1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    its not much, but X2 3800+ reporting for duty :D i5 will be doing WCG in a month or so.

    Ahh what the hay, i'll go set it up now :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Nice man. I had a 3800x2 doing duty for me not long ago.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I briefly ran an X2 4400+ and that worked well (about 800 PPD IIRC)...if loud and surprisingly hot :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Well, my i7-870 is offline again, same "crash and stuck on BSOD in 30 minutes or less after I leave work, but somehow run all afternoon without an issue" bullshit. I even took a video card out of it today (now I'm glad I did). Taking 100MHz off tomorrow and seeing what it chooses to do after that.

    My FX-8150 also had a BSOD (one of those extremely rare 1000007e ones that my Vista based DV5000 clunker also got yesterday) but recovered like any normal computer.

    I also FIXED the CMOS issue on my A8N32-SLI Deluxe (which has now crashed as well because I was a dummy and overclocked it before I left, unless it somehow died or something). It's a long story, but here are the key details:
    -It's an old 32 pin PLCC package CMOS chip. I popped it out of its socket and found the datasheet online. I looked for the ground and voltage pins (there are 2 3V pins that are linked as well as a ground).
    -Took my $3 multimeter, put it on the diode setting and checked for continuity. The ground corresponded with the battery but both +3V pins seemed "intermittent" e.g. I tested them once but for some reason I couldn't get anything out of them after that. I also removed the CLR CMOS jumper as it didn't seem to have any effect on anything (though maybe it solved my issue).
    -Decided to take a twist tie with both ends stripped and made a ghetto wire connected from the + contact on battery holder to one of the VDD pins, reseated the CMOS chip and put the battery in.
    -Battery voltage rapidly dropped to 1 volt, indicating a large load that I assume exceeded the battery's capacity. System powered on alright, and was still losing its CMOS settings, so I decided to remove the ghetto jumper completely.
    -Tested battery again, had risen to near 3V so I just threw it back in. Powered on, set the time/date, and killed/unplugged the system to pull another rig to put my GTX 465 into from the flaky i7-870 system, and tested that system for 20 minutes.
    -Plugged the 939 system back in after 30 minutes, entered BIOS and the time/date were correct (I was like WTF). In disbelief, I unplugged it for another 15 minutes and it is still holding settings like a champ, even without the jumper cap on the 3 pin CLR CMOS header.

    So, now that my CMOS seems to be working fine (but the dead CPU temperature sensor and DC memory problems still exist, although I set it for 133MHz and increased HTT to 260MHz and it works) I am happy until I screw it up and have to somehow clear CMOS. Just need to put the multiplier back to 9x and it should be good. :)
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Sounds like a few issues you've been having lately. Glad to hear you've got them figured out for the most part. What board is that i7-870 on?
     
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet

    Cool man, glad you seem to have atleast got the s939 somewhat fixed. Could you just pop the battery out to clear the cmos if you have to?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Sorry to hear about the troubles with the i7, but at least the AMD X2 is going solid again :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If it's not one thing the it's the other heh?
     
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's the EVGA P55 FTW I got from Buck (with the 870 and some RAM, which I have swapped out and still have issues). I'm fairly confident that it may be user error and not the motherboard, but maybe the CPU is degraded as it needs way more voltage than I am comfortable putting into it. Seems like everyone's LGA 1366 CPUs do 4GHz in the 1.2x voltage range, when my 1156 chip can't even reach 4GHz without running 1.4v LLC through it and having it burning up at 80c+. This is probably the most trouble I have ever had overclocking a system, as all my other ones barely gave me any grief. Hell, I have a friggin Opteron 170 running at 3GHz at STOCK vcore (practically unheard of frequency for 939 systems) on a crappy ECS nForce4 board with zero issues.

    I'm not blaming the previous owner for anything as the stuff was in good shape and it does seem to work great under 3.7GHz and 1.3v (which I will probably return to), but damn, this machine is being such a pain.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's part of the reason I run my 860 @ 3.4GHz...it requires barely any extra voltage, runs reasonably cool (60c or so), and I feel that it should last a while. Yeah, I could get an extra 450PPD by OCing a bit more, but I prefer the peace of mind knowing that it won't burn up any time soon :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, I think I'm going to go for 3.6GHz again tomorrow. I'm losing so much PPD from this system being down that it isn't funny. The bunny doesn't always beat the tortoise in the race. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hell I am leaning on one of my 1055t's now. I did a small oc on it. I have it up to 3.2 and the temps are hanging right around the mid to upper 40's
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,247
    My 1045T is at 3.1 and pulling 3600+ ppd and in the same range on a stock heatpipe cooler :rockout:
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am in the same range for ppd with spikes up to 4200 ppd since I upped it. I may just clock the other one up a tad. Just kinda reluctant since that one is on a ddr2 board.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Brandon got banned. :(

    [​IMG]
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    I saw it too... not sure what happened.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,247
    Hope he's back soon....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    He got banned for what happened in the BF3 thread.

    Don't think he'll be back anytime soon, not from what he said.

    Pour one out for my homie.

    [​IMG]
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,252 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Very unexpected & surprising to read he got banned. Then again, I never read the BF3 thread (no interest in BF/COD).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,262 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,711
    Location:
    Wyoming
    What the hell happened??????
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That i7 can't get here fast enough...I seem to have lost my 5th star :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Oh noes. :laugh: you'll have it back in no time though. :)
     
  24. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    It feels good to contribute again :D
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,540
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have always had to run that board at 1.4+v to get a stable 3.8-4.0Ghz out of the CPU's. This also led me to have to Water Cool the CPU due to 80c+ temps. The i7-870 that you got with that board was used in another board(ASRock P55 Extreme) @ 3.8Ghz/ 1.34V, so I would not say it's degradation. The Adata ram that I sold you must be run @ 1.65+V. PM me and I will try to help you get the board stable.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
    [Ion] and Chicken Patty say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page