1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,662 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,490
    The week my daughter was born, I got my second 6950; what a great week! I got a beautiful little girl and when I got home from the hospital, I got a beautiful Gigabyte 6950 :toast:
    Kids are magical :D
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Congrats! That's fantastic news :toast:
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and HammerON say thanks.
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Over the weekend, my Phenom II X3 720BE system went offline, and when I got to work today, I found the system completely dark. Turns out the Biostar A780L3B motherboard bit the dust as none of the 3 PSUs I tried were able to turn on the board. So, I booted the Phenom X3 8550 out of the ASUS M3A78-CM, dropped in the 720BE on it and I'm planning on selling the X3 8550.

    Then, I discovered my ASUS A8N32SLI Deluxe was misbehaving (programs were all frozen up, couldn't shut down), so I held the power button to shut it off. It shut down, and pressing the power button did absolutely nothing. Tried a different PSU, and it came back to life. The Enermax PSU still works and turns on in a much beefier computer, but when you shut down the system gracefully the power good circuit immediately turns the PSU and the entire system back on. Don't have any more spare PSUs so it's going to be used until it no longer works.

    My 2600K also froze over the weekend but it's working again. I'm not buying any new hardware for a while either, as I want to reduce my computer footprint and invest in newer, denser and more efficient hardware. About half my farm consists of computers that are way beyond their originally expected usable life, and one FX-8350 or Ivy Bridge quad core machine could easily replace them, but I'm not too fond of spending more money when I still have more old components sitting around and waiting to be used, and I don't want to sell them as they aren't worth much more than the actual cost to ship them and I probably wouldn't be able to move them.

    Despite the hardware losses, I did get my dad's 3.8GHz 1100T + 7770 and my soon to be Dell Dimension E520 (X6800) running, so I think I'm still bringing in more points than I was previously. I brought my C2D E6400 back online as well as a Dimension 8300 w/ P4 3GHz to try and fill the gap of an X3 8550, but after those I just have an LGA775 P4 630 system and a P4 2.8Ghz 478 system left as spare boards/chips. Installed Ubuntu 12.10 on the Dimension 8300 but it's stuck on a blank screen with just the cursor so it may not actually run with this new of a kernel.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, KieX, [Ion] and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,128 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Bumnmer Jstn.

    Congrats HammerOn.
    HammerON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    My i7 is also down still, I'm having the boot loop issue again, I'm not sure what the problem is and I don't care to mess with it anymore right now. So i am going to let it sit with everything pulled from the board(including batt. and power) and let it sit till i get my cm XB case, If by then it still doesn't work right I will be buying a Gigabyte UD5H to replace it.

    Then i will keep messing around with the Asus for awhile and then hopefully i will get it to work and I will have another 1155 cruncher.
    KieX and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,662 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,490
    Man, it seems that everyone is having some sort of trouble with their rigs and hardware. :banghead:
    I hope this doesn't bode ill for me, as my cruncher is my only rig and I can't afford for it to fail on me! I hope you all gets your kinks worked out :)
    Norton, KieX and p_o_s_pc say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Sorry about the shitty luck everyone :ohwell: :(

    I'm happy to report that everything I have is still going strong, and I'll be bringing the i3 online soon :toast:
    stinger608, manofthem and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,303
    You had a little bit of bad luck a while back too.... happens to all of us eventually. A lot of us run our rigs @100% load and often overclocked 24/7 365 days a year- the only time we let them rest is to:
    - clean filters/heatsinks and such
    - upgrade something
    - repair something

    @jstn- sorry to hear about your latest run of bad luck but it sounds like any new systems your putting online can replace 2 or 3 of the older ones. FYI- Keep me in mind if you consider replacing your FX-8150 with a Vishera.... I may be interested ;)
    Daimus and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,736 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    I think I have some or most of my issues figured out. First, the system was unstabel with Crossfire enabled, so I disabled that. Then I noticed that my video performance was laggy with one card running three monitors, so I disabled the Eyefinity group. Then I lost one of the mini-DP to DVI adapters, so I had to swap that out with a spare (maybe I can RMA it). After that, I went to shutdown the PC, and the rig would not completely shut down. I went through a couple days trying to figure that out, at which point I think it may have been related to either the AMD beta driver, .NET 4 or the Asus Rapid charger. I installed the new beta 11's last night, took off the Asus rapid charger, and it seems to be better.

    The only issue I have left is a boot error on one of the SSD's in the raid 0 array, but the system is working fine ATM, and I can reset the error through Intel RST.
    Daimus, Chevalr1c, [Ion] and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    Wyoming
    That was most likely the problem Ski. Even when you shut a system down running Asus' rapid charger, the system does not totally shut down.:toast:
    Chevalr1c and t_ski say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Knock on wood, My remaining systems are running good now.
    Norton and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,736 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Got home and finally got on my PC for the first time since last night and had a driver crash/recover. Some WU's look like they're stuck.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have had a couple of stuck units on my rig running the app info this week. I killed the stuck ones and rebooted the rig and all has been good since.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Got the Dimension 8300 (P4 3GHz) running finally with Ubuntu 12.04.1. Tomorrow, I might scavenge my broken/dying parts bin and see if I can get the P4 2.8GHz going. It will have to use the old HDD I was going to toss for bad sectors, 512MB DDR out of my X2 4200+ rig as well as my last PSU, an evil Bestec 300w but this board/CPU aren't worth anything these days so as long as it doesn't catch on fire and burn down my office, I think I'll be fine. Bet it gets around 200 PPD lol.

    Might as well run all the old stuff now before the business moves in a few months, so I don't have to have a bunch of clunkers cluttering the new office. :)
    Norton and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Awesome, I'm glad you have things sorted out! :toast: :rockout:
    So are you crunching again on those HD7970s?
    Oooh, snazzy, a P4 :p
    It's a shame you aren't located here--basically, you could get an unlimited number of large P4 Dells and the Celeron Dual Cores at good prices--$25 for just shy of 1k PPD is pretty nice IMO :)

    Once the business moves, will you still be able to run everything?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, I can but they will be in a further confined area and I would like to have the old ones phased out by moving time as they take too much space and electricity for their output. Kind of hoping those are the ones that end up breaking and not any more modern systems as the loss of the X3 720BE rig completely caught me off guard. I have a huge amount of empty boxes and general crap (working and broken) as it is that I need to sort through and get rid of if possible. Old stuff can be hazardous to run considering I know some of these parts have benign electrical issues and the last thing I would want to have is the new place going up in smoke thanks to a 10yo PSU or whatever (or the current place either for that matter). Less stuff running, less chance of a catastrophe.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,736 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    For the time being. I ended up having to disable crossfire again, so I think I might let BOINC pause while the system is in use. That should help with the lag of three screens on one card when WCG is hammering it.
    Norton and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm currently in the process of setting up my Core i3 and I have a C2D E8400 to get going when this is done. So 6 more threads for the Grid :toast:
    Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,662 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,490
    Great to hear! And that means I'll lose my spot tomorrow :cry: :cry:

    You've got quite the power house all put together, keep it coming! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Thanks! :toast:

    This will likely be it for a while---at the very least until January. But come then, I may add a few more HPs...my stack could certainly support another 3 or 4 without getting unstable.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. dhoshaw

    dhoshaw

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Now that I have my new cruncher going and the old one rebuilt, the temps in the computer have gone up dramatically. So, of course, the a/c has gone on the fritz. Since the computer room is upstairs with the bedrooms, it got miserably hot last night.
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,662 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,490
    Free heat! Oh wait, Florida... like me, we don't need more heat :roll:
    At least you have them crunching :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. dhoshaw

    dhoshaw

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    You should know, you're just up the road from me (Boynton Beach).

    I'll keep them crunching until my wife figures out where all the extra heat is coming from. :D
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Here's the i3 crunching :toast:
    [​IMG]
    Not the fastest, but it sips power and runs cool, so I'm happy with it :)
    And I think it will be an entirely sufficient system for on-the-go gaming (I played a few games on it this morning and actually barely noticed a difference from the GTX470 SLI in the 2700k :eek:)
    Norton and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,303
    My turn in the barrel for hardware issues :(

    My Julia rig (A880GZ/FX-6100) blue screened on me and didn't come back. I've got it running now and suspect it's either the HDD or the SATA channel/SATA cable.

    I tried:
    - BIOS reset twice (removed battery for 10 minutes)- partial POST/no boot (defaulted back to BIOS)
    - pulled one stick of ram (same as above)
    - Didn't see HDD in BIOS so I switched the channel and the cable (started right up)

    Will try to run for a few hours to see if OK but I may be looking for a small HDD soon (current one is an 160GB 7,200rpm Western Digital but I can get away with one 1/2 that size).

    It figures, everything else in the rig still has a warranty :rolleyes:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page