1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    quick question

    Can i run BOINC on my gpu (9800gx2) ?
     
  2. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    It looks like the wcg server is down.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I dont know, but somebody told me ones to download work for 4 days ahead of time, so im still crunching on :D

    [​IMG]

    Question, notice there is a human proteome folding project. It has a computation error. All of them do the same, how can I stop from connecting to projects like these? if its going to error out, might as well not do them at all...
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,746
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You can.. but it would be better to put it folding. Our folding teams need our gpu's as much as we need there CPU's. Please everyone support both teams as much as possible! Thank you! :respect::respect:

    CPU = best for Crunching
    GPU = best for Folding

    Oh and I crunch and fold. :respect:
     
    El Fiendo and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK, I'm back from vacation. One of my i7's is now up and running. The second i7 will be another day or 2.
     
    HammerON, Chicken Patty and Mindweaver say thanks.
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    welcome back dude. HOw did it go?
     
  7. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'd tell you but the server is down! If someone hasn't given you the answer from memory before the server comes up then I'll give it my best try. I believe you do it from your World Community Grid member page by selecting My Projects.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. 4x4n

    4x4n Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hey CP, when the project comes back up, go to your my grid page. In device profiles, uncheck the human proteome project, then you will not get any more wu's from that project. It has always been buggy, especially with 64 bit.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  9. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    CP I'd already unchecked the human proteome project but I wasn't sure where I did it.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thanks guys, i'll go do that now :toast:
     
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I am finally getting my RMA back on Friday as per a UPS notice from Intel. It took a couple of "pissed off" inquiries to Intel's tech support both telephonic and on their forum to expedite the process:shadedshu. I sent it in on 25 Jun, they received it the next day and when I called last week to check on the status I got asked if "I already sent in the bad CPU":eek: Basically the repair facility and Intel's tech support folks are not on the same bandwidth:banghead: All in all it was a good RMA. Hopefully I will get compensated by them sending me a D0 stepping:D
     
    msgclb says thanks.
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I have two 64-bit computers doing HPF and 553 results (gold badge) have been returned. No project has yet got an error accross my three computers.

    From what I'm seeing, any errors at all means your computer is not stable. Lower overclocks or run at stock (like me) to get rid of them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    How do I download more projects (within WCG)?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    This sucker puts my CPU through hell... ramps my CPU temp to 61C, my VRMs are nearing 80C... ;-\
    all 4 cores @ 100%... hmm... DFI needs better cooling on their VRMs n such.
     
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'll cross my fingers, and hope you get that DO. For WCG, the DO's are awesome for undervolting. I can run one of my DO's at 3.65ghz on 1.0v. Talk about efficient crunching!!:)

    The CPU temps can be explained by the stock cooler. It's simply a useless piece of crap. For the VRM's, just put a fan over them, and temps will drop at least 10c.
     
  16. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I am rigging my old cooling system back up and bringing my PII back down to 3.1 @ 1.0V for F@H using the on-board BIOS Profiles. Waiting for my DK to come in.. although UPS says Monday now.. ;-(
    Also, my stock cooler is lapped a bit... ;-) Revealing a little bit of the heatpipes, home made HDT I guess.. lol
     
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Advanced -> Preferences...

    "Network Usage" tab -> Under "General Options," change "Additional Work Buffer"

    I set it to 2.00.


    You can also change this online via Device Profiles. Once you apply the change online, you'll have to wait about half an hour then go to that same dialog (Preferences) and click "Clear" at the top. It will download the settings from the web.
     
    hat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, a turd is still a turd, no matter what you do to it. I wish both AMD and Intel would improve stock cooling, even just a little. Seems stupid to sell such an expensive piece of silicon with a piece of aluminum foil to cool it. :laugh:
     
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Pretty sure I want more than this going on... how do I get more? Some people have like 50 of these and I only have 3...
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I told you on this post (increase amount of work to get):
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1467917&postcount=2419

    Sempron LE-1250 isn't a high volume processor so even if you set it to two days, it might only cache eight tasks (6 hours per task, four tasks a day, two days). You won't see a lot of tasks there unless you got lots of cores.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    lol, yeah. Well, I stabilized it at the OC I had it at... the WCG really beats the crap out of the RAM... my OCZ Reapers are so hot that I can't even touch them for more than a second before it "burns". the heatpipes on the thing are also the same way... eesh....
     
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I just run a 240mm fan suspended over my tech station. Keeps everything nice and cool. My DDR3 1866 Reapers are only warm to the touch with WCG at 70%.
     
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for that. Well I got 3GHz on it so it'll be alrgiht. What if I got a dual socket LGA1366 board and stuck 2 i7 975 extremes in? or quad socket F board chalked full of quad core opertons
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Your wallet would be about $4000 lighter. Both platforms are 16 cores and push well over 300w power consumption.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. 4x4n

    4x4n Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Location:
    Seattle
    While I agree with you Paulie that the stock hsf's are crap, they do what they're designed for. I ran my i7 at stock with ht and turbo enabled for about a week crunching 24/7 before getting the 1366 bracket for my TRUE. Never did I see temps go over 75C. If they gave out better hsf's, it would just drive the price up more. It's only people like us that would be willing to pay more for it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page