1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    That would be awesome!
     
  2. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Uranus
    i can probably work something up and add a pie chart aswel
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I got Windows 8 RC, maybe give that a go and see.

    That would be nice.
     
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I'm back from vacation a bit early, and I have my C2Ds and running again. My i7 won't boot (Windows or Ubuntu) even if I underclock it and overvolt it; I'm afraid that the CPU may be dead. I'm not sure what I'll be doing about it :( Regardless, it's offline for the foreseeable future :(
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,170 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,674
    Welcome Back! :toast:

    Sucks about the i7 :( take a step back and go thru the rig again.... maybe it's just something loose???
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    leave it off overnight, battery out of mobo, maybe you put it back in tomorrow and it boots...
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Those are good suggestions; it's off, unplugged, with the battery out for now. I'll see what happens with it tomorrow morning, but I'm not too optimistic :(

    I'll poke at it and see what I can figure out/fix tomorrow :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Will it post [Ion] ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yup, it posts fine, but it will reboot before Windows fully loads.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,170 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,674
    Did you try backing the memory down a little bit?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Try a different gpu. I had a system do the same thing wouldn't load windows or Ubuntu. It wouldn't even let me reinstall either. Found out the gpu was flaky. It had onboard graphics. I swapped in a dedicated cpu and thing booted fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I assume you tried to get into safe mode and all that?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I have not, although it's running at stock speeds.
    I can't imagine that being an issue, but I'll throw in another one of the Geforce 8400GS cards I have.
    It will actually boot in Safe Mode, but in Standard Move it will reboot itself before it finishes booting. If I have time, I'll try re-installing on a spare HDD I have tomorrow.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I had the same issue on my new rig 3 days after I built it. Try another set of memory if you have any and see if it boots into windows normally.

    When that happened to me it was the memory that went bad. Swapping the G.Skill Snipers for some Corsair Vengeance did the trick.
     
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    This is the only DDR3 I have, but I will try it one stick at a time to see what happens :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Or run Memtest...give er a whirl, keep us posted. ;) If she posts then the cpu and mobo are good. I'm almost certain it's the memory.
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    The RAM is testing out fine, yet I still can't boot Windows...
    I'll try another GPU in the morning, and if that doesn't work, another Windows install.

    EDIT: Even down-clocking the RAM doesn't seem to let me boot Winblows....this isn't looking good :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    I know the team thread has a tendency to go a little OT, but this is probably the third post about your music in this thread in the last day or two.

    There's an entire Sister Forum dedicated to random stuff called General Nonsense.NET. Login with your same credentials and post in the Music subforum there.

    Try to keep posts here about WCG related matters. Thank you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I've swapped my GPU with another Geforce 8400GS (known good, I tested it in my Pentium D) and the computer still won't boot. Given that it won't boot Ubuntu from USB either, I can't imagine that it's the Windows install, but I'm going to try another install just in case. I've been using only one RAM stick at a time (both test good) just in case. Any other ideas?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Only thing I can think of is the HDD, but you said you can get to the desktop in safe mode. I would check the event log in safe mode with networking and see if you can find any error codes and troubleshoot from there.

    Try aboot into windows normally then when it doesn't boot (note the time) then boot into safe mode with networking and check the event log.

    If that yeilds no results my next step would be back up important files to a network drive and do a fresh install.
     
  22. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    975 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    I would do the same, if Ubuntu and windows can't boot, I would backup everything, and test everything:

    -New install
    -Stress test CPU, GPU, etc..
    -Test HDD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ion,
    I'd probably blame windows bro. Keep us posted.
     
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    ion you could be right about the board as you have tested with windows and Ubuntu. and even tried to boot for a usb stick with Ubuntu. That should have ruled out the hdd and your windows install. And testing with another gpu should only leave 3 things that could be at fault, cpu, mem, or the board itself. You have tested the memory.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    But isn't he able to boot properly while in safe mode?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page