1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trendnet worth buying?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by ShRoOmAlIsTiC, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    I think its a little late to ask, i just bought this combo. Just want to make sure im not throwing money away.

    TRENDnet TEW-692GR Concurrent Dual Band Wireless N900 Router - $59.99 (normally $149.99)
    TRENDnet TEW-692GR Concurrent Dual Band Wireless N...

    TRENDnet TEW-684UB Dual Band Wireless N Adapter - $22.99 ( normally $99.99)
    TRENDnet TEW-684UB Dual Band Wireless N Adapter IE...

    Saved over 100 bucks on the combo, is it a good set for streaming hd movies from one side of the house to the other? My DIR-655 cant handle it.
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just a personal opinion from my experience with Trendnet equipment.

    They have served me well. I have in use their powerline adapters, usb n adapter, and access points.
    I have never had a problem, in the two plus years of continuous use and they keep the firmwares for their parts up to date.

    I, almost, ordered the exact things you did; however, I decided to wait (even though it was a good deal); but, I did grab some LED light bulbs on sale there.:)
     
    ChristTheGreat and DannibusX say thanks.
  3. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    There's an opinion I would trust.

    Me, I've never used Trendnet before.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    I use TrendNet gigabit switches in house
     
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Thank you.

    However, I got to thinking about your question above, in the quote.

    How far is this? If, you are getting a poor signal... a normal wireless output signal will not help.
    Also, make sure you have the wireless power levels set to 100% on both ends.

    I, myself, use the powerline adapters to my system upstairs (connected to the ethernet port) and have an access point on another powerline adapter upstairs for the wifi access of the Wii, laptops, tablets, weather node, and other wireless devices.

    Depending on distance, interference, wall structure/fixtures, and such, you may need to look at other options to obtain your desired results.
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,116 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Most cant. There is nothing wrong with TRENDnet. Streaming HD any length is an issue for any wireless.
     
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,938 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Not on my wireless.... I have an Amped Wireless R10000 router and I can stream HD vids from 100 some feet away with not many problems. It handles a lot more then my netgear wgr614 did.
     
  8. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    well its only about 50 feet and 3 walls from one side to the other side of the house. I bought a mini pc for my kids tv and I want them to be able to stream all my movies from my sever to there room. My D-link gives me good signal but transfer rate is pretty horrible. I get stutters, im hoping that the trendnet combo will give me a little cleaner signal. from the reviews i read, its a pretty solid set up.
     
  9. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Sounded to me like you wanted to buy out the trendnet stock and acquire the company.

    moving along...
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Don't do it shroom! I got one of those models from tiger direct that was on sale two weeks ago and it just boot looped and would not stay on long enough to get into the web interface. I returned to take a restock fee :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Probably would have been better if they had just charged you a restock fee instead of sending you the trendnet device.
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I kinda LOLed at my expense^^

    Yea it suxed :( I waited like 4 days for it due to my WRT54G saying peace out and then this happened. Luckly a good friend on TPU hooked up me with one to get me back going. Right now though I have built my own router and its the fastest I have ever seen my wireless without plugging directly into the modem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Awww crap, the deal is dead and I was in the market for a dual band router. Crap crap crap.
     
  14. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    928 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    I have a TEW-639gr which is working perfectly. We have Trendnet Gigabit switch (4-8 ports) at work, working fine also.

    Trendnet has nice products :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    The DIR-857 I use is pretty good at streaming video,but i use the 5ghz band for media and 2.4 for pcs
     
  16. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    so far the combo has worked perfect. played an 18gb hd movie from server to htpc with no stutter. Very happy with my purchase. Specially for how cheap i got it for.
     
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    ^5 for trendnet
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page