1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,988
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    All crunchers at home are down. Major storms came through so I unplugged them all. Hope to have atleast two back up today.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Stay safe :toast:
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just checked my results status... haven't had an error since the 5th of this month, since I just first started messing around with the new parts. I'll be keeping an eye on it every once in a while during the coming weeks...
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My i7 is behaving erratically (random freezes, BSOD'd again), so BOINC is suspended for now, I'll run Memtest later and try returning it to stock-clock to see what happens. Obviously it doesn't do a lot of good when it locks up or reboots ever five minutes :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats sucks, hate it when they do that

    tried backing down a bit?
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Dropped it to stock speeds (2.95GHz w/ Turbo) and it's been going fine for about 20 minutes at this point. I'm just assuming that the load that WCG puts on the CPU is different from that of FAH-SMP. I'll start to push it up again starting today if everything is stable.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Stay safe man, take your time


    @hat, that would be a nice clock if stable. I just use WCG for stress testing so let her rip and see what happens. :toast:
  8. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    its good to unplug them if they're not in a surge protector. we had a storm the other day early in the morning and a friends tv blew and caught on fire. So yea it can happen.
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah when we have advisory of bad storms I unplug them. Both are on surge protectors but I'm still paranoid. :(
  10. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.

    Better to be safe than sorry. :)
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Indeed my friend. Can't afford to buy hardware right now. It CAN'T break. :laugh:
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The best way to protect your rigs is to unplug them. The second best way is to rent a whole house surge protector from the power company, which they attach to your meter. The third best way would be good surge protectors, and as much as I hate to say it, Monster Power supposedly puts out some nice ones that eat surges well (and I imagine there are plenty of other good brands out there) but you are taking a chance with anything plugged into the wall.

    Do I unplug mine? No, simply because I'm not there much of the time. Plus, the office is enclosed in a steel building in an industrial park of other similar buildings, so there are plenty of other places for lightning to target.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah I don't take chances. Surge protectors aren't 100% reliable, even good ones. But it is wayyyyyy better than plugging it straight to the outlet!
  14. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Thank You my country (and the surrounding weather) for having no need to buy 7 surge protectors :) I had 3-4 power cuts in the past two years but everything held up. What is the power consumptions in stand by in these things btw?
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    A basic 400w UPS uses about 10 watts for itself, so I'd say that they probably consume 10 watts for every battery installed in them (for the sake of recharging the batteries of course).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Protection is a good thing Brandon

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I have two surge protectors daisy-chained, so if one blows the other should still stop it :D

    The i7 has been going strong at 2.9GHz for a few hours, I'll bump it up a bit in a couple hours :toast:
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Got the new ram in today. Happy to finally have 3 1600 sticks in triple channel to properly feed my i7. I've noticed 4GB is too little to work with when gaming and crunching, so the additional 2GB may help there as well. Lots of things I'm happy about with this ram... the 1600 speed, the triple channel, the additional capacity, and that it runs at 1.5v. This may drop some temps down ever so slightly compared to when I was running my 1.65v memory... then again, there's the added stress of having a third stick, so it's probably negated. At least I'm well under the limit and not right there at it.
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, I've had many power outtages without surge protectors and nothinug has gone. I did have a bad one many years ago that fried a mobo, but that was it.

    Night and day difference my friend. From double to triple and the extra 2GB is a night and day difference bro. You'll love it! :toast:
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've bumped the i7 up to 3.26GHz @ 1.2v, I'm hoping that it's stable like this. I guess I'll see. Shutting it down apparently caused 5 of the WUs it was working on to have a "Computation Error", so I lost nearly 20hrs of CPU time there :(
    I guess I'd better not shut it down in the future :roll:

    EDIT: OC appears (for now) to be stable, but for reasons that I don't understand, only half of my RAM is available (Windows reports 4GB present, but only 1.99GB available). :wtf:
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Cooler might be too tight, happened with my 860 before. Very common.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,951 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Also keep in mind that a surge protector only works for "surges." Which would obviously be an up spike in the current. Surge protectors DO NOT do any good what so ever on a lower voltage issue. For this one needs a good battery back up. And of course the cost on them is a ton. LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,300 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,409
    That's where the DC/DC converter type PSU's are a godsend. DC output is constant throughout the AC input range of the unit :toast:
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I 2nd that, happened with my i7-920 as well.

    For now I had to bump my i7-950 back down to 3.4 GHz from 3.6 GHz. Temps were at 90ºc when I got home on the hottest core. It was lower at the moment, but 90ºc was the highest recorded while I was away. so I backed it down to 3.4 GHz at default voltage which is like 1.232v I think. Temps should be under 80ºc at the hottest I would say. I'll have to wait till tomorrow to find out.
  25. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,951 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Wyoming
    What the hell are you mumbling about? You don't know what your talking about Norton....

    :laugh::laugh::laugh: Na just kidding bro! Your right on that man.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page