 4GHz or better.
     
  12. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
  13. loonym

    loonym New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Decide for yourself. First screen is Q6600 and second is i7:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  14. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    the i7 is faster, yay, but not twice as high, whats the difference in clock speed?
     
  15. loonym

    loonym New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    the Q66 is at 3.4 if I recall and 3.8 on the x58.
     
  16. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    those i7's really are beasts huh, cool
     
  17. StormHammy

    StormHammy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    home
    squeakers will join so that Duxx can get more rice! XD lol but before i start quick question um how do u clean a laptops heat sink o_O don't want me laptop to burn out/clog out on me xD

    p.s me has a mini stockpile of air canisters but not sure how im gonna use it on a laptop.

    GO TEAM TPU!!!
    um which projects should i join? o.o' eh me will join them all and see how that goes >.< look out the combined might of TPU has made WCG into the next SKYNET! (>.<)
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  18. Duxx Guest

    Sooo how do I know if I have everything set up right and its actually doing some good? I don't show up on any of the stats pages and not sure if they only update every 24 hours? :/ I want some pts!
     
  19. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I think they do update 24hrs after the first result has been back... I think.

    Have sent two results back for now, and also no points or anything. Will know more in a day.
     
  20. Duxx Guest

    Where can I see how many results I have sent back?
     
  21. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I started planning for a new Q6600 machine a couple of weeks ago. Then I found this link.

    http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?page=hosts&proj=bwcg

    You get this link by clicking on Host in the left navigation bar. Since I wanted an idea what the best machine was day to day I sorted by Yesterday. When I scrolled down I saw my i7 920 in the 27th position. That changed my mind so now I'm working on another 920. I don't think I have the money for a Harpertown.

    Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the reason the user names don't show up here or under Hosts is that the default is hidden. At the bottom of the My Profile page you need to check BOINC Show Hosts:.

    https://secure.worldcommunitygrid.org/ms/viewMyProfile.do
     
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida

    CD what clocks on the i7. Would dropping the clock on the i7 hurt my performance as far as crunching a lot? Temps during the day are starting to get scorching here in Miami and when I come back home after work the max real temp recorded are starting to get high. I think I will have to drop the clock a few MHZ and drop the voltage see if it stays any cooler. What do you think?
     
  23. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    After it has updated:rolleyes: I know I have sent back two because I was monitoring it.
    But I dunno, I'm new to this, maybe there is an option to see it. Anyone?
     
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Go to

    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/index.jsp

    And on the My Grid tab put in the username etc that you signed up with.

    EDIT:Sorry sign in is at the top of page and then click on My Grid tab.
     
  25. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I have no idea what those stats pertain to. Seems to be an average of all my machines. Lately I have been running the Skulltrail with 2 x X5470 @ 4.1 LC which pulls a solid 3 hours on HCC and FCC units and the i7 @ 2.8something(turbo) on air which pulls about 5-1/2 hours on the same units. When I try and run the QX9650 HTPC 24/7 the wife turns it off at odd times of the day or night so I gave up on it. Had to shut down the QX9650 and the X3320 in the shop as the noise was getting on my nerves in a bad way. After I get them sorted and quieted down I'll have them up again.

    Drop it till you have reasonable temps. HW this expensiveneeds to last as long as possible. I do not want to see anything over 65C on any of my rigs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page