1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tropico 3 Decompress Config

Discussion in 'Games' started by FordGT90Concept, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,890 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,546
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The config.lua files in the main directory of Tropico 3 has a bunch of goodie settings that are uneditable due to compression. Using this application, you can see what is in there and change it as you see fit.

    [​IMG]

    Note: The config.lua file does not have to be compressed for Tropico 3 to read it. In fact, you don't even have to decompress it to modify it. Just clear the file out and put whatever commands you need in there, one per line.

    Basic Usage:
    Simply select the config.lua (if it didn't find it for you automatically), click on "Open with Notepad," and modify to your fancy. Save changes in Notepad and close Decompress Config. Start Tropico 3 and the changes should take immediate effect.


    Enable Windowed Mode:
    To enable windowed mode:
    1) Download Decompress Config.
    2) Extract Decompress Config somewhere you can find it.
    3) Run Decompress Config.
    4) If the Location isn't showing the full path to config.lua, click the ... button and browse for the location. It will be the same location as Tropico3.exe.
    5) Click on Open with Notepad. Notepad should open up with a bunch of lines starting with config.
    6) Find the line that says config.IsFullscreen = 1 and change that 1 to a 0 (that's zero, not "O").
    7) Change the resolution from inside the game settings.

    Command List:
    Virtually all are untested--use at your own peril. I bolded the commands that are the most useful:
    Command Description
    1 config.Align
    2 config.AssertMessage
    3 config.AsyncHandles
    4 config.AutoOptions
    5 config.ColorBits 32 is default
    6 config.CrashURL
    7 config.CursorClipping
    8 config.DepthBits 24 is default
    9 config.Developer
    10 config.FmodMemory 10485760 is default
    11 config.Frequency Untested. Change the vertical refresh rate in hertz.
    12 config.HandlePoolSize
    13 config.Height Appears not to work.
    14 config.IsFullscreen 1 for fullscreen, 0 for windowed.
    15 config.LuaErrorMessage
    16 config.MainMenu 1 is default
    17 config.MapSlotReserveSize 12 is default
    18 config.MaxGameObjectCount 200000 is default
    19 config.MaxGameObjectExCount 10000 is default
    20 config.MaxGameRenderObjCount 20000 is default
    21 config.MaxVramMb
    22 config.MeshIndexBufferChunkSizeKb 512 is default
    23 config.MeshVertexBufferChunkSizeKb 1280 is default
    24 config.NoPassability
    25 config.NoTerrainTypes
    26 config.OutputDebugString
    27 config.Profiler
    28 config.RefRast 0 is default
    29 config.RunUnfocused 0 is default
    30 config.ShaderStatsTarget
    31 config.SoundListenerMinUpdatePeriod 50 is default
    32 config.UseDXCursor
    33 config.VSync 0 is default
    34 config.Vibration
    35 config.Width Appears not to work.
    36 config.WriteToRegistry 1 is default
    37 config.XInput 0 is default
    38 hr.UpdateLights

    Default config.lua (uncompressed):
    config.RunUnfocused = 0

    config.WriteToRegistry = 1
    config.AutoOptions = 1
    config.IsFullscreen = 1
    config.ColorBits = 32
    config.DepthBits = 24
    config.VSync = 0
    config.RefRast = 0
    config.MeshVertexBufferChunkSizeKb = 1280
    config.MeshIndexBufferChunkSizeKb = 512
    config.MapSlotReserveSize = 12

    config.SoundListenerMinUpdatePeriod = 50
    config.FmodMemory = 10485760

    config.XInput = 0

    config.MaxGameObjectCount = 200000
    config.MaxGameObjectExCount = 10000
    config.MaxGameRenderObjCount = 20000

    config.MainMenu = 1

    hr.UpdateLights = 0
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 24, 2010
    v12dock and vbx say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. benhameen New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    finally!

    success!

    great fix, well done.

    :respect:
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  3. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Thanks! This fixed my "out of range" error.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  4. zeedo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi! I used this software for other games, eg. imperium romanum - and it worked.

    my problem is that I decompressed config files for civcity and children of the nile too but in both cases I cannot run the games cause it says
    "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Error

    This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way"

    I think this game needs this files compressed. How can I do that again? Thanks for help
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,890 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,546
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It was only intended to be used on Haemimont Games files.

    CivCity is made by Firaxis and Immortal Cities is made by Tilted Mill Entertainment. Are you sure it is even successful? Because that is shocking and pure coincidence if it does.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. zeedo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so as far it worked for Imperium Romanum. I think it did because there was only .ini file to decompress and change.

    The other games I mentioned apart from .ini have also .dat files and it seems that if I decompress and change these ones it doesn't work. I don't know how to find other softwares to deal with these two games. :(
     
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,890 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,546
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Well, they're out of the scope of this program. This was specifically for Tropico 3/4.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page