1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also speaking of HTPC, I got a heatpipe cooler to replace the solid aluminum one and its running 6 deg cooler at full load!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Much better! I'm currently using a stock AMD heatpipe cooler with a better fan on it, just need to change out the thermal paste.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep! Im using arctic cooling ceramique but with the stock fan. Is there any good mod guides out there for this cooler?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    :) Got my mother's rig crunching now, I'm gunna see if I can talk my sister to using hers to crunch :3
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have what I think is a 70mm x 25mm fan that's mostly clipped into place the same way the stock one does. It's not going anywhere at least. I bet with some effort you could mount a 80mm fan on there thou. I'm thinking about doing such myself. :laugh:

    :rockout: Heat the whole house with computers and you can turn of the heater! ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    Oh I've got close to 20 old single cores in this house, I could make it like a sauna
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I may look for a slim 80MM fan a zip tie it on there LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Saw this, which might be of use to those of you living in the USA: 32GB SSD for $32 $29!
    http://www.directron.com/rf32gs25ssdr.html

    Small size, but more than enough if you want it for a cruncher or basic boot drive.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  9. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    damn canada :c
  10. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I live in England, believe me deals like that don't exist this side of the pond :mad:
  11. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    I'm contemplating getting a P.O. box, I'm only 50kms away from America....


    I have a question, can you write off folding on your taxes?
  12. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Alright everybody. In a bid to get better crunching numbers, I'm settling for a lower overclock on my ram in order to get a higher overclock on my CPU. Last time I tried to reach 3.6Ghz I tried to keep my ram at 1800Mhz and it didn't like that at all.

    So here is what I've achieved and it seems to like it so far....


    [​IMG]
    KieX, mjkmike and stinger608 say thanks.
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    O_O 3.6 on 1.2V? lol mine wont even post at 2.8ghz with 1.2v
  14. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Well I actually have the Vcore set to 1.325v in the bios. Even with CPU load line calibration disabled for some reason HWmonitor still reports a value of 1.27v with a max of 1.32.

    Even when I was running at 3.5Ghz and Vcore set to 1.30v HWm still reports current Vcore at 1.27v and max 1.32v. go figure. :ohwell:

    I pay more attention to the temp readings and observe for errors.
    KieX and Sir B. Fannybottom say thanks.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Think it got too hot?

    That's pretty sick!

    Nice job! Hope it's stable. :toast:
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  16. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I know it did, 16 cores crunching away in one room. :ohwell:

    It's because I forgot to leave the window open. Got too hot in here and it locked up.
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ah yeah, I remember when I had 16 cores crunching in my room, A/C just couldn't keep it cool enough in there. Freaking sauna!
    KieX and Radical_Edward say thanks.
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,960 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Should have an i7 930 with 12gb of ram up and crunching by this weekend! :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hell yeah! :rockout:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hell to tha yea!
    stinger608 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Depends on your tax system. I can't imagine it is possible here in UK.

    Awesome news! All aboard the 3Mill TPU steam train :respect:

    What I learnt is: have the PC's near an open window, open air instead of case, invest on the best cooling you can.. and if necessary in summer just clock down a little. And perhaps a small metal fan to move air round room if you don't have natural airflow in the room.

    I went one further and covered up the windows with cardboard to block out sunlight. But I can't promote vampirism anymore since Twilight ruined the cool image it once had. Thick curtain drawn during day would also work.
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    Sorry I haven't crunched much today guys, but it's reaching some scary temps and I don't want to risk anything.
  23. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    You can reduce the CPU usage if need be. On the newest version it's under Advanced>Tools>Computing Preferences. Then enter something like the default 60% for CPU time or 80%. It will load 100% but for a few seconds at a time only, which lowers temps.
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  24. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,851 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    I had it at 60% and it was closing in on the 59C range, It's on 30% now and it's only 47C so I can live with that :) thanks for reminding me about that feature
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    No worries. You might wanna post on the crunchers helping crunchers thread btw, maybe someone can give you a deal on a cooler so you can keep it 100% ;)

    If you were on same continent I'd probably send you something.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page