1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tripple and even Quad Crossfire possible

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by niko084, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    ATI and AMD can do triple and even Quad crossfire on its RD790 boards. This chipset will be launched this year, probably in Q4 2007 and ATI is working to solve the last pieces of driver overhead problem to make triple and quad Crossfire possible.

    ATI has found a way to render more than three frames in advance and it is investigating how much performance you can get from a three or four graphics card setup. If all goes well, some graphics records will be broken and this might force Nvidia to reconsider canning its Quad SLI project from a while ago.

    Another challenge is to make all this work under Vista, the OS that has been proven as a really hostile one to graphics manufacturers and its driver teams.

    From: http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2652&Itemid=51
     
  2. insider Guest

    They ain't gonna get me into buying 2 expensive cards for CF/SLI, never mind triple/quad card setup not to mention energy costs is already expensive enough as it is in Europe, don't need these rather uncreative "features".

    A single X2900XT already consumes FAR too much power.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    The next revisions will not consume nearly as much power.
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Yes, they are going to have to start making them much more power efficient, they can they have just been lazy about it.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    No one has been lazy. It takes quite a lot to do a die shrink. The freakin card just came out a couple months ago?!
     
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    They have been lazy about it for awhile!

    Their cards were getting out of control a few years ago...
    Just like Intel got lazy with the P4...

    Instead of doing the work upfront and releasing a great product they slammed it out the door to maximize profits... Just like most companies do, its as simple as that.
     
  7. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I kinda have to agree. At the time (and looking back), the term "Pentium 4 Mobile" seems like a contradictory statement.
     
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    HAHAHA I didn't even think about that and I have a notebook with a P4 1.8
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    Cards really didn't start getting out of hand untill what, two years ago with the x1000 series of cards? A die shrink generally takes 2-3 years! If you look now the only cards that really suck power are the upper-end 8800's and 2900's, Crossfire/SLI setups, and while most if not all of thier other new cards are all about efficiency. I really don't see a need to complain. P4's were always hot and power hungry from the get-go with steadily increased miltipliers as time went on.
     
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I know very well how long it takes, but when you consider the fact that they test models that are years away from development..... Take that into consideration they are being lazy and going for profit... It's not abnormal, and I don't blame them for it.

    By the way I know a few people that work in engineering for Intel, if you talk to any one of them they will tell you they very easily could have fixed the P4 HT power draw issues.

    Don't tell me Ati/Nvidia can't make more efficient cards and not make us wait an extra year.

    They save a lot of money by not going back and shrinking the die, that turns directly into profit, the prices on video cards are blown all up too.

    **********
    Give you an idea when I worked at circuit city I could get a x1900 from work for $104 brand new in the box... By the way when I worked there the discount was the stores cost on the card. So that gives you an idea to start on.
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The key is you can run 4 HD 2600XT cards, and not just the high dollar ones. Also it's rumored that the HD2600XT is PCI-E 2.0 complant so some speed gain is possable.

    So for around 400USD will put you into this marker with 4 videocards IF you use the 2600
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    Sorry, but you have it wrong. With prices, you are correct. But what company doesn't have things called prototypes that are sometimes a few years ahead? They need to use a little product development first, and in ATi's case it takes a while sometimes. Buisnesess need to watch thier own asses before rushing products out.
     
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ohh but they do... Take a look around technology, they engineer/ prototype/ test/ then once that is done stable then they start to work it down and make it price effective and profit effective to the market.

    Try this-
    SAN FRANCISCO, Feb. 11 — Intel will demonstrate on Monday an experimental computer chip with 80 separate processing engines, or cores, that company executives say provides a model for commercial chips that will be used widely in standard desktop, laptop and server computers within five years.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/12/t...419c18f5ab70c0&ei=5088&partner=rssnyt&emc=rss
    Yes all these companies do prototype, you just generally don't hear about it because projects also fail and things are done far differently. You generally hear about the projects that passed and are going to be released in the semi near future.
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I guess you don't know where crossfire comes from. Crossfire was made originally for flight sims. A friend of mine has one on his base that has 30 or so radeons in it. They have experience in running lots of cards together.
     
  15. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Even 8x PCIe 1.1 would be overkill for a RV630. The chip simply doesn't have enough throughtput.

    I don't see the point in 4 HD2600XTs since it's more expensive than a HD2900XT and the quad is less powerful.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I forgot about that...

    SLi too... Used YEARS ago with pci video cards, maybe even with ISA cards but I don't know for sure... Used a little ribbon cable to connect them.
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well now, how in the world would you know that 4x 2600xt's would be slower than a 2900xt?

    and even if so its a pointless question...

    2 1650pro's in crossfire are slower and more expensive than a single 1950pro and people still do it, it all comes down to what people can afford and when.

    If you have $200 and need video cards, sure you can grab a set of 2600xt's...
    Now a few months later you have $200 again and you want more punch...
    Well you can save another $200 a few months later AGAIN or you can just go buy 2 more 2600xt's and call it a day.
     
  18. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,980 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Florida, US
    wish i could do 4 x1950s now.....
     
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You may be able to at some point through software control.
     
  20. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,980 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Florida, US
    at some point but not now
     
  21. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Simply because:
    - RV630 is roughly only a quarter of a R600 (one quarter RAM bus, one quarter ROPs, one quarter z-stencil units) 4* 1/4 < 1 in CF
    - and secondly, Crossfire ineffieciency 65-75% would negate the gains of one card

    Quad RV630 would have an upper hand for what comes to stream procs and twice the theoretical texturing power of a R600 but everything else lacks.
    In addition, 4-way RV630 (á 50W) consumes more power than a single HD2900XT (á 165W).
     
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Crossfire is hardly 65-75% inefficient.

    To top that off the single fact of the matter is you are adding extra processors to your power not just speed.

    It's like comparing a single core 3.2 ghz to a dual core 2.8 ghz...

    But in this case you are going from 1 to 4.
     
  23. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,980 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Florida, US
    so what's the point
     
  24. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Maybe they'll do a bundle package, if you buy more than 2 at once they throw in a free PSU ;)
     
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    My point is it may go either way as far as I know..

    Yes the 2900xt is quite a bit faster than a 2600xt that is no doubt..

    But with the new way of lettings crossfire work, especially with these 3-4 cards it very well may even blow doors off a 2900xt, all kinda depends on how well it works. But as for that we will have to wait and see what happens.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page