1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would test the PSU but sounds like motherboard issues. HAve you ran a mem test?
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    agreed with brandon

    WEll brandon you wrote "HAve" it is my habbit to write the first two letters capital not yours
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,298
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    He can easily rule out alot of it by swapping stuff with other rigs. :toast: This is one of the benefits of having multiple crunchers. You will always have parts to test with.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    This is True Mad. I was glad to have my other computer when I built the FX-8150 rig and put the cpu in wrong and also when the G.Skill snipers died.
    Norton says thanks.
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    I'll replace the PSU 1st and if the problem stays then I'll know the old one is good (save for next rig or spare) but I'm leaning towards mobo as well. Don't really want to try much else until I rule out the psu.

    I would run a ram test but unfortunately this is my last DDR2 board and it won't run long enough to test :shadedshu:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Biostar mobo always give trouble
    Well i learnt one thing right now on tpu "never buy biostar mobo"
    They gave me trouble 2 times and now norton's turn
    Norton says thanks.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    MSI has been my problem child manufacturer as of late. First the G41 775 dieing 3 times then the 785G dies for the second time...

    Only MSI board I liked was the 790FX but lacked good OCing options
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    Nope this is my old MSI giving me trouble- the Biostar's are running just fine and I'll replace this board with another Biostar if it is bad :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    ASUS FTW :rockout:
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Norton
    Ty and I can confirm its mobo after trying a fresh windows
    Norton says thanks.
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    I'm figuring same as it's the oldest component but still need to to rule out psu.... don't want to short out a new board on a bum psu :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Speaking of troubles, I'm starting to get BSOD's even at default settings. I am starting to think it's Windows related. Maybe time for a fresh install...
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    Got my 1045T rig running for a bit trying to finish up the jobs it was working on before I lose all of them.... had to abort about 25 projects that I know wouldn't have finished :(

    I have about 10-15 that may finish before it goes out again (fingers crossed)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Got the new I7 920 combo and its a D0!!!! Hope it clocks well

    [​IMG]
    JrRacinFan, hat, Norton and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    My chip did 3570 on stock volts.

    Speaking of my chip, what do you guys make out of these temps? Loaded after a few mins of WCG and FAH running together. I'm running a Corsair h70 with it, with 2 noctua ~55cm fans. They're set up for exhaust instead of intake like they supposedly recommend. I know the 920 is a hot little bastard, but I expected these temps to be what I would get after some overvolting, not at stock volts (which is 1.2, if it matters any).

    [​IMG]

    -forgot to mention I'm roasting in ~90f ambient temps right now
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok more bad luck, the setup wont boot. It just beeps fast continuously and manual says no video was detected but I have tried three working video cards. I also tried all the PCIex slots.

    Looks like im screwed once again :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    Man that sucks :banghead: Bad weekend for crunching hardware :(

    Mine is limping along trying finish up its last dozen WU's (had to abort a bunch of them)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have came to the verge of giving up on this stuff :/
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,276 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,315
    Hang in there! Do what you can and it will work itself out.... somehow
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have messeged the guy I traded with and hope he can figure out what to do. Hope I don't have to RMA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,298
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet

    I though you did away with all your ddr2 boards for some reason. I guess the memory would be kinda hard to swap out for testing. If you need a stick for testing let me know. A certain somebody sent me some shorty smurf sticks, but they run great.




    heh Ask Norton and I about Asus customer service. They well suck. :shadedshu





    You probably have but I will ask anyway. Have you tried clearing the bios? I have had strange crap happen when I put the 1055t gigabyte system, the x2 555 and the other 1055 Msi system together the first time and it all cleared up after a cmos clearing. They wouldn't boot, just spins the fans slow upon hitting the power button the first time. After the resetting of the bios they worked just fine.







    On another note, my bedroom where 2 of my cruncher live got quiet warm today. We turned the a/c down in there last night and forgot to crank it back up some this morning. I can so though the system pulled through the hot temps and ran fine. I have since cranked the a/c back up. I am also going to probaly bring the x2 back online within the next couple days. All I need to do is clear a space for it next to the other 2 Linux boxes and boot it up. It is already loaded and setup as all I did when I replaced it with the 960t was shut it down and move it out of the way.
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Shitty.
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,298
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Whoop! guess who got their 4th star? Congrats CA. nice work man :toast:
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Brandon

    My .02; try a different cooler. Could be bad socket tension.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  25. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I have that issue with a certain cooler. I tried it on 2 diff boards and it rig just won't work. I thiink somehow the mount is touching some of the boards circuitry and causeing it to short and not run. The boards work fine with diff coolers.

    I guess now I have a cooler I can't use. May sell it to recoop my lose a lil. dunno yet

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 member and 5 guests)

TRWOV

Share This Page