1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trouble with Windows Backup.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Techtu, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So I now have enough HDD space to be able to do a backup and would like to do so for what should be quite obvious reasons :)

    However I'm stumped right away as I keep getting the same error code 0x81000033, a quick search on google brought some some known issue with the system reserved partition/space of 100mb and some have got round this by removing it all together (those who don't use bitlocker) which I won't be using either but is there another way round this, that surely can't be the only fix?
     
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    Try running Disk Cleanup (and select cleanup system files)


    I had a similar problem, don't know what code it was but it wouldn't backup the disk until I used said method.
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    When you did the disk cleanup did you select any extra boxes/item's to clean or just went ahead with the pre-defined?

    Anyone else, maybe?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    i cleaned (i.e selected) everything, I suspect it was my post SP1 installation auto-backup files causing the problem, cleaned over 1Gb of system files and then windows backup worked without a problem.
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    If you still cant get it to work after using Disk Cleanup, there are always third party options.
     
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Freeware?
     
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Yup.
     
  8. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    A link to your favourite? if you use one that is?
     
  9. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Ive used Cobian in the past. Works well. Easy to use and setup.
     
    Techtu says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page