1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Transformers: War for Cybertron

Discussion in 'Games' started by EastCoasthandle, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @Hookey ... I merged your thread with this one to keep the discussion in one place.
     
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks m8. Like an idiot I didnt search for this thread before posting :(
     
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    No one has this game for the PC yet. Steam has it but for 9Gigs I would rather have a hard copy.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
  4. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Just got this game.. thing is capped @ 30fps, and tutorial is through "reading".. :(

    [​IMG]


    whoever thought of or suggested / designed that this thing should be capped @ 30fps should be castrated then hanged so that he wont spread his seeds of stupidity anymore.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  5. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    is vsync on, could be like dirt 2. when I turned vsync on in dirt 2 it capped my frames at 30fps.
     
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Hmm, could you do a regedit search for Transformers and see if there is a dword for vsync? If you didn't find any hits with Transformers try Activision.
     
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Yes, 30fps cap. As far as I know nothing can be done about it so far... MP is perfectly playable though.... but at least make the damn cap 60fps..
     
  8. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,439 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I have it for the PS3 and it runs super smooth. Playing in co-op mode with my buddy is a blast!
     
  9. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    I turned it off, and even 'forced' it off on the driver level.. still 30fps only this time with stuttering wtf.


    Ok thanks for the idea, already sniffed out all config files related to the game and saw nothing. Will try this. Otherwise, it might be hardcoded in the game itself >:|
    EDIT: Nope, nothing. The only thing it has is the same graphic option flag it has in game.. which is Texture Resolution and Vsync.



    I also hate the matchmaking style of multplayer, and not having the option of choosing my own server so that I can choose the one that has the best ping.. instead the game gives me this laggy server.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    the 30FPS isnt a Vsync limit, its a hard coded engine limit. several console ports have this.
     
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Found a link that fixes the 30 FPS cap for Transformers War for Cybertron

    This games uses the same coalesced.ini file as ME2. If I remember correctly you have to:
    A. Decompress coalesced.ini
    B. Tweak the settings you like to tweak
    C. Find the mod tool that will let you repack coalesced.ini or else the game won't work
    D. Play the game with the higher frame rates.
    The real problem is that there is no real way to re-compress coalesced.ini once you make the changes. If you don't it won't work.

    However, I found a link that allows you to edit the frame rates. You try it at your own risk though. Source

    ------
    So far I like the game. The only odd thing that is annoying is that you cannot edit the keyboard/mouse functions. But I've gotten use to their KB/M layout.


    Edit: Omega Supreme (oh check out the frame rates).

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
    blkhogan, shevanel, MT Alex and 5 others say thanks.
  12. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Oh how I wish you posted that earlier! :D Anyways, should be usefull in multiplayer..
     
  13. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    The dl in EastCoastHandle's link works perfectly. This is exactly what I was hoping to find. Many thanks. It looks waaaaay better in 60 FPS instead of the choppy 30 FPS, which stuttered even as previously stated.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Yeah, it works without a hitch! It makes the game leaps and bounds better.
     
  15. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Very much. Am now replaying decepticons campaign from the start again, just to basque in 60fps transformers glory.. and am loving it.
     
  16. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    When it looks so much better unlocked, it makes you wonder what the programmers were thinking when they lock the FPS @ 30. The only reason I can come up with is that they did that for the folks with low system specs to improve performance. On my PC however, it plays worse locked @ 30 FPS and stutters, so there is no justifiable reason for this.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Oh, the patch/trainer/whatever it is also works for Bioshock 2!
     
  18. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    OT: I see your a TopGear fan :rockout: Watching Clarkson flip that Robin Reliant in HD was EPIC!!!!!!
     
    erocker says thanks.
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I'm liking the story line but was this portion of Transformers every told when it aired on TV? IE: Why they left Cybertron, etc?
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The game is considered the prequel to canon that we know today. So yes, you're correct.
     
  21. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I just finished the Decepticon campaign and starting the Autobot one. I have to admit, I like playing it. The online stuff needs some work (server choice sux and LAG out the ass) but still fun.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    it was covered in one of the spinoffs, i believe.

    short version is civil war.
     
  23. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    The game is a prequel to an upcomming new transformers TV series from what Ive read.

    Its for the consoles. It conditions their mind so that everything appears smooth because no apparent frame drop is evident.
     
  24. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    After watching Transformers 2 (movie) it did provides some insight of what happen back then but nothing like what's being told in this game.
    If they made a movie showing this I could see the following:
    -Transformers Civil War
    -ETA on movie release
    -???
    -Profit!!!

    Anyway, back at the ranch, the game is pretty good to play and the chapters are a lot longer then I thought.
     
  25. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    game is fun but damn why do the vehicles have to move so slow and why the hell is it so easy on the hardest difficulty? lol a true kids game for sure but its pretty cool regardless
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page