1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Thats the plan... until its gaming time of course. :D

    How do I support the team with the "WCG Cruncher" link at the bottom of my posts?
     
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    when you have 100k WCG points, you can enter your WCG username here in TPU in the User CP, and it will be instantly shown ;)
     
  3. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    nice! something to strive for. :D
     
  4. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    526 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    676
    Yes I was just joking:toast:
    My normal output should be around 180-200k WCK PPD.
    6 machines cruncing at the moment and that should be 62 cores with HT-on, one SR-2 with two X5690s @4,25GHz, one 980X @4,3GHz, two 920s @3,8, one 860 @3,5GHz and finally my lappy with two cores running at stock down volted.:)
     
    Velvet Wafer and [Ion] say thanks.
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Won't take you that long ;)
    Oh wow! That's amazing! That's easily 1st place pie most days! :toast:

    I have 26 Pentium Dual Cores @ 2ghz (school computer lab :D), 1 860 @ 3.83 (HT on) part-time, and 1 2.8ghz C2D in my laptop that crunches whenever it's not being carried around
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    526 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    676
    That's a pretty impressive farm you got Ion :D
    Tried to get IT dep to include Boinc and WCG on all the machines,more than 700, at work but they have an energy saving plan so that's a no go.:shadedshu
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yep, all of the PentDCs are typically good for about 12-14k PPD :)

    I don't know how we have this worked out, but we get electricity either free or at a fixed price, so I was told it wouldn't cost them anything.

    Shame you couldn't get those going, that would be truly remarkable!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,228
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Welcome aboard bro, enjoy your stay! :toast:
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  9. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    figured I'd get the HTPC in on it as well. :)[​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty and [Ion] say thanks.
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Awesome!

    I'd clock it back up to at least stock speed. 800mhz won't be so great for PPD, ~3ghz would be much better ;)

    @ ~3ghz you should get ~1.8k PPD from it :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    It's at default speeds, its just cool and quiet in action. :p
     
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Ah, I see. Well that's pretty good then, you're adding a lot recently! :toast:
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    :d !
     
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I don't know how much you run things, but you should have ~7k PPD between those two setups if they run 24/7 :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,228
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Good job Johnny, thanks bro. :toast:
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok im having issues, I restarted my HTPC/Crunching RIG and now it says "ERROR - No work available to process". What is going on, i have restarted twice now and its still giving this error
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,228
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    You sure your date/time in Windows has not reset or changed? Check that out.
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmm i just checked and the time went all the way back to 2009? WTH?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,228
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Been there done that :laugh:

    It happens to me sometimes, I think it's correct so I don't even check!
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,054 (8.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,507
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    But the funny part is, i changed it yesterday after i installed windows
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,822 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,055
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Sometimes this just happens....

    Is it fixed now?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    @brandon it can be battery is beginning to die on the mb, then it starts with those date/time changes, then other settings in bios and such
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    replacement rig until i save up enough money for a new one

    E6600 and 8800GT, its old but it works
    crappy cell pic

    [​IMG]
     
    Velvet Wafer, [Ion] and HammerON say thanks.
  24. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    526 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    676
    Don do you have a pic of the toasted rig too?
     
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    nope tore it apart and shipped out mb and psu yesterday to the shop, hopefully i can get rma on those things

    and besides, theres nothing to see, the water i used was distilled, and i cleaned all the parts with alcohol to see if i could get them to work again
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

james888

Share This Page