1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,832 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,020
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    No, but it has a pair of PCIe x16 slots (and is consequently currently housing a HD7930 and HD7850)
    I can send you a crappy PCIe x16 card if you want to cut it up so it'll fit in an x4 slot.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,901 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,377
    Thanks, but I have a couple cards I could try that with. In the meantime, I'm trying something different that has support built-in...
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,375 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    ChaoticAtmosphere and sabre23 say thanks.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If its not one thing it's the other. Got my i7-950 online, now I can't get the FX8120 rig to boot. :(. :banghead:
     
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,782 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,052
    That sucks man :shadedshu- can you get into the BIOS?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    I just checked the box: "If my computer can process work on my graphics card" on WCG website and appeared almost 50 HCC to do :eek:.

    It's Crunch time. :rockout:
     
  7. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    You can do 5-600 a day on your 7770 if you set it to do 3 at the time. You have a dual core right, so 3 might be your limit but try 4 once your points has settled. Look for the multiple GPU thread and ask if it gives you problems.
     
    JNUKZ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    So on the first option (how many work units I want run...) is 5 since is dual core CPU and usually 1 thread is to help GPU and the other 3 WU is for GPU?

    EDIT: I used m&m's Auto Setup.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,832 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,020
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So what did you tell it to do? Ideally, you'll be running no CPU work and three or four on the GPU (but assisted by the CPU) :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, that's all I can do. when the POST screen comes up it stays there for a bit then straight to BIOS. I have no options, BIOS or nothing :laugh:

    Gotta check it when I have a chance.
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,375 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'll try to get this guy to crunch... how does this system sound I built him, I'm not sure:
    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. ZakkWylde

    ZakkWylde

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    256 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Looks good, psu is overkill for one card and no plan to sli/crossfire. If you want to crunch go with a 7950 instead of the 660ti (not just saying this cause I have one, they are much better at crunching). Probably could go cheaper on the ram but its not a bad price really.
     
  13. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,231 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Wyoming
    never mind.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,782 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,052
    ??? :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,130 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Well guys, Hello! I am in school again, since Jan 14th. I am studying welding, with my eye on the diploma, instead of a certificate. The VA is paying for my first year and the classes for Diploma are two years. So, looks like I will be appling for some grants and loans, this fall.

    I have been very busy with school in the morning and work at night. I work Sat thru Thu and have classes Mon thru Fri.

    I have computer access here at school, between classes but, no machines to crunch with. I was hoping for some good news from the VA about housing vouchers but, nothing yet. So, my crunching days are somewhere in the future with no definate time frame.

    Oh well, I hope you all are doing well. I am doing well considering I can't sleep enough to feel 100% all the time. Sundays are normally a good day, work doesn't start until 9 and we close at 5. So, I can sleep in a bit and go back to the mission and sleep some more, after work. I have to take off now, I have a math class in a few minutes.

    TAKE CARE!! :rockout:
     
    Chevalr1c, theonedub, Norton and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    that is good to hear! The VA will help you out for sure.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    good to hear from you Arjai, and GL with the welding, there's always metal that needs to be stuck together somewhere.

    Keep in touch dude.
     
  18. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    Can I abort tasks? Because I have a lot HCC tasks and they take around 4~5 minutes while the others take around 4hours.
    btw How can I see my bionc points?
     
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,832 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,020
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    You can see your points by going to the "Projects" tab in BOINC Manager or by going to BOINCStats.com or Free-DC :)

    You can abort tasks, but it's preferred that you not. How is your setup running now? If you've devoted the entire CPU to feeding the GPU, then you probably do want to abort the CPU tasks.
     
    JNUKZ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thanks Ion :)
    Until now I did 3130 points... not bad I guess.
    I still can't run multiple WU with GPU and running tasks with CPU are very slow.
     
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,832 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,020
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    CPU tasks are much lower, unfortunately. If you're only running one GPU WU, it's best to let the other core of your CPU continue to process the other tasks. But we can get you set up with multiple GPU WUs :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,525 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,626
    So I got my internet bill yseterday and almost hurled. Normally I pay $80 per month for 60 GB of data (@ 8 mb/s down and 768 kb/s up), but my bill was over to $200.00 for January:eek:
    I called the provider today and they stated that I used 116.5 GB Download and 57 GB Upload. The guy (he was cool) stated that I had an outdated plan and that I could (should) upgrade to a newer one. So I signed-up for the 150 GB (@ 18 mb/s down and 1.5 mb/s up) and they took off the additional charge from last month:D
    I was curious on what my usage was going to be like with all this downloading and uploading. It didn't help that I re-installed about 5 or 6 STEAM games so I could back them up:shadedshu
    Last night I was thinking I was going to have to reduce my GPU's, but now I don't have to worry about it.
    [​IMG]
     
    Chevalr1c, Daimus and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,164 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,713
    Is that SAT service? Pretty generous bandwidth caps, if so. You got pretty luck with the rep :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,525 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,626
    No it's cable. The rep told me that Anchorage has a new 50 mb/s download, but not here in our small town:(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,164 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,713
    In the lower48 just about any cable provider would have stuck you with at least 50% of the overage :laugh: Well sometimes you can get lucky, but more often than not they are all just out for the $$.

    Its funny that you get faster internet in AK than I do less than 1hr outside the capital in California.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page