1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,813 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,266
    Me? The computer seems to hang when I try to shut it down or reboot it. That bitch doesn't reboot unless I tell it to :pimp:


    BTW, does anyone have any advice (or links) on setting up multiple profiles in WCG? I'd like to set up one for CPU and one for GPU rigs.
     
    HammerON and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,601 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,447
    :laugh:-:roll:
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    It's really easy to do--just go to My Grid ->Device Manager-> Device Profiles and click one one of the profiles to create/edit :toast:
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,947 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,357
    Already done ;) always run AB while crunching. The cards are watercooled and the temps of the cards sit at 38-40*, currently with the cards at both at 39*C. Neither card ever goes over 40*C, so I don't think it's temps....

    I'm hoping that it's just a fluke thing, but I'll be monitoring it closely the next few days to see what happens.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,813 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,266
    Of course, I say that and I come back to the rig and it's hung :cry:

    I thought I tried that, but let me take another look...

    EDIT: Ah, I see where I was confused. "Home" profile set up with some CPU only projects. :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I would suggest trying that--I've done that and it worked.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,601 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,447
    My FX-8150/7870 rig freezes occassionally and I need to restart to get it back working again :shadedshu

    Only happened a couple of times since building it and have no idea why (s**t happens)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Meh, now I'm having issues with my FX rig. Keeps restarting. Could it be core temp not reading right? I got home today and it was super hot in my room and the fans on that rig were super loud. Temp was 52ºc on the CPU, could that maybe be reporting wrong and it's actually running a lot hotter?
     
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,601 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,447
    It should be fine on stock clocks or a mild overclock. Is your cooler making good contact?

    Also, what psu are you using?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm using the Dell PSU ION sent me. Seems to be fine now, I left it running on stock clocks but undervolted it a good amount. I'll keep everyone posted.
     
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Despite being a Dell, it's actually a good PSU--it ran an OCed i7 w/ a GTX460 before I sold it :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I think it was just temps, seems fine now and fans are quite and all. Gotta see how it behaves now during the day with less vcore. We'll see.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  13. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    I do not think it is CPU overheating. I had similar restarting problems in summer with Phenom CPU on mid-range motherboard. I was sure that it was VRM overheating.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,813 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,266
    My new Phenom II/single 7770 rig bluescreen last night. At this point I'm not sure if it was the drivers or what. I had some trouble getting the ATI drivers going at first, which I think was because I did not have SP1 (Vista) installed. I updated to CAT 13.1 and it was not instantly crashing anymore, but since then I got SP1 figured out and SP2 installed as well. However, I've also had some minor issues with the ram in this board, too, so I need to sort out both the drivers and the ram.

    We'll see if it crashes again while I'm at work today.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Hopefully you can get that stable. At least running Memtest is easy and new RAM is pretty much dirt cheap.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,601 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,447
    @t_ski-Try CAT 12.6 if you keep experiencing issues with that PII/Vista rig. I've found that one is super stable for all of my gpu crunchers. I may get a little more ppd out of a newer version but I go with what gives me the least issues/best stability ;)

    Also, I've had issues with Human Protein Folding and Clean Energy Project wu's (errors/invalids- no crashes) with my Vista rig. I'm pretty sure it's the OS and not the hardware as it did the same with all different hardware setup.... you may want to take those off the project list for the rig if you start seeing errors with them.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,134 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,542
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay here is what you need to do; find a large box and gather up a fair amount of packing peanuts. Put that system carefully in the box with the packing peanuts, and then send that sucker right to me. :laugh:
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah I tried updating to the 13.1's last night. Went over like shit in a fan. System restore to the rescue. I had all kinds of crazy crap going on and it would let me uninstall them. Said screw this and hit restore. All is good again.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I must say I'm a bit disappointed with the output of the Xeon setup. Running Windows 7 x64 with no GPU, it'd doing right about 4k PPD ATM. Given that an E8300 running Linux does about 1.8k, I expected more :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,833 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    LGA 771 platforms are sluggish from what I've heard, which is probably why they are extremely cheap nowadays.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Before the gpu unit's you probably would have looked at that 4k output in a different light.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I don't know why they would be sluggish though
    I don't think so. I'm not expecting 50k PPD just from two quad core CPUs. I was expecting something like five and a half thousand, however. Maybe it's because I'm running Windows on it (which I intend to keep doing--this is is my gaming system for now). It is what it is, at least, and it's still an order of magnitude faster than the Atom :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,043 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    So how many beta units did you get last night? I got 20 but since I didn't think when I made profiles I got them on my two GPU only rigs so I'm decreasing GPU work for a day or so to process them. That bronze spoils the otherwise nice collection of badges. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    A total of five :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,833 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's probably because you have to share two DDR2 memory channels and a single memory controller over 8 CPU cores. 4K actually doesn't sound that bad as I think a 10xxT @ 3.6GHz will do that on Windows. Of course something like a 3770K/2600K is absolutely going to dominate it because they can be overclocked to ~4.3GHz and have quite low power consumption. I bet if you had a Skulltrail, you could get those CPUs up to the 3.6-4GHz range instead of Q9300 speed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page