1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Try a different PSU already?

    Does the motherboard post even?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I ninja-edited my post--I've tried two known-good PSUs. All that happens is the fans spin about a quarter-turn and then stop. No POST--it doesn't get that far.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Sounds like a short on the motherboard. My little Biostar A780L3B suffered the same fate, PSUs would only activate for a split second and nothing more.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm not really sure what could have happened to it. I did drive home in the rain with the windows down, but it was under vinyl in the trunk. It's not a crisis though, as I should have no trouble exchanging it for something else.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Things happen, man. It was probably on its last legs when you tested it before bringing it home. You never know when something won't turn on ever again until it happens.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    This is what my Intel board was doing. I think this one got an accidental static discharge to kill it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    The Atom is up and crunching on a new HDD, doing a marvelous ~450 PPD again. More importantly, it's also serving as a WiFi bridge for the i7 (no free expansion slots for a WiFi adapter), so I cam move the laptop now :toast:
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Powering down both machines for a day as I need to swap hard drives around, install different OS and shuffle things in my room too. Could do with a day of peace and quiet as well to be honest.

    So my pie slot is up for grabs, but not for long. Should be back stronger than ever on Saturday :)
  9. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Guys, I'm looking to switch my main rig to an SSD. Currently I use a 500GB drive as my boot drive and it has about 200GB free. Should I just spend the extra $ and get a 500ish GB SSD? Or would I be okay with a 256 GB?

    I use a lot of different programs and other applications on my home machine. But I feel there's certain things I've installed at the moment I just don't need.

    Suggestions?

    I've been looking at a Crucial M4 256GB SSD...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    A 500GB seems extremely excessive to me. I run my laptop off a 128GB disk, and have no secondary--I would imagine that you should be able to make do with a 256GB. You may have to move a few games over to a secondary or some less-used programs, but it seems like it would be worth it with the price difference.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Probably the Intel 335. Intel SSDs have a well-built reputation of giving good performance and reliable operation. The Crucial M4 is also good, although my Dad has a strange issue with the one in his laptop. If he suspends the computer, it crashes upon resume--probably not as important for a desktop system (particularly a cruncher), but still perhaps relevant. I'd probably choose between one of those two.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I wouldn't get anything over a 240/256GB model or your IOPS will be cut in half. I'm considering selling my sealed Corsair Force 3 120GB that is fresh from RMA to save up for a 240GB model myself.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah, I'm thinking about that Intel SSD. We use them for servers at work and they work really well.

    Thanks guys.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    526 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Got a new screen for my desktop. Which means it's now been overclocked. :D

    [​IMG]

    (RAM is a bit down, but it wasn't in the mood for overclocking, and my multiplier steps are enormous.)
    CPU could go higher, but I'm keeping the temps below 50°c, and my cooling ain't all that amazing.
    [Ion] and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,890 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    My advice to you is to buy a small SSD, like a 64GB OCZ Vertex 4, and use it for the OS and programs. Doing this, I'm only using 27GB out of the 128GB available with my Plextor M5S.

    Later on, I bought a 512GB SSD to load games off of. All it's for is games. In heinsight this was a terrible decision as games do load faster, but not $300 faster. Better spent on a platform upgrade IMO (2600k and mainboard or somesuch).

    So, get a small SSD and use your current hard drive as a second drive for games and what have you. Games, in my experience, see little benefit from being loaded from my OCZ Agility 4 compared to even my aging hard drive that I was using before—WD5000AALS (an older 500GB Caviar Black drive with 32MB cache, SATA 3Gb/s, no advanced formatting).
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My i7 has run dry of GPU tasks and it won't fetch new work--it keeps saying "connect() failed"--can someone else try to upload something?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Both rigs are running and uploading
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,384 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,640
    My rigs here seem fine?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Try restarting the rig. I have been having connection issues that require a restart lately.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've tried a restart--it turns out that the Atom setup makes a shitty network bridge. I'm not sure what happened, but it's bridged through my laptop now and works as it should. I'm going to see what I can figure out.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    You need me to send you a switch with the H50? :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Hey All! Sorry haven't been around much...but here I am!!! Had A nice chat session and shring with KieX tonite and I miss you all.

    I am working on getting a corporation (building property managers) to get me crunching again!! Hopefully in spring...March is the goal!

    Miss you all once again... CP I hope all is well, Norton, Madshot you crazy, Ion, Brandon, Jr, popswala, Stinger you fucker...lol and anyone else I missed.

    Mery Christmas to all of you! I will be back!!!!

    [​IMG]
    stinger608, ThE_MaD_ShOt, KieX and 3 others say thanks.
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    The problem is that we have Ethernet downstairs and then a WiFi network--and the i7 rig doesn't have any space for a WiFi card (3 double-slot GPUs). I could get a USB WiFi adapter, but I'm too cheap to spend the $17 when I'd only use it for three weeks. So here I am trying to figure out a way to use the Atom as a wireless bridge to the i7, which will then be linked to the i3 with its secondary Ethernet port. Progress has not been as forthcoming as I might like...

    @Chaotic: Glad to hear from you--and a Merry Christmas! Dan is a great guy to chat with any time of the day :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,449 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Here ya go:)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here we go:)
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
    stinger608, KieX, [Ion] and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page