1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm going to have to play with the voltage a bit on it though, as the D2PAK FETs on your A8N-E WITH the stock ASUS heatsink are running at 90c. Since this board isn't in a case I need to be especially careful with the temps. :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Damn I almost forgot you have that board now. Glad he is still going strong for you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, it has been set aside for a while as I bought an ECS NForce4-A939 (works fine) and an ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe with the Opteron (has memory slot issues). So, now I'm running 2 dual core 939s and the ECS board is sitting out as a spare. Only thing with the A8N-E is I hardwired the power LED to the battery holder due to the persistent battery drain, and it works fine, but I'll lose the settings every time the power goes out. At least it's easy to quickly reset the settings in the event that happens. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I wonder if you can keep it hard wired but also put a rechargeable battery in there to hold the settings when powered down?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I would but I have a feeling that supplying a continuous current to a battery would damage it very quickly or cause other issues. Luckily the power doesn't go out too much so I can live with it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    But a rechargeable battery should be able to take the continuous current as long as it isn't more then what the battery is rated for.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,940 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,267
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    :toast:
    I'd be surprised by that, I get ~1.1-1.2k from a C2D @ 2.8GHz, which is certainly going to be faster than the Opty
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I got some bad news. My Air conditioner just conked out making it even difficult for me to play full screen video games without sweating buckets. So no crunching until winter. :shadedshu
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    Aw man, how are we gonna bet those russians now? :laugh:

    Understood, gotta do what you gotta do.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I thought Canada was cold? LOLZ
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,940 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,267
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    No way to re-locate systems into other rooms so it isn't too miserable? Or a window fan perhaps? :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    933 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385


    :mad:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I live in the upstairs of a house. when the sun shines it can get hotter in the house than outside. even with the windows open. Throw 4 computers in under full load and it just gets worse.
     
  14. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    933 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Have you tried sun blinds? We do this at work, and I could refer you to a place to buy some :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    My network at home is down due to renovations. It should hopefully be back up tonight.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,252 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I finished some WUs today. Quick crunching is being quick, I should have switched from F@H to this ages ago. :)
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hell like I said my S939 A64 x2 4400+ is doing between 1k and 1.3k a day at 2.2ghz and his opty is clocked higher and a better proc then mine. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,255
    Update(s)

    The FX-6200 is back online crunching and reporting. :rockout:

    The FX-6100 is crunching but I need to connect manually to the net so it will be uploaded/reported 2 or 3 days per week

    The new 965BE rig will need to go down for now as I need the 2.5" SATA HDD it's using to fix a friends laptop. I have a replacement HDD on the way but it will take a little while to get here. It was still spooling up but it looks like it will output about 2,500 ppd when it's back online.

    Should be hitting 50k+ ppd with what's running atm :pimp:
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, Daimus and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Seems wcg is down right now. And there goes my almost 20k for the day.:twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,255
    Seems to be working fine over here?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,964 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah it is working now for me also. Wouldn't upload on any of my rigs for about an hour or so. I may have missed the big 20k for the day. But hopefully should hit 19k.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Wouldn't matter. the sun radiates through the roof. As I type this it is 14c outside and 25C in my room :shadedshu
     
  23. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    So what exactly happened with your air conditioner? Doesn't blow cold? Doesn't work period?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    yup. It's now only a fan. compressor went on it. I will replace it by next summer. We are only 30 days away from constant cool weather, I will be back up and running then. :)
     
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Have you checked the drain pan for a clog? Could be the safety switch (water not draining), a relay or the compressor really went out.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (3 members and 2 guests)

james888, m&m's, twilyth

Share This Page