1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trouble overclocking GTX260

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just got my GTX260 today and I'm having some trouble OCing it. First off, it looks like I can't really unlink the core and shaders. I get a little play room, but it looks like I'm being limited by the shaders. They won't even do 1465, which links the core to 667, but I think the core has more to go...

    Secondly, the testing is kind of weird. I don't really get errors (using the OCCT GPU test), it just craps out. The test just... stops running. I hit esc, and my clocks are locked to 2D values. I have to reboot to set everything straight again.

    Is this normal for a GTX260?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    is it the 55nm or 65nm?? what driver?? driver crashing is becoming a problem again with the 200 series i get it all the time so do others. sounds like you have a crap clocking card though
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    55nm, 258.96 drivers
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    The shader clock has to be at least double the core clock. As far as I know that's how all of the GTX260's work.

    Also which model did you specifically get?
    hat says thanks.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Interesting tidbit of information there...

    BFG GTX260 Maxcore 55

    currently testing 640/1405
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I currently have 3-MSI N260GTX OC and max stable clocks are 655/1488/1050. Anything beyond that and we have a crash.
    hat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    You may just have some bad luck on this one, what's your memory at?
    hat says thanks.
  8. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Hmm I don't run mine OCed often, but it will happily do 715/1550 - just checked, but not tried further ...seen people posting shots of 760MHz on the core though. I have 257.21 drivers. A great deal of chip binning went on with 260s, I think that's the problem you've run into ...some just don't clock.
    hat says thanks.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    640/1405 looked good. Ran with stock memory. Metalracer did a bench with mem at 1225, I'm testing at 1200 now.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    My GTX260 runs 756/1512/1150 pretty happily. Small voltage increase and it is stable. But I use a 216sp 65nm one.
    hat says thanks.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I havn't done the voltage mod on mine. The card already runs kinda hot (80's load)... don't think I wanna push it that far.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I used evga's program on mine. If it's running that hot that may be a cause to the instability, have you tried turning the fan up?
    hat says thanks.
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    only the 65nm cards have voltage control. you can edit your bios to run higher voltage and you will get more out of it but without volterra chips the highest voltage your bios mod will allow is 1.18v but it should get you 715 core 1500 shader maybe more
    hat says thanks.
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, that's what I meant. It runs 1.12v stock. 1.18v is available in the BIOS.

    Testing 640/1405/2300
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    ^^

    That test passed for 1 hour in OCCT. I did get some quirkiness though, one time it said aborted by user, but I don't think I did anything to abort it... nevertheless it did run for an hour without a single error. I'll run with it for a while and do some more testing before I quit messing with it, but after passing for an hour I felt it was stable enough to do a BIOS flash to those clocks. As said before I'll run with it for a bit and give it some more extensive testing.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    When gaming with my 9800gt w/ stock HSF, I used to manually set the GPU fan to 45%. This dropped my load temps by 5-10C. If left at auto, the fan would not speed up until the temps reached 75C(approx), thus the higher temps.
    hat says thanks.
  17. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92

    If your CPUz link is accurate, my guess is it may be your mainboard and /or ram config.
    Are you on the latest bios for your mobo?
    I would pull the 2x 512mb and set the other ram in the slots farthest from your cpu. Then I would clear the cmos and redo windows... especially if virtualization and/or microcode updation are/were disabled when you installed your OS. You need to install Windows with them enabled beforehand btw..
    aand I run EVERYTHING I can 'as Administrator'. It may be that simple heh.. .gl :banghead:
    hat says thanks.
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I just had them listed in the crunchers helping crunchers thread (the 2x512mb ram). Someone will scoop them up eventually.

    Running at 640/1405/2300, ran a series of tests overnight and came out clean.
    Magikherbs says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Sweet ! :D Its good to see that Im not 'dreamin' this stuff up :wtf: hehe

    Refreshing the thermal paste on you CPU and GPU will help also. Long live AS5 !

    Peace
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    my msi card ran at these speeds

    [​IMG]
    hat says thanks.
  21. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    what temps are u running? my gtx 260 bfg was eazy to over clock to 690 core with locked shaders http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/98xgw/ temps kill my card even with a better cooler when my room get hot my oc fails sometimes. so u might wanna try running your fan @ 100% if ur trying to over lock

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page