1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My Antec 620 keeps the i7-920 at reasonable temps at 3.93. You may want to back down a bit--but your call.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,970 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,343
    Location:
    Wyoming
    It may drop the temps a bit but honestly the H50 is a sub-par liquid cooling solution for overclocking in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, its better than air cooling solutions but no where near a custom built liquid cooling solution or an H100
    Crunching for Team TPU 2 Million points folded for TPU
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Corsair will be replacing the cpu. It was only 4 months old. It was cheap but still shouldn't do that. This is why we buy nice psu's though.

    So I dug out the melted plastic out of the cpu's 4 pin area. This way I can plug in a known working power supply. Fans and lights turn on but I get no video and the system as a whole is dead. Now which parts are working and are not I do not know. Memory is easy to test. I suspect the motherboard is dead but I don't know for sure. It was the cpu 4 pin power connector that got hot and was melted into the socket. It could very well be the cpu that is dead; it is probably both.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Well 3.8Ghz locked up during the middle of the night. Its still getting too hot after about an hour or two of crunching. I have set it back to defaults for now so I can atleast get some numbers in while I figure out a different cooling solution.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013
    laptop-hpc, Arjai, Norton and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nice vinska!!!

    The i7 has been running bionic all night at stock clocks and no lock ups but temps are well into the 70's so no wonder OCed it was getting too hot. I ordered H50 mounting hardware from corsair so once it arrives I will take the I7 back down and see if that will tame this CPU down some. I need to dig in my closet to find some better fans that will move some push/pull air through this H50.

    MAN its good to be back putting up points for the team and its all due to the wonderful people here at TPU!!
    xvi, Norton and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,365 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,582
    That's pretty hot! My 930 runs 52-56C with a mild overclock (3.2Ghz) using a Phanteks cooler..... guessing I could clock it up a lot higher based on your temps :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea, I believe its about time to retire this cooler CP sent me like 2 years ago. it has been a good one though as a backup.

    OHHHOHOHOHOHOHO LOOOKIEE! 27!!

    [​IMG]
    ChristTheGreat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Noticed my Phenom II X2 rig was unstable the other day. Checked my PPD on that and it looks like they're coming back invalid (or something). Turns out my voltage was set slightly below stock.

    Should be able to nip at the heels of pie eaters as soon as that one spools up.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    I've got a strange issue with the FX-8320 in my main computer for a month now.
    Each time I boot it, the CPU gets stuck at x7 clock multiplier (which is 1.4GHz w/ stock HT clock). It stays at that clock regardless of load. After some time it unstucks and then runs fine. With each new boot it takes a bit more time to unstuck.
    But after I shot down my computer to install the GF GTX 770, I ran it for over half an hour without it coming unstuck instead of the expected ~ ten minutes. I thought it was due to upgrading my kernel so I booted into Windows. The problem was there too! I then booted to an older kernel where it worked fine before and BAM! that same problem.
    I cleared my CMOS and booted with default / stock BIOS/UEFI settings to see if that fixes it. Nope. Problem still there.

    No idea if it's a problem with the mobo, the CPU or [insert something here], but I sure don't like it one bit.
    At this point it takes nearly an hour to unstuck. And if this keeps up the time needed to unstuck it will grow to unmanageable lengths.

    I am just stumped as there is no reason for this to happen and I can't figure out what and why is wrong.
    As soon as I get a free day I am going to swap my CPUs and see if the problem goes away.

    *sigh* I had many HW problems over the years, many of which were much more severe. Yet this problem makes me feel so utterly hopeless and helpless it just makes me wanna cry... :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,976 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i found a Intel DX79TO (Skulltrail? skt 2011) at a nice price still didnt decided now ... if the board is cheap the same is incompatible for the cpu xD wether it be a I7 or a Xeon still for a cruncher it might be a nice start (keeping the board dusting in a box till i get a cpu :D) there is also a DX79SR but knowing the "freak out" syndrome of bidder when it come to intel platform i rather not get my hope high, since the direct buy price is way higher than the TO... or i might get a 8350 for the same price of the TO and use it instead of messing my wallet more than necessary :D

    the SR
    [​IMG]
    and the TO
    [​IMG]
    i dont specially like intel but its the 1st time i see mobo from them who look nice :eek:


    i think im off to intel spec site to see whats the difference between them xD
  12. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,348 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    940
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Nice board:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,871 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,664
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,976 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    cool ... i have exactely the same box ... only the box sadely xD it was a second hand GTX480 AMP! inside instead of the rebadged and slightly OC 680
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Installing Ubuntu on my phenom machine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,791 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Sweet. I am going to be that to my i7 this weekend to see how much of a difference there will be in ppd. That rig doesn't need windows anyways as it is a dedicated cruncher.
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Since there is no gpu work I thought the same thing. It has a phenom 965 and gets 2700-3200ppd usually. I will post back in a week or two when it is all spooled up about what ppd I get.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I think it's linux time for one of my PCs too.

    ..and I have a question. I have errors in my log saying "Clean Energy Project - Phase 2 requires 63.48 KB/sec download bandwidth. Your computer has been measured at 22.57 KB/sec"
    Now, the internet connection at work is consistently 60-80 Mbps (7.5 MB/sec to 10 MB/sec), but it is reported to only manage.. 52.90 Kb/sec download. I understand that it depends on the server too, but if a 60+ Mbps connection can't reach a download speed high enough to get a CEP WU, who can?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    long story short - I have noticed a while ago that it uses a horribly unreliable way to measure network speed. So You just got unlucky... for now.
    It's very possible for it to detect several tens of megs per second at one time and then detect just a few kb/s some other time. So just give it some time ;]
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360


    I didn't thoguht I would be 11 for the day xD
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,365 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,582
    My 930 rig is already on Linux so you can use it to gauge performance for yours- looks like I can get about 10% more output at 10% less speed... we're using nearly the same board and the same amount of ram ;)

    I'm running them on a borrowed wifi connection for two of my rigs that can take over an hour to upload CEP2 wu (15 minutes on a good day) and I don't get those errors? :confused:

    Upload speeds are in the 10-50Kbps... download speeds are similar edit- BOINC claims I'm getting download speeds of 150Kbs but I find that hard to believe!
    xvi and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've never gotten those errors before. If you change the number of CEP WUs/host I believe it overrides that check, however.
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    So I think I have significantly increased the ppd/watt of my phenom rig. First of all, running Linux to increase efficiency. I went back to stock clocks and downvolted because overclocking does not seem to give much gain with 500mhz more. I also am running the system with out a gpu. Total system power usage is now 145w at full load. It is a pain though if I wanted to change something. I have to turn it off, install gpu, turn back on.

    Edit: And I bought a relatively fast usb3.0 32gb drive to soon reinstall Linux on to.
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013
    [Ion], Chevalr1c, Vinska and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Pretty much what I've done with my PhII system. Running at stock clocks, has a total of two low-RPM 120mm fans, a single HDD, no GPU, and Linux. No idea what the power consumption is, but cutting out everything extraneous does help I'm sure. I should probably pull the GTX470s out of the i7-2700k system--that would likely drop power usage 50w or so.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just a quick question. I think my CPU is not putting out what its suppose to cause its been running since thursday 100% strong but I am only posting around 2,278-2,428 daily? Isnt a I7-920 suppose to put out atleast 3800 points or more?
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page