1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I have no clue. I know asus makes good boards so it probably wouldn't be a bad choice.

    Does anyone wanna buy a OCZ ModXStream Pro 500w unit? It's powering my i7 and 8800's fine. It would be a decent PSU for a crunching machine :)
     
  2. twilyth Guest

    There's about 5 or 6 boards with that designation. I got the middle of the road "pro" version.

    Now I have to decide if I want to replace i7-950 with this, or start hunting around for the peripherals I need to build a whole new rig. Cannabalizing the 950 looks like a good way to go at the moment. I need to take a break right now. Reaching for the wallet isn't really much of a work out but seems to tire you out none the less.
     
  3. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Are the 2600k's that much better than the 950?
     
  4. twilyth Guest

    Probably, but even if it's the same, TDP is 95W vs 130W. When you're running 6 rigs (5 + laptop which was out of service for a while), that matters. It will still be 8 threads so I won't lose any production.
     
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    true true, its a smart move then :)
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Rig is down for wc assembly :D will be back in a day or so :lockout:
     
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Awesome bro! Can't wait to see it :)
     
  8. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I believe the often quoted $317 for the 2600K is really what you'd pay per processor if you bought 1000 units. I currently believe you'll find the online retail to be around $370. We'll all find out on the 9th.
     
  9. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah we will. Microcenter is selling them for $270 though.
     
  10. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Most if not all of their processors are in-store pickup only so if you're lucky to have one in your neighborhood then it's $270 + approximate $19 tax or $289.
    Maybe they will change their in-store policy only and sell it for $370.
     
  11. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Im not one of those lucky guys :( Our closest micro center is like 5 hours away in Minneapolis.
     
  12. twilyth Guest

    It was the same deal with the i7-950's - in-store you could get for like $230 rather than $295 at the egg, but the nearest store is minimum 1.5 hours round trip and with my luck I'd get there and they'd be out of stock.
     
  13. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    That's why you call ahead and make sure they have them in stock and tell them to put ur name on one :p
     
  14. twilyth Guest

    If I could trust them to do that I would probably do it. I don't like driving up to north Jersey if I can avoid it but to save $70 or $80 bucks I would. I just haven't had very good experiences with people, especially retail people, doing what they say they're going to do.
     
  15. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
  16. twilyth Guest

    Nice. Since the LGA 1155 boards are only dual channel, memory won't be as much of an issue as with a 1366. I could start out with just a couple of cheap 2gig sticks. Hmmm. Will have to give this some careful consideration. If I use the stock heatsink (which requires a back plate), I would only need a psu and some dram. I have a nice Antec sound insulated case that's just gathering dust at the moment.
     
  17. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    1156 coolers fit as well :D
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    [​IMG]
     
    mstenholm, KieX and Josh154 say thanks.
  19. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Looks good don! Whats the total length of the rad? Would it fit at the top?
     
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its a 3x120mm rad :)

    theres only 2x120mm fans slots in the top, and the spacing is all wrong, so had to drill some holes myself for the rad
     
  21. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah i know, i was thinking about a rs360 kit and modding the top of my lexa. How much room is there with the whole rad sitting ontop of your case?
     
  22. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Finally found a trusty source of information on the i7 2600K for WCG:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=264579

    Seems like it's the new PPD/Watt king. 4k for 100+something Watts.

    I need to start saving on Watts, so if any crunchers are looking for i7 920 PM me for special deals ;)
     
    mstenholm and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    not really sure where you're gettin :confused:

    im guessing that the insides of our cases are pretty much the same?

    you would need to have the rad on the outside no matter if its a thin or thick rad like mine, and yes im 99%sure that you can mod the top for a triple rad, if you want then go to www.mnpctech.com
    he has schematics over triple and dual rads in actual size, so if you have a printer you can print it out, then cut out the "rad" and place it on top of your case then you can see if it fits :D

    id take that chip if i had the money, im sure david was looking for one?
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD

    Yeah that's what i was wondering, if a 360 would fit on top if i modded it. I couldn't mount the rad inside the case?
     
  25. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    120 W at stock clock and plus 4 K. Hmm time to put together a summer rig. Sure beats my 200 W at similar production.
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page