1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TriFire?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Bow, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,345 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I want to upgrade my GPU's maybe, thinking about selling both and getting a new card or adding another 6950 and running 3.
    What do you guys think?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    I had this same dilemma when I had my 6970's and I am so glad I went to the 7950's. Right now I mainly play Dead Space 3, Dirt 3, and Battlefield 3 and it is just night and day smoother when it comes to playing. I don't bother with the Wattage usage cause I have a lga2011 setup so it's not going to matter.
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,397 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Unless you're folding/crunching or dedicate your rig purely to retarded benchmark runs Id say its better to sell up and get a single 7970 or GTX680, 690 or even a GTX titan if you can afford it.

    Tri-fire becomes very complicated business as you're banking on AMD to give you drivers what would give you the performance you expecting from such a set up.

    Unfortunately Crossfire is currently broken.

    a single card powerful card is always better then dual,tri or quad GPUs anyway.
    Bow says thanks.
  4. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,345 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I do Crunch with them now, but your right xfire is a pain in the ass and 3...:banghead:
    lol, but 3 cards just looks bad ass:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,397 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    well its your call bud, you could always disable one when it comes to gaming.

    coincidently I think Dave might have run 6950 tri-fire for a bit but in the end he just took two out and ran with a single 6950 before eventually upgrading to the 7950 he has now.

    personally, for crunching, id rather just build myself a dedicated rig to crunch - that way it doesnt cause my hardware to 'wear out' faster if you get what i mean but thats just me.

    More crunching power is always good if that is what you want to do
    Bow says thanks.
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,321
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Also you need to consider power requirements, Trifire those babies and at full load on stock clocks they are going to pull near 600W, certainly mid 500's, once you overclock.... quite possible 700W, you may just need to replace your PSU to be on the safe side and with that comes more cost, i agree that a good single card is probably the best as well as easiest solution.
    Bow says thanks.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,676 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,548
    I say sell the 6950s and grab a 7970, perfect for crunching and gaming :)
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Out with the old and in with a single 7950/7970. I dislike multi-GPU solutions thanks to the flaws with them (unsupported games and limited scaling). HD 7xxx crossfire is "broken" as well apparently (every frame rendered by the second card is a runt frame) from PCPer's tests on a *few* games.
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,345 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    You would think that by know they would have got xfire figured out :nutkick:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i went from a single HD6950 2gb (Club3D) to a single R7950DD 3gb (XFX) on my mainrig.

    i also used a dual 6950 setup on a rig i assembled for a friend (with a 990FX not a 970 ext3 like mine so no x16/x4 slot pattern, well ASRock do support Xfire on a 970 thats ... unusual ... ) and i run some BF3 session on both, i rather pick my build than his :D
    (wait ... both are "my" builds ... aherm one is at my house sooo its "MY" build)

    my R7950DD isnt a black ed but run higher than a black ed currently so its kinda close a 7970@stock

    budget define all : if you can get the fund for a 7970 go for it otherwise go for a 7950 (what i did since i wanted to keep the 6950 for my 2nd rig to get rid of a GTX560ti OEM (GF110 320bit 1280mb 352core) )

    not mentioning im not fond of Trifire Xfire is fine tho ... with 6xxx series, with 7xxx its as other said
    Bow says thanks.
  11. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,345 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I should be able to get $100.00 each for my 6950's they are fresh RMA. Cards only. So I could get a 7950 or 7970.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    QFT!:rockout:

    I'd recently went TriFire HD6990 + MSI HD6970 Lightning, on a C2Q X9650 platform. I tried my trusty Seasonic SS-850AT Bronze PSU and it literally choked! I had random freezes, hardlocks and a shut down once or twice. I figured, and was told, that the PSU was simply insufficient for the setup. Replaced it with my even older and trusty Silverstone OP1000 and it's been great thus far. Pic as proof....
    [​IMG]

    As for TriFire and CF, certainly running TriFire is more problematic than CF, but I'd say TriFire support is improving as my main rig can handle a plethora of games @5760x1200, max setting. It's the newer games that require a bit of waiting for CAP to be released.
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
    Bow and Tatty_One say thanks.
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    wow so cheap? in switzerland regular "almost new" goes for 140-189chfs (150-202$) new one still goes for 219chfs (235$).

    i brought mine for 68chfs (73$) because it was a paperweight (previous user failed flashing ... on both bios selection switch ... and didnt had a card with igp or 2nd x16 slot

    also i brought my 7950 2nd hand (but considered as new, only 3hrs of use) for 250chf (268$) instead of 350chf (375$) and i overclock it like a black ed wich are 400chf (429$).

    lucky its not the 2012 price ... that card was 499chfs (535$) back then :laugh:

    edit: ohhh i see your cpu is the same kind as mine a "old" but faithfull X6 but a 1100T instead of my oem 1035T :D (i need to find a sweetdeals for a 8350 duh... :laugh: )

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page