1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Transcend Unveils 4GB aXeRam DDR2-1066 Kit

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Transcend has added a new DDR2 memory kit to its overclocking RAM series. The new aXeRam DDR2-1066+ Extreme Performance kit is dual channel ready and consists of 2x2GB modules or a total of 4GB. Able to work at 1066MHz and over the new memory modules use six-layer PCBs and 16 high-quality 128Mx8 DDR2 DRAM chips per DIMM and they are rated to work at 2.0V with timings of CL5-5-5-15. The memory also features Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP) and is cooled by Transcend's own black and gold aluminum heat sinks. The aXeRam memory kit is backed up by a lifetime warranty.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Wow. Transcend has really been impressing me. They've been releasing ram kits with some nice speeds with low voltage.
  3. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    i want to know what chips they use...

    and once a review is made on their overclocking i may consider getting these.

    i have my tracers running well over 1200mhz at tight timings, and if i upgrade im gonna need to know if ill get something similar
  4. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Transcend uses Micron D9's. I have 2 sets of their DDR2-800 and it overclocks like a beast.
    WarEagleAU and mandelore say thanks.
  5. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Looks like Transcend is taking the ram market seriously in the high-end segment. I've seen good ram from them before as well. I wonder if XP will use those 2x2GB in dual channel mode even though XP only addresses about 3.25-3.5ish?...
  6. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    i got 2 of those 2gb ddr2 800 ram sets as well, micron d9's shiped for under 140 back b4 the most recent price drop!!!
  7. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    ohhh great stuff... im gonna wait for some reviews then may buy some
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, I second that Wile E. They were a pretty much unknown to me until TPU started talking about their new products. From reviews of their other aXeram sets, these should be beasts and they also use Micron D9s. Hopefully, the price will be reasonable.

    Now Im up in arms over what set of ram to get. Buffalo Firestix, Crucial Ballistix, GSkill, Transcend aXeram or Patriot Extreme.
  9. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    you forgot a-data extream sticks ;)
  10. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I'd get the AxeRAM...best bang for your buck. I picked up my 2 kits at $49.99 shipped from the Egg. They are Deactivated again but they activate them every once in a while.
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah forgot about Adata and some others. I popped the Egg when I was done posting this. Hoping these sticks make it to the egg by end of march :)
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I want a set real bad! Erocker stole my set I wanted and now i can't call my system the "bloody Axe"!!! I was so heart broken Erocker! you stole my "AxE"! lol... I hope they come soon!
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    My Transcend 1200Mhz sticks do 1400 5-5-5-15 at 2.34V in my Maximus. Micron D9GMH
  14. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    are the 4gb kits tho? (2x2gb) as my 2gb tracers do nearly 1400 @ 5-4-4-8
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No, mines a 1x2GB kit. What voltage are you running to get those timings out of your Tracers, and are those 1GB or 2GB sticks? For my 1400MHz run, I didn't try upping voltage and tightening the timings. Just set it to 5-5-5-15, 2.34V and ran it up to 1400MHz.
  16. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Im using 2x1gb sticks of BallistiX tracers pc2 8500's

    Stock voltage is 2.2V, I upped that to 2.38V for those speeds, I can take it all the way up to 2.5V with the cooling i have and they become barely warm to the touch.

    Really like these modules, but just would prefer more than 2gb, but 4x1gb stick is not an option unfortunatly. If i could find a similarly fiendish set of 2gb stix id deffo go for that.

    In all honestly tho, id much rather crucial give me some 2gb tracers that clock just as well.. :rolleyes:
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I assume you mean 2.2V and 2.38V respectively? As DDR2 standard is 1.8V, and no board I've seen supports below that.

    And so far, I haven't seen any 2GB sticks that clock this far.
  18. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    yeah, corrcted, dunno why i said 1.xV...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page