1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I needed to stack 300 more points on top:roll:

    I WANT MY PIE:pimp:
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK guys, I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong with settings. I'm currently running a i7 920 at 3.0ghz 12 hours per day, and a Q6600, 5000BE and e2140 24/7 at 60%, yet I only had 2300 points from yesterday? That just doesn't seem right.
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,457 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Are any/all of those systems backlogged with work to report (force update to fix)? Also, you don't get any points until they are validated.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    that what makes you who you are D :D
  5. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    [​IMG]
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  7. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Haha!


    So I can't seem to get F@H working :shadedshu
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    My quad's coming for a piece of this supposed pie.....

    Mmmm...pie..........
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    What's the issue? Is it about the "server" connection?
  10. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
  11. A novice

    A novice New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    S Wales UK
    I know what you are doing wrong you are not running at 100% and 24/7 :nutkick:I just love that smiley :D
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    OK I've had quite a few of those. Reconfigure your client and start with smaller projects and see if you can connect. When you get to this part:

    [​IMG]

    select "Small". If it still doesn't work, reconfigure again and choose either normal or big. One of those will eventually work:D

    Attached Files:

    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  13. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Ya but I can't even get to that part. Not sure what I did wrong....bucknasty's tutorial isn't very clear...or maybe I'm just screwed in the head.
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    OK I'm starting to pollute this WCG thread with some F@H stuff, I will post on the F@H side to help you get back to folding:D
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  15. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Link me please?
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I gotz pie! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    [​IMG]

    sorry
  18. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Noob question here, but is my CPU usage really supposed to jump from 100 to 11 then back up to 85 or is it just supposed to use a certain percent? I know it only uses idle CPU power but damn thats a hell of a jump around.
  19. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yeah it jumps quite a lot lol. Set it to 100% usage and it will stay at 100% :p
  20. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    How do you set a specific ususage?

    NVM, answered my own question.
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,457 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Anyone got any ideas how to make my HDDs quieter? Ever since I changed cases, I hear the HDDs scanning all the time (presumably BOINC is causing it). It is driving me nutty. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Really dont know what to tell you, I dont see a lot of HDD activity on my rig while crunching to be honest. Hardly any at all. Anyhow my fans on the rad won't let me hear the HDD.
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,457 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I don't mind it when it is loading something but when it is just a little bit here and there, it annoys me for some reason. This new case seems to be amplifying their sound. My old case, I couldn't hear them at all unless the side was off. Maybe one of my HDDs is about to die? :(

    If it is going to die, I hope it dies soon. It is still inside of Seagate's 5 year warranty. :D
    Last edited: May 10, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I believe an application called Speedfan has like a HDD diagnostic test where it tells you how many times its cycled on and off etc and it compares it to other results. Then it gathers the info and tells you compared to others if its good or not. Doesn't mean s**t but it can more or less give you a clue if its bad or not.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page