1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also speaking of HTPC, I got a heatpipe cooler to replace the solid aluminum one and its running 6 deg cooler at full load!
     
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Much better! I'm currently using a stock AMD heatpipe cooler with a better fan on it, just need to change out the thermal paste.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep! Im using arctic cooling ceramique but with the stock fan. Is there any good mod guides out there for this cooler?
     
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    :) Got my mother's rig crunching now, I'm gunna see if I can talk my sister to using hers to crunch :3
     
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have what I think is a 70mm x 25mm fan that's mostly clipped into place the same way the stock one does. It's not going anywhere at least. I bet with some effort you could mount a 80mm fan on there thou. I'm thinking about doing such myself. :laugh:

    :rockout: Heat the whole house with computers and you can turn of the heater! ;)
     
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Oh I've got close to 20 old single cores in this house, I could make it like a sauna
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I may look for a slim 80MM fan a zip tie it on there LOL
     
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Saw this, which might be of use to those of you living in the USA: 32GB SSD for $32 $29!
    http://www.directron.com/rf32gs25ssdr.html

    Small size, but more than enough if you want it for a cruncher or basic boot drive.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  9. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    damn canada :c
     
  10. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I live in England, believe me deals like that don't exist this side of the pond :mad:
     
  11. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    I'm contemplating getting a P.O. box, I'm only 50kms away from America....


    I have a question, can you write off folding on your taxes?
     
  12. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Alright everybody. In a bid to get better crunching numbers, I'm settling for a lower overclock on my ram in order to get a higher overclock on my CPU. Last time I tried to reach 3.6Ghz I tried to keep my ram at 1800Mhz and it didn't like that at all.

    So here is what I've achieved and it seems to like it so far....


    [​IMG]
     
    KieX, mjkmike and stinger608 say thanks.
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    O_O 3.6 on 1.2V? lol mine wont even post at 2.8ghz with 1.2v
     
  14. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Well I actually have the Vcore set to 1.325v in the bios. Even with CPU load line calibration disabled for some reason HWmonitor still reports a value of 1.27v with a max of 1.32.

    Even when I was running at 3.5Ghz and Vcore set to 1.30v HWm still reports current Vcore at 1.27v and max 1.32v. go figure. :ohwell:

    I pay more attention to the temp readings and observe for errors.
     
    KieX and Sir B. Fannybottom say thanks.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Think it got too hot?

    That's pretty sick!

    Nice job! Hope it's stable. :toast:
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  16. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I know it did, 16 cores crunching away in one room. :ohwell:

    It's because I forgot to leave the window open. Got too hot in here and it locked up.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ah yeah, I remember when I had 16 cores crunching in my room, A/C just couldn't keep it cool enough in there. Freaking sauna!
     
    KieX and Radical_Edward say thanks.
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,700 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,588
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Should have an i7 930 with 12gb of ram up and crunching by this weekend! :)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hell yeah! :rockout:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hell to tha yea!
     
    stinger608 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Depends on your tax system. I can't imagine it is possible here in UK.

    Awesome news! All aboard the 3Mill TPU steam train :respect:

    What I learnt is: have the PC's near an open window, open air instead of case, invest on the best cooling you can.. and if necessary in summer just clock down a little. And perhaps a small metal fan to move air round room if you don't have natural airflow in the room.

    I went one further and covered up the windows with cardboard to block out sunlight. But I can't promote vampirism anymore since Twilight ruined the cool image it once had. Thick curtain drawn during day would also work.
     
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Sorry I haven't crunched much today guys, but it's reaching some scary temps and I don't want to risk anything.
     
  23. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    You can reduce the CPU usage if need be. On the newest version it's under Advanced>Tools>Computing Preferences. Then enter something like the default 60% for CPU time or 80%. It will load 100% but for a few seconds at a time only, which lowers temps.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  24. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    I had it at 60% and it was closing in on the 59C range, It's on 30% now and it's only 47C so I can live with that :) thanks for reminding me about that feature
     
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    No worries. You might wanna post on the crunchers helping crunchers thread btw, maybe someone can give you a deal on a cooler so you can keep it 100% ;)

    If you were on same continent I'd probably send you something.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page