1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well guys i'm lowering my output from 65% to 30%. The heat is getting uncontrollable. Just waiting for the watercooling parts to finish coming in. and them Wham! Bam! 100%
     
    Norton says thanks.
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,165 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,659
    This can happen occassionally- just abort the work unit. You will lose the credit for that work unit but it will free up the core/thread to go ahead and process another.

    This used to occur a few times a week on me when I was running a Linux server for a fellow Team member for a while last year.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    I suspended them and then re-started the client, that seemed to work. I'll check tonight to see if any other are stuck.

    I was hoping to be able to run my crunchers on Ubuntu but if I'll have to tend to them daily like this (pretty inconvenient since they're headless) maybe I'll have to switch to Windows. I've been running two crunchers on W7's grace period, I'll see how they behave after that.

    Does W7 shutdown after 2 hours like Vista did when you had an inactivated copy?


    EDIT: Looks like I should be able to run them on W7. Apparently Windows update gets disabled and you can't customize the desktop but it won't kick you out. The Sempron cruncher is going to run out of the grace period after March 11th, I'll keep a close eye on it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Did you use the pakage manager to to install BOINC, or did you download it from the Berkeley website? I suggest doing the latter and extracting the files to /home/{your_name}
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    I used the Software Center
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The Software Center still uses the old 7.0.27 version. I haven't bothered updating mine as I took the "dead weight" machines offline (A stock Dell Dimension 8300 with a P4 s478 3GHz HT, 875P board and FX 5200 literally takes 160w for 250-500 PPD) and moved my GCN rigs to Win7, but I still have a Pentium M laptop and my Dimension E520/Xeon X3210 using Ubuntu.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Use the lastmentioaned method as described in my post, not the package manager (the Software Center is a frontend for that).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,560 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,258
    I don't remember where I saw it mentioned earlier, but is there any problem with having BOINC installed on the ssd? I was about to uninstall and reinstall to my hdd, just in case. I'm assuming there's a lot of writes going on there, but I never thought it was something to worry about....

    Any thoughts?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    I don't think its any issue, can't imagine its any worse than having an OS installed. I've had BOINC on my SSD since I bought it.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    I'm using an 8GB USB stick for the boinc data on my SSD systems just in case.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,560 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,258
    That's not a bad idea :) Maybe i'll try that
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I have BOINC on the SSD in my laptop and I haven't had any issues over the last ~eight months :toast:
     
    Chevalr1c and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    I'll just leave this here...

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    I dont think boinc being on an ssd would cause problems, it just might shorten its life a little and I mean a little. Boinc makes lots of writes and it seems like it is pretty easy just to install it on anther drive if you can.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    dammit, no video!!! :banghead: too tired to troubleshoot now... later...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My 2600K rig locked up at around 7:30pm last night, so I lost some huge points. It's back up and running for now, though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,485 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,165
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Had a power outage last night. According to the electrical clock it was around 2 am. Needless to say the systems were down for about 4 1/2 hours.
     
    Chevalr1c and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    This is extremely weird. The 7770 shows video fine on the M5A78 but on both of my Gigabyte Intel boards it doesn't :confused:

    Any hints? The H61 board had a 6570 installed and the Z77 board a 6950, both working fine. Maybe it has to do with UEFI bios on the GPU? I recall Powercolor touting something of the sort.

    Windows loads fine as I can hear the welcome sound and the Z77X-UD3H shows AO (All OK) on the debug LED display, it's like the GPU refuses to send video or something.

    At least I know it works.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,165 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,659
    My FX-6200 rig stopped reporting a few days ago- I did a quick reset yesterday and it seems to be doing OK now. :cool:

    It runs CPU work only so the output is a lot lower than my other rigs (about 3k ppd)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    Got the 7770 running :rockout: Fail-safe defaults did the trick. Very weird, not even resetting the CMOS solved the issue.
     
    mjkmike and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    3k PPD isn't bad--still 10x what the Atom pulls. HCC isn't the only important project here ;)
    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    dammit... forgot to clear the queue... I just saw the results status and there are 6 pages of errors for the 7770 cruncher. Must have auto-errored. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    Is there something like remote desktop for Ubuntu? I was thinking that I could control the Ubuntu client this way it would solve my problem about having to check on them.

    EDIT: Google to the rescue.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    VNC, ssh, TeamViewer, etc :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,165 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,659
    Now that the challenge is over I will be spending some time doing maintenance on my rigs. My ppd may bounce around over the next few weeks as a result but the drop shouldn't be too severe :eek:
     
    manofthem and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page