1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Good to see so many dedicated people her:toast:
    I tried to get the it-dep at my work to install WCG but everything is outsourced to HP and they say NO:shadedshu
    Got 8 more cores coming online today but the last rig with the 3960X will not be on before Monday, it's LN2 time for it this weekend:D

    Still need some code help to get Boinc to run in Ubuntu(Linux) so if anyone have the time and knowledge it will be much appreciated.
     
    KieX and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK. After several weeks of crunching just my wifes office 1055T; my 2500k, FX-6100, and 555BE (unlocked to quad) will be back online this weekend. Time to get those numbers back up.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
    F150_Raptor, KieX, AlienIsGOD and 4 others say thanks.
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Great news! :rockout:
     
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It looks like my Workstation has started turning in packets. :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Chicka Chicka yeahhhh!!! :rockout:
     
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    2500k and FX-6100 are now running 100%, along with the 1055T. I'll have the unlocked 555BE
    running 4 cores by Saturday. If I could find a cheap Thuban, I'd grab it and give another WCG team member the 555be. If anyone finds one cheap, LMK.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
    AlienIsGOD, Chicken Patty and KieX say thanks.
  7. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I'm building the CruncherX4 now, should have it crunching tonight. If not, tomorrow.

    Edit: Looks like tomorrow, forgot to bring home a DVD drive and a power cord. d'oh!
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thanks guys for your efforts! 3 million here we come!!!! :rockout:
     
    KieX and Mydog say thanks.
  9. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Finally got the last 2600K running here but only on stock speed cause it crashes on all clocks above.:wtf: I think it's either the mobo (P8P67-m PRO) or the CPU so I'm gonna test the CPU on another mobo tomorrow
    [​IMG]
     
    KieX and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I've been having lots of BSOD's lately. Trying one last thing, if that doesn't work I'm going to have to shut down WCG and start testing components. All started since I got my new RAM. So I'll start by there.
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Memtest time. :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yea, that's next.
     
  13. twilyth Guest

    Do you use Intel Burn Test? If you set it on max and you don't BSOD, then it's not the memory or the CPU. You need to terminate any background apps so you can give it more memory. The problem with the max setting, especially if you have a lot of memory, is that it will smoke your CPU so you have to watch the temps. I've noticed that a single run takes a lot longer the more memory you give it access to and as a result, it tends to push temps to their absolute max.
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    No, I haven't tried IBT on it yet. I did a standard run for the Gflops thread on here, but that wasn't long enough I'm sure. It BSOD's like every two days. I just dropped the clock because I think that since I'm running more RAM now the CPU might need a little bit more vcore to be stable. So dropping the clock should fix the issue if that was the case.
     
  15. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  17. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    I hope you're using SB mem Patty cause I just discovered that my mATX doesn't like any old 1366/1156 mem, crashed in IBT with three different sets so I put in some G.Skill quad channel and it runs fine. Passing IBT max mem at 4,6GHz CPU and 2133mhz mem.
     
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, my RAM Kit is designed for SB.
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Do you guys have Spread Spectrum enabled or disabled?

    [​IMG]
     
  20. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Spread spectrum disabled. Best thing is to go into BIOS and select the Load Optimized defaults. Then with that OCN guide should be able to reach a stable clock without 124. I had that combo on Auto OC, which is 4.4GHz.

    I'm gonna find out what the Asus cover is, just in case you wanna RMA it for a new one.
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thanks but I don't think that'll be necessary.

    Ever since I got it from you I had it running at 4.5 GHz without an issue. But I had made some tweaks once I got my new RAM trying to push the RAM and I don't think I saved my settings. But I went ahead and made a few changes after reading the guide over at OCN so we'll see how it behaves now. Running at this for now.

    [​IMG]
     
    AlienIsGOD and KieX say thanks.
  22. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Cool you know how to find me if need be.

    If it's with RAM settings, try raising the VCCIO a step or two as it could help. BSOD 124 is a pain with SB. The 2600K I had at work ran fine for 6 months before I got a 124 in the middle of a (*&%$!) presentation! :laugh:
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :roll::roll:

    After reading the guide and the thread over at OCN that was one of the few changes I made this last boot. Raised VCCIO to 1.150v I believe it was.
     
  24. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    If your running more ram than before when it was stable, you need up the cpu vtt. If your not comfortable with upping it any more or you have it maxed out at 1.45, raising the qpi pll will allow you to run a lower cpu vtt. For most of my rigs, I set the vtt at 1.375 and raise the qpi pll until it stablizes itself. IBT is good for checking stability and temps, but you always have to tweak some voltages here and there after running wcg or F@H. They put the real stress on it.
     
    mjkmike says thanks.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Will definitely keep that in mind if I get another BSOD. Keeping my fingers crossed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page