1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Many thanks to manofthem for sending me a CrossfireX bridge which arrived today. Now to get CrossfireX working between a 7970 and 7950 without my computer freezing after 5 minutes of 3D activity. I'm bringing my former main 3770K rig back home to further troubleshoot the !@#$ out of my Haswell rig, as I was up until 5AM installing Win7 on a terribly slow 250GB drive (scores 3.3 in WEI), only to find my problem unresolved. I'm leaning towards a hardware problem but I won't know until I swap PSUs and stuff.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,677 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,552
    Oh, I was happy to help. After all, we are close neighbors ;)
    Besides, I can just call in a favor next time I'm on the west coast and need a place to sleep :laugh: :roll: :D J/K :nutkick:
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,296 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    SN2S work flowing again- more to come

    Just saw this update on the WCG site (see below) and have seen the work units popping up on my rigs :)

    Looks like if all goes well with this initial batch we may have a strong 3rd project available for our rigs :toast:


    Link:
    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewpostinthread?post=428784

    It's late for me... now to sleep I go :rolleyes:
    [Ion], Chevalr1c and laptop-hpc say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    ^^^ Just noticed that I had a bunch of SN2S WU's on my rigs before you posted this...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So that is why I saw a few. Not bad! :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    OK I now have three working AMD machines that I am tempted to throw up on BST section to see if anyone would want to trade a I7 920 combo for. Do you think it would be worth it?

    Machine 1:
    Phenom II 720 Unlocked to X4
    MSI DKA790GX Platinum
    6GB DDR2-800

    Machine 2:
    Athlon II X2 5000+ (45NM possible unlockable version)
    MSI 785GTM AM2/AM3 motherboard

    Machine 3:
    Athlon X4 640
    Gigabyte ATX AM3 DDR3 board (Do not know model but has 8 Pin CPU)
    2x2GB DDR3-1333 Preema RAM

    EXTRA CPU
    Athlon II X2 235e 45nm 45W
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    Got an used Asrock 970 Extreme3 for about $30 shipped. Supposedly none of the USB ports work but it has PS/2 ports so I won't need them and, hopefully, it'll come down to some bios misconfig/bad flash as with my Z77X-UP7 :D ยจ:pimp: I shall know in about 10 days *crosses fingers* At most I think it'll be a fuse or something.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, my 2600k setup is having issues--it boots, the BOINC work doesn't auto-start, and when I try to launch the BOINC manager it sits at the "Connecting to the BOINC Client" window. Any of you Linux guys seen this before? I know usually a reboot fixes it on Windows...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    have both rigs back up and crunching :D
    Norton says thanks.
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    what does Terminal > top shows?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,842 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,606
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]

    I am coming for you, Mr. Huggles!

    Be afraid, very afraid.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I had that exact thing happen a year or so ago to a Linux and a windows rig. Searched and searched, never found a solution to it. I had to reinstall to OS to fix it. I am sure there has to be a fix but I exhausted all I could. I even completely wiped out Boinc and didn't held.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    As TRWOV stated, what processes are running? Did you install BOINC through the package manager or did you use a donload from the BOINC or WCG website? What distro are you on?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Mint 15 x86_64
    BOINC installed through the Software Center
    There weren't any WCG processes there--just things like 'terminal' and 'init' and the like. I don't think that BOINC was there either.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,379 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    I get the same thing when my internet connection is partially broken (LAN accesible and working fine, but the "great wilds" are blocked/chocked due to gateway being down)
    In such cases - disable networking (or just unplug the network cable), then launch the manager. In the manager, select "network activity suspended". Reconnect the network. Manager will work then. At least, if the problem is the same.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That is possible--I'm running this system on a network connection bridged through my Atom setup--it has issues several times a week. I'll try that when I get home from work tonight :toast:
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. laptop-hpc

    laptop-hpc

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Central USA
    Well, I don't know about running BOINC on Mint, but the same thing happens on Arch Linux by default.

    The problem on Arch is that the manager requires a password to connect to the BOINC client, but there is no file in it's working
    directory to provide the manager with that password, and entering the password manually doesn't work for some reason.

    The password is stored in the file /var/lib/boinc/gui_rpc_auth.cfg, so to get it to work, you can either open a terminal,
    cd to /var/lib/boinc/ and run boincmgr from there, or you can create a symbolic link in your home directory to the password file.
    Code:
    ln -s /var/lib/boinc/gui_rpc_auth.cfg   gui_rpc_auth.cfg
    Then the manager should work no matter where you run it from.
    If that doesn't work then check the permissions on the file, and make sure your user has read access; counter-intuitively, the owner should be your user, not the 'boinc' user.

    Now, I have no idea if any of this applies to Mint, but I hope it helps. :)
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Turns out that it doesn't like the network connection I had set up--when it's disconnected, everything works fine, as soon as I plug it into the ethernet, the tasks stop running and within about 30 seconds BOINC is unresponsive. It works just fine plugged into my Linksys router, however, so I'll chalk it up to not liking the funky wireless bridge.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    A new machine is needed for an intern so I'll pass him one of the 2 remaining P4 and build a new PC for accounting with the X4. I haven't sold one of the 1055ts yet so I'll keep it and install into my work PC and crunch. Maybe I'll borrow a couple of cores from the X4 too. :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    195 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    So I joined :) my i5 and my phone :laugh: maybe ill fire up my old qaud core for this too. but that is up to my parents to decide. because they get the electricity bill every month :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    Is it a buggy driver?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I don't know. The Atom bridge has behaved very oddly before, although it works fine with all of my Windows systems. And the 2600k worked fine for three weeks before problems started to show up, so I don't know. I'm just going to count on it working properly once I have a "regular" internet connection back at school.

    And it's just a regular gigabit Intel connection, so it shouldn't require anything too fancy to work.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,296 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    You're officially onboard as of this afternoon! :toast:-:rockout:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2957179&postcount=651


    FYI- Here's some helpful links for stats:

    Our Team page at FreeDC:
    http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?page=team&proj=bwcg&team=22175&sort=today

    Your stats at FreeDC:
    http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?page=user&proj=bwcg&name=855248
    Black.Raven says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hey guys, still on the hunt for a I7-920 D0 or C0. I will have a short FT thread later on today. I almost had one today on hardforums but he had someone offer more cash that what he was asking. Hopefully someone on here, anandtech, or Hard has one I can get along with a X58. I really want to get back into the rotation atleast getting some numbers on the board without crazy reboots.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    finally running the i5 2400 24/7 :D the 3570K gets its licks in when im not playing WoW :p
    Norton says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page