1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Transcend Updates aXeRam DDR2 Overclocking Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Transcend has just released a new addition to its successful aXeRam line with the launch of the aXeRam DDR2-1200+ 2GB dual-channel overclocking kit with custom polished aluminum heat sinks. It is very similar to its predecessors - the DDR2-1066+ and DDR2-800+, but this kit uses Micron-branded D9 memory chips, which are well known for their overclocking performance. The new aXeRam achieves 1200MHz with 2.2V and CL5-5-5-15 latencies. It also supports EPP (Enhanced Performance Profiles). Finally, all Transcend aXeRam memory modules come with a lifetime warranty.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechShout
     
  2. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2007
  3. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    I wonder what kind of chips all the AxeRAM have...the 1200 has D9, 1066 has what?, 800 uses Samsung something...

    Somebody please find out!
     
  4. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    I believe they use only Micron-branded memory chips.

    You probably know that 90% of memory is either Micron or Samsung.
     
  5. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Buyer Beware!!!

    This memory is 1066MHz @ 2.1volts. Most motherboards that support 1066MHz only go up to 1.8Volts for the memory.

    We need a list of mobos that work w/ this memory before we start buying it.
     
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    i had Axe RAM, it's great, but yeah not all mobos will take this ram at low voltage
    for example i had to up the voltage from recommended 1.8 to almost 2.0 so I will not get BSOD
    Also, I think it might be my PSU, as RAM voltage fluctuates greatly
     
  7. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    You make a good point for any Overclocking you want to have a GREAT PSU. Otherwise you CPU Core voltage w/ fluctuate. And at High OCs that has to be bad. Same thing on Memory if your Mobo/RAM is recommended for 1.8v but you are using 2.0v or 2.1. You better have a good PSU otherwise fried Mobo/RAM/CPU.

    I think the PSU is one of the most under rated parts as far as where to spend money and have a good quality one.

    I go with Antec or PC Power & Cooling for PSUs.

    ==================
    What mobo are you using. Are you using the 1066 kit above and at what voltage?

    I am having a hard time finding a mobo that supports DDR2 @ 1066MHz w/ a voltage of 2.1. Most I have found are 1.8.

    Later,
    1STRIVE
     
  8. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    I had Raidmax case, it came with their PSU
    my mobo is Abit KN9 and I have Axe ram 800Mhz Cas4 (recomended 1.8, but I have to run it at 1.95)
    it might also be my mobo, one guy on newegg said that it also doesn't work on his Abit mobo (different mobo model), but he also says that it works fine on Foxconn mobo, so...
    Bios updates didn't help me, infact, now Bios shows wrong CPu temp... :(
     
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I think all mobos support that type of standard voltage, but in the bios, you can tweak them higher. As such, you should be able to use this memory no problem.

    Also, is it me, or is Corsair the leader in memory cooling technology? Seems everyone these days is mimicing their Dominator heat spreader design.
     
  10. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    I'm surprised that power supply will handle your system. I've seen several come back because they died in a much less powerful system.
     
  11. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    When i was buying it, i knew that it will be a tight fit with all that wattage
    but then it appeared to be more than enough, Wattage calculator says I needed just ~250W or something like that
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page