1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    The REPO man inspection! :laugh:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The fire department comes by every 6 months and does an inspection of commercial facilities (in the county our facility is located in). Basically, firefighters can be completely dense when it comes to electrical systems, and they want to know why you use power strips and every time they see one or a bunch of equipment plugged into a single outlet using some sort of wall tap, they are like "OMG CIRCUIT OVERLOAD GTFO" and it's a pain in the ass having them nitpick all your wiring and claiming running X number of devices in one area is unsafe and they will spontaneously explode instantly.

    TL;DR, they don't even have certifications to inspect facilities, but they walk through twice a year with a checklist to be a general pain. Our goal is to get them in and out with as few questions as possible so they don't whip out the pseudo-electrician/physicist BS and want to visit us even more to correct "flaws" with how we carry things out. I hate when people who know nothing about what you are doing meander in and have to know every single thing you are doing and try to say you're stuff is wrong because it doesn't align with their opinions, protocols or whatever.

    So, that is why 4 of my most ghetto looking rigs (which aren't great producers anyway) are offline. The rest are still going with as few wires as possible to prevent any "issues" that might come up.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    That makes sense.

    Too bad they unknowingly make you do all that just to get them out of there. Were they even taught power strips have a breaker built into them and will pop before the outlet melts? Maybe you should tell them that. :laugh:
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I keep having net issues. I am extremely fed up with Comcast, it's probably the area, but still. :banghead:
     
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    My ppd is down a bit this am- need to check to make sure everything is reporting ok when I get back home later today :eek:
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Nine is also down today for some weird reason.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    In a similar vein, my PentDC lost internet access again...so I'll have to look at that tonight. I'm thinking it might be time to pick up another Ethernet cord and hard-wire it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Well I had one system locked tight when I got home. The fan went out on the vid card about a week or so ago. I strapped a 80mm fan to it and off it went. Well that fan while being new went out. :banghead: Friggin card is just a jinx to fans now. And that card does not like heat at all. It will lock the system in no time. I replace the fan again and it is running right at 42c. So number are going to be down tonight.
     
    Norton and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    What card is this? I've found that sufficiently low-power cards (Geforce 8400GS or similar) can actually run fine even if the fan locks up :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    I have a spare network cord or two and possibly a new wireless USB adapter that I may be able to get out to you ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Oh, I have a couple Ethernet cords at my home in Chapel Hill, and I'm sure I could get my parents to send one. I may even be able to scrounge up a spare from my roommate...he's using my WiFi, so his is going unused. The computer actually has a perfectly functional WiFi adapter in it, but as part of the network here at NCSU, the computer has to be re-authenticated each time it connects. Thanks though :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    I'm having a similar issue with the PC at the remote site.... times out after 10-15 minutes of non-activity on the free wifi. I have to get it online when I get to the site to get it to upload/download wu's :shadedshu
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    It's a hd 5770. This one won't run if it to hot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I just sent you a pm regarding the fan deal. And all I got to say is XFX does have great customer support. :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Hard-wired the PentDC to the router, should solve that issue :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    well came home to find the I3 locked again. Took 2 days to freeze but BSOD again so I raised voltage to 1.23V hope this fixes this issue. I ran this thing for weeks and weeks and it just now starts this! I think its degrading.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm working on my i7-870 system again and trying to find the right voltages/settings for it. Currently at 170*22 (3750), 1.35v core (1.29v under load) and 1.25v VTT with DDR3-1700. BSODs with 1.336v vcore at that frequency. Unsure if I can get VTT lower or not, but I'm pretty sure there is a massive wall right above 170MHz that I can't overcome even with 1.4v vcore and 1.3v VTT. 3.75GHz isn't too bad.

    Also, my delidded s939 Opteron is golden and does 3GHz on stock volts and under 50c! 300MHz HTT with 2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400 @ 500MHz 3-3-3-8 iirc. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet

    Are we crunching that? :confused: :twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm placing bets that it is a spam bot. They are getting smarter, unfortunately.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Well I got to say that is one smart bot as it joined 2 months ago and has been casing our joint.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    Well it looks like my FX-6200 rig got screwed up somehow- almost nothing reported from it :(

    Will need to go to my buddy's office tomorrow at some point to see what happened. Hopefully, it's just an internet connection issue and it's still crunching away.

    On a second note- plugged in another HDD on the 965BE rig and reinstalled Windows 8 and got it back crunching again. Windows 8 is pretty neat- from empty HDD to crunching in about 20 minutes :rockout:
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Shame about the FX...hopefully it's still crunching, even if offline :ohwell:

    Glad to hear about the 965BE, that's a potent setup :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Win8 is a lot like Ubuntu in that manner. From blank to crunching in no time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,127 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,495
    She don't crunch anywhere near what my 960T used to do. That thing ran like it forgot 2 cores were shut off :D
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page