1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yes, I know the feeling. I'm building a NAS box with two 360 GB drives in RAID 1 as boot and two 1 TB drives as extra storage. I plan to stick another two 1 TB drives in after I get another 500GB drive to put in Lauren's machine so she can run RAID 1 instead of just one boot drive and a 1 TB as backup/extra storage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,082
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, I've sent Buck Nasty the money for his i7 setup, so hopefully I'll have it within a week or so. I'll be decommissioning the E6600, but bringing on a 4GHz i7-860 instead.
    No crap thus far, I have my personal laptop (3612QM), the C2D desktop, and then a pair of partially functional C2D-era laptops....the older laptops are stacked on my windowsill and my roommate doesn't care. I'm afraid with the 860 the room might heat up, but it's pleasantly cool ATM so I'll see.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, I am planning on switching from my 1TB drive to some 3TB's or at least 2TB drives. So I got some planning to do.

    Ah okay, as long as you don't got crap everywhere and it doesn't get too hot I don't think your roommate will mind.
     
  4. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    That 860 rig your getting is sweet. I have practically the same setup with my 530 on it instead. its a solid board. you should be happy with it. The 860 can reach up to almost 60c but it depends what cooler your gonna run. It helps to keep it in an ac room. Thats where mine is and it doesn't get over 51c with a Tt Frio OCK.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    If anyone wants my extra C2Q chip, I'll cut them a steal of a deal. Tried of it sitting unused.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,167 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,720
    Which C2Q is it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It's listed in my FS thread, link is in my sig.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm fairly certian it's the memory. I dropped to the lower mem divider to get 1440 mem and the fest failed after 45 minutes, not 5 minutes. Now I dropped the timings from 8-8-8-24 to 9-9-9-27. This is a new(used) memory set as well, I had no problems with the Crucial memory I was running, but that memory ran at 1360MHz, so it's hard to tell if I got a really junky imc or if the memory I have now is bad. I've read a lot of horror stories about it on the net, and based on what my own troubles look like I'd say the memory is not so good.
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well if you need more sticks for testing, offer stands. Let us know how it goes. You going to drop the old sticks back in?
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    No. In 2-3 weeks I'll have the 2600k parts, and after that I'll be trading the 920 with the rampage to a friend with a 960 and a junky locked down board. I'll put the questionable memory in with the 960, since it can't run at its full speed anyway in that board. It should be happy in that board, since it would be slower.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,082
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Thanks, I'm really excited about it....it should be a ton faster than my C2D.

    Really, I'm even alright with mid-70s C, but I don't really want it to get any higher than that (or at least a lot). For the price, I'm sure I'll be happy (even if I wanted a 2600k).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,241 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Don't know if anyone noticed, but I put my 2500K chip up for sale last night. I scored a smoking deal on a 2600K i7 last night however I cannot afford to keep both. Wish I could.

    Needless to say, if, and I think it is, sold today, my numbers will go waaaaaaay down over the weekend as I will be shipping the 2500K chip out leaving me with the one x58 i7 930 crunching.

    I should get the 2600K chip the first of the week though, so my numbers should go up during next week. That will give me two i7's running 16 threads crunching versus an i7 and i5 running 12 threads. Hope it helps some LOL.

    Dang it, if I had somewhere I could run my 4x4 system I would then have 32 threads running. LOL.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,104
    Well I'm on the way to putting together another cruncher....

    I just picked up a 965BE at NewEgg for $89 and an ASUS M5A97 Evo at Geeks for $53 shipped.... prices were too good to pass up and I had a few $$$ to do it with.

    I saved enough to pick this ram to go with my FX-8150:
    G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDR...

    Any opinions on the ram? It looked like a pretty good set :)

    Still need to make a few more moves... may end up with most of the pieces for another rig when I'm done :D
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, Daimus and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,855 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,082
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Enjoy your new CPU! :rockout:
    That's definitely a sweet price...a 3.4GHz quad for $90 is really incredible. And then you can upgrade to a FX-8/6xx0 later on :)
    I had some Crucial Ballistix RAM in my i7, but anything should be fine. Really, at this point, pretty much all name-brand RAM is fine.
     
    Daimus and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    That's an awesome board, I have ASUS M5A97 Pro.
    I would recommend the fan on the Northbridge. This 40x40mm fan costs 2-3 USD.

    Edit
    With new quad-core we are waiting for you on the top ten, sir!:p
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and Norton say thanks.
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,932 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,526
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    That G.Skill Ares memory is some great stuff. I am running it in one of my x6 systems. I am using this stuff. It is a tad cheaper. :toast:
     
    Daimus and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    What is the exact model of those OCZ sticks hat?
     
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I was running them at 1.65v. The 1.2-1.3v I was talking about was for the uncore (vtt) because I thought maybe since my uncore was faster (because of the 1600 memory) so I raised that. I figured 1.3v should be enough for 3200 uncore, and since I saw no stability improvement at all from 1.2v, up to 1.225, 1.25, 1.275, 1.3v, the memory must suck. I dropped the memory to around 1450 and it still failed, but around an hour or so. I just decided to give up and order new memory.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I stand corrected. Oops, I should have read slower.
     
  22. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    ocz still making ram? I never had issues with their older stuff. Sucks to hear those didn't work out for ya. Those crucials look sick. Hope those work better for ya. What you gonna do with the ocz's?
     
  23. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    No they don't make ram anymore.
     
    popswala says thanks.
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    The ocz sticks are no good, so I put them where things that aren't any good belong. Unfortunate...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Wheres that may i ask? the backyard fire lol

    there reapers were some nice sticks. I liked the whole idea of there flex series. I have a set of them. Most of my ram is all ocz lol. no issues so no need to replace them.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page