1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    bro this setup can pass linx as much as I like, its stable trust me. so was my 3.8 GHz settings. it only that project, only that one.
     
  2. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    quick question

    i have about 9 items done and they say Ready to report what do i have to do?

    Do i hit Update on the main page like always do, but i read that i shouldn't be doing that
    help please
     
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I bet it would work fine at stock...

    Everyone's definition of "stable" is different. My definition is absolute: "zero hardware errors." So no, by my definition, it isn't stable. But, my opinion doesn't matter so, meh.


    Let me give you a different perspective:

    What if the algorithms for catching errors in the HPF tasks are superior to that of the other tasks? What if you are sending bad results on all the other projects but it isn't being caught? What if all those overclocked systems are invalidating the results? You get unhappy when HPF throws a flag at you--how do you know your overclocked hardware isn't invalidating all the results from stable hardware? Science is not an overclocking playground--benchmarks and stress tests are. As proof of this, name one supercomputer for scientific research that is overclocked/operating beyond recommended parameters.


    There's nothing wrong with hitting update. Just don't do it every minute.

    There is a setting to make it automatically report completed work. Some instructions to do that are in this post:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1456758&postcount=31
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    all I know is that 4Ghz I put out more points than I do at 3.8 GHz. which is obvious, but if setup was really unstable and not returning much results, my PPD should drop right? I will have to see at stock, but performance difference is pretty big. I by no means have a supercomputer for scientific research.
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Accurate results matter, not e-peen enlarging, meaningless points. This is science, after all (correct me if I'm wrong).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    you are absolutely correct. But if this setup produces the best performance as far as daily use, gaming, etc. and the most PPD why should I change it? Most importantly, it has never crashed.
     
  7. Duxx Guest

    Yes hitting update should clear those, temporarily lose internet? Dont know why they arent sending :wtf:
     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You contradicted your first statement in the second. An error is an error is an error. The only difference between a task erring and your computer crashing is which process the bits that went rogue belonged to.

    I have made my point already and there is no sense in continuing. I've seen this discussion many times in the past and it has always proven fruitless.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if all goes well my Phenom will be crunching tonight. I think i have found a stable and decent clock for it until i have more time
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    you have made your point, and I have told you I agree. But just because something is getting an error deosnt make my computer unstable. it can be BOINC itself in this case. But I also agree that continuing this is pointless, everybody does have different opinions.
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It isn't. 500+ results, zero errors, three computers (2005, 2007, 2008), three different processor architectures (K8, Core, Core i#), three different types of RAM (DDR, DDR2, DDR2 FB-DIMM), three different motherboard manufacturers (MSI, DFI, Tyan), three different BOINC clients (5 x64, 6 x86, 6 x64), and one constant: no overclocks.



    Edit: My numbers will be down for today because of several severe thunderstorm warnings--only my server was running. Blah, too. The storm was big on bark (dark, ominous clouds) and small on bite (only one 15 minute period of lots of rain). :laugh:

    Still, better safe than sorry. The same system produced tennis ball sized hail. :eek:
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    my problem is i'm never home to turn them off. While back I had a power surge take my mobo and CPU, back when I had a Athlon XP rig. now I'm fucked, everything happens while i'm at work.
     
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    anyone willing to donate a AM2 or AM2+ board to me? I have everything i need to get another rig going but a board

    btw Phenom is crunching now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2009
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    i'm the same, need a board for a Socket 775, only thing missing. Good luck finding a board.
     
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    All my computers have UPSs and auto-shut off after two minutes on battery. I see power outages maybe once a month on average and have gotten two direct lightning strikes to my power pole outside. Everything worth anything is surge protected or battery protected.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I really need to get another one. Just crazy how something so important keeps slipping by.
    I had my Athlon X2 rig hooked up to one with auto shutoff, it was great, but after that rig I never used one again.
     
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Both of my i7 DO's are up and running, as is a PII 955. Hopefully over the next couple of days, my point totals will reflect it. Happy to be back running full strength.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    They should report automatically. Wait and see, as I'm not sure if you'll lose the completed work if you update.
     
    Assassin48 says thanks.
  19. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i turned off the rig and truned it back on but nothing

    still says ready to report
     
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    I read somewhere that it auto-updates at 6PM
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    its 7:24PM
     
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You don't. You only lose the work if you "Reset Project." You want to "Update" before you "Reset Project" for that very reason.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    so update?
    i dont want to lose all the work i have done
     
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Update. It will force it to try to download new tasks and upload completed tasks. If it can't do it, it will say "Deferred 00:00:00" which means it will try again after that much time passes.
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    it went from ready to report to acknowledge then disappeared

    so that means it registered right?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

[Ion]

Share This Page