1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,891 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This really does make an APU a bargain cruncher.

    Come to find out my Phenom II 940 was only running one core. :ohwell: It has since been fixed. It should show for tomorrow's numbers.
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You are going to be a force before it is all said and done :toast:
    da_vid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    my main rig suffering from reboot maybe 1-2 time a day and sometime throwing a error ,
    i can't figure what the problem
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does it just reboot or does it throw a bsod?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Is it overclocked? Does the memory pass Memtest? Can it run Prime95?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    just reboot no bsod ,small overclocked 3200mhz and it passed every test, gpu @ stock clock

    memory are underclock @1016 corsair dominator ddr2@1066

    I increase the vcore to 1.36,nb 1,44 but it the voltage for 4000mhz stable and i'm running only at 3200

    Stanley had a notebook with all the setting for the Q9550 and I use same setting ???:banghead:
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,891 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My numbers will be low today. My rigs performance was lacking so I backed up both raids, reconfigured my raids and reformatted. I have > 750Gb of data to copy and I'm not going to be starting up BOINC until it's done. I'm looking at 4 hours until it should be done (gah, USB 2.0 external drive.) Now, both my RAID-0 and RAID-5 have a stripe size of 128kb rather than 32 for the RAID-0 and 64 for the RAID-5.

    I love how fast a machine is after a clean install. :cool:
    Norton and [Ion] say thanks.
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Enjoy the "new" machine! :toast:

    My X58 board should be here tonight :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I want to make a shout out to EVERYONE that supported me with the family truck fund and sell. I now crunch with a 2600K @ 4.5ghz and two 6950's unlocked making 8K MORE than I was with the Rigs I sold! Tonight is when I decide on one I have been looking at for a week or so and I am so excited I can't stand it!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c, Norton, KieX and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Nice truck Brandon!:toast:
    In my country this one would cost about $15K.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Probably going to end up giving 1300$ (1.3K)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Awesome. Ten times cheaper.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    so that is the baby you where spending money for? Good.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Nice truck brandon :toast:
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    reboot fix :) no error anymore on both rigs :rockout:
    Norton says thanks.
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,297 (8.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,393
    Someone over on the WCG forum made posted a handy little chart of some gpu crunching performance data :toast:
    *Edit- fixed

    [​IMG]

    Radeon 79xx cards are the best at the WU's with the 78xx cards a close second :)
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
    KieX, Daimus, [Ion] and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I recognize that chart from XS (and some of the data I contributed to it :toast:)
    Those HD79x0 cards are phenomenal! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    525 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Comparison of same GPU's with different CPU's/CPU clocks could be interesting too.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,952
    Mine has done wonders for my WCG scores
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Well it seems my problems may have fixed themselves. Knock on wood. Should end up between 35 and 40k for the day :toast: Tomorrow should be better.
    [Ion], Norton and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    525 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    A few numbers from my rigs on GPU WU's in the format of mmss(m=minute, s=second).

    Start of GPU time|Stop of GPU time|Finished unit time

    Desktop:
    xxxx|1316|1445
    0040|1142|1310
    0040|1151|1321

    Laptop:
    xxxx|0942|1245
    0109|1129|1441
    0108|0936|1243


    Edit: Also from other sightings than this. There seems to be some difference in speed between some units and others.
    Desktop 2 and 3 are pretty similar here, but 1 is somewhat slower. For laptop it's 1 and 3 that's similar, with 2 being slower.
    Norton, [Ion] and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Does anyone on the Team have a LGA1366 CPU that I could borrow? I'm afraid that the one I bought might be broken, but I don't have any way to test the motherboard without on (the i7s I have are all different sockets). PM me if you're willing/able to help out! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,891 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Does the board you have contain any headers for LED debugging? Maybe there is a way to rule it out without trying another CPU.

    You have the resources of TPU at your finger tips. :toast:
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    It has a two-digit display. It says "FF", which, on EVGA boards, normally means "Fully Functional". However, the board doesn't beep at all, even when there's no RAM, and I get no display. I've tried two PSUs, two RAM sticks, and two GPUs (all known good). The board has already been RMA'd one; the first one exhibited the same symptoms, so I'd imagine that it has to be the CPU that's dead. Nothing else would make sense :banghead:

    And the seller I bought the CPU from isn't responding to PMs :banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am siding with you on the cpu being dead. Did they send your board back to you? I usally mark the board in some small unnoticeable way so I know for sure if they sent a different board or not.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page