1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    90C on an AMD chip? :eek:

    Good think you got it fixed! :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    It's a laptop chip. It takes it like a boss. (Trottling is at 97°c)

    It has spent tons of time at 80°c and decent time at 90+°c. :p

    That was before I noticed it's tendency to get very hot. Not it's strangled to keep it at acceptable levels. :S
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Can't wait to get my 7970 and see how it does with the GPU WUs. Thursday can't come soon enough. :roll:
     
    Daimus, [Ion] and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Damn. My i7-QM runs at ~80C most of the time--sometimes it gets hotter, but I do try to prevent it from getting appreciably hotter.
    That will be absolutely sick. I'd imagine you should do at least as much as my i7-2700k system, from one GPU.

    Is this a present from your wife?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    I would like to know what you think of this psu 620W ATX SEASONIC R-S12II-620 i can have a good deal for two of those

    it will be for amd fx 8150,8Gb memory,and i will probably add 1 or 2 gpu in the future if it needs.remember this rigs will be dedicated crunsher 24/7
    thanks :toast:
     
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    If by present, you mean she didn't care if I bought it, then yes. :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,631 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,517
    I use an Antec HCG 620 which uses the Seasonic internals from that model I believe. Mine has been running perfect and would have no issue putting an FX-8150 on it and a high end gpu. ;)

    *Note- it should only have 2x PCIE connectors so you would be limited to 1x7870/7950/7970 or 2x 7850/7770
     
    Daimus and da_vid say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    Help!
    Got a 7770. Removed Nvida drivers. Installed latest Catalyst for 32 bit XP. Now I lost to option to run GPU crunching (it is not in the drop down under activities) and that was the only reason I changed to the red camp.

    Edit: XP 32 bit and 12.8 does not play....I have to install it in a WIN 7 PC.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
    Daimus, gopal and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do they appear listed on the Event Log? You can force a check by running Benchmark.

    EDIT: Saw you updated the post. Hope that works. Got my 7770's doing 3 WU each and it's good for 27K in that configuration.

    you could probably do around 60K PPD with that card :rockout:
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  10. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    It is currently using 0-1% according to Z-GPU so I think there is room for some more CPU/GPU WUs. It replaced a 260 that took 7-8 min. This does it in 2:20. Not bad.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I personally use MSI Afterburner as you can track the load and temperature over time. Looks like you got plenty of headroom, probably your card has better clocks than mine so you should be more than fine to load up 3 WU. You're gonna be loving that red card :D
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My internet at home is back up from last night. The modem tripped out when charter did some maintiance and it was off all day until I got home and reset it. I remoted in this morning after the first 4 runs of WU have been crunched so I have not yet received the dreaded "NO WU READY" thing.

    I have two builds in the mix as we speak. I think I may have another cruncher to add to the pile if everything goes well with TMS.

    Also I may be in the market for some more used parts soon. I have a spare AM2 motherboard on the way and will probably need a AM2 (Windsor or brisbane) chip along with another 2x1GB DDR2.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Those are very solid PSUs--I think they'll serve you well! :toast:
    :rockout:
    Well, you can always use Molex-PCIe adapters ;)
    Two HD7850s wouldn't really be that much to run off of a quality 620w PSU--my EA650s only have two PCIe 6-pins, but I know that I could run two GTX460s/GTX470s and an OCed quad off of them with no issues :toast:
    That's sweet! :toast:
    I can probably help you out with RAM and possibly with a CPU :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I was just trolling Ebay and sniped a "AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ - ADO4000IAA5DD" CPU for 13$ shipped!!! Its a brisbane 65NM chip!! So now below is the new configurations but I will still need 2x1GB DDR2 either 667Mhz or 800Mhz.

    new HTPC:
    ECS Geforce6100SM-M V1.0 (Purchased)
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ - ADO4000IAA5DD (Purchased)
    2x1GB DDR2 (NEED)

    New Cruncher!:
    MSI 785GTM Motherboard
    (unknown CPU, maybe have the hookup from TMS)
    2x1GB DDR2 800mhz Corsair XMS2
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    PM me--I can get some RAM sent your way :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    Got three running for the past hour without errors. Time went up to around 4 min (from 2:30).
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's really awesome! :toast:
    This is for a HD7850, right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    Nope a 7770, GHz model.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    That sounds good. Should get some nice PPD from that, mine take 4:40 on average. :toast:
     
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    o_O
    I think you just answered my question about what card(s) I need in my next system :eek: :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm registering 260W for three of them.. with idle CPUs.. these 7770 are great PPD/Watt. ~27K <80W? Probably cheap second hand too.

    Among the fastest according to the WCG tech keeping track of performance:
    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewthread_thread,34055_offset,0#396388

    These remind me of the GTX 460 in F@H a while back
     
    [Ion] and Norton say thanks.
  22. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,631 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,517
    I'm wondering why the 8800GT is showing up so high on that list you linked to??? :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You can't even run the GPU WU's on a G80/G92 card, correct?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    No idea why it's there.. might have been an odd WU that was completed? There's a second list below that main one where it no longer appears.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,841 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My P55 system just started acting up again today. It's locking up in 30 minutes or less and I have made no changes to the system in weeks. Going to try and find out what may be wrong with it since it is one of my main Windows folding/crunching rigs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page