1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

transfering files via ethernet?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by regan1985, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    i have a home plug network and i want to see what kind of speeds im connected at, i got software but sadly doesnt work under windows 7! i have transdered a file from the pc downstairs connected to the router via ethernet and the router is connected to my homeplug! trasfering 700mb took 12mins but the bottleneck could be the pc downstairs using a old hard drive and only have 1gb of ram so didnt give me a idea of what speeds im connected to the router! any ideas?
  2. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    You are talking about the wall power outlet when you say home plug right?

    What device are you using to do the transfer?
  3. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh it runs through power sockets,

    im transfering from a old pc downstairs connected to my router at 100mb and i am connect to my router via my power socket at a max of 85mb as thats what the home plug says is the max
  4. twilyth Guest

    700 x 8 bits = 5600mbits
    (5600mbits / 12) / 60secs = 7.78mbits/sec

    Sounds a little light but i guess it depends on what the plug is rated for. You also might get some loss from line noise and especially if the 2 plugs are on different legs of the 220volt feed.

    Did the plug come with any kind of monitor or reporting tool?

    edit: oops, you're in the UK, so I don't know. You guys really have electricity huh? :) ;)
  5. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh well after inventing the light bulb (Humphrey Davy) we didnt know what to do so we have just been using candles to power our pcs :laugh:

    ive noticed in windows 7 there is a details bar and in there it shows what speed im going and sadly its onlu 9mb at the moment changes, i think this is because i am on the new part of the house so not on the direct line! its ok i download in the other room anyway least i can get my xbox back online!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page