1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Try Before You Buy: NFS: Shift (for the PC) Is Out!

Discussion in 'Games' started by EastCoasthandle, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    My advice would be to not post about personal matters like this on the forums. That way you don't have a need to complain regarding "similar responses" :toast:. Be that as it may, Shift will be patched. Buying another video card "just to see" is something I wouldn't recommend based on timing of next gen cards and the patch of the game. If you are buying the card for other reasons well it's just plainly off topic to this thread.
  2. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Tell you what, why don't you write to Wizz nicely and ask him to make you a mod if you feel that strongly about it? By Monday I will have first hand experience with which to guide people about this game, which is more than your "opinions"....
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I found a metricritic review of NFS Shift. The average review is 85 but the user review is 5.0 :laugh: wow.
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    The Demo plays pretty good.....The way the car slides is pretty cheesey but hey you know.
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yeah, I don't like it either. I think increasing the steering deadzone to abour 23 (using game pad) has helped the most.
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Here ya go, everything set to hi within game settings, 1920x1080, 8x aa, 16x af, and this is a direct copy of my current graphicsconfig.xml for ya:

    Hope that helps! I meant to do it the other day, then decided to race and got side tracked lol! :toast:
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    thanks a bunch!!
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    If you want to know how to setup your rumble pad for this game take a look at this video (optional) and read the description.
    source
    I found it while browsing for something else. I haven't tried it though.
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2009
  9. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I am able to play it with 8xAA, 16xAF, 1680x1050 and all settings maxed. FPS does drop slightly in some cases, but still for me its playable. 4XAA should work without noticing FPS drops. I am impressed after Undercover catastrophic.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    NFSU had certain points of graphical slowdown on the PC, and it was a certain spot each time i Played on a Radeon 9700 Pro.
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yeah, I tried 8xAA as well and didn't notice that much of drop from 4xAA. They just need to fix all the problems people are complaining about and it might be as good as Grid ;)
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Wait, there's problems with this game and ATi? The demo ran beautifully on my 4890. Unfortunately the game tries to be Gran Turismo, and in this regard it fails. Comparing the courses of this game to the same courses on GRID, graphically GRID blows it off the track. The cars also feel to stiff. I guess I would prefer just playing a different racing game instead of buying this one.
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Many are complaining of several issues with this game. They are (from what I understand):
    -Some believe that this game is hampering Radeon video cards.
    -Some say they are having "warping problems" where the momentum slows down for no apparent reason
    -Some say they are having unusual stutter problems
    -Some say they can't get the game to work properly
    -Some say they have lower then expected performance for the game
    -Some say they are experience input lag
    And other issues. According to the developer they recognized the complaints and offered a few suggestions. A patch appears (at least to me) is forthcoming.
  14. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Being an avid racing game fan and GT series player, this game is top notch.

    Also, i have a 4870, and have no problems with my computer at 1920x1200, 2xAA 16xAF, all settings maxed.
  15. CarneASADA

    CarneASADA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    tempe. arizona
    i thought i'd be getting more FPS.. then whats being indicated....

    (2) 295's in SLI .... 1920 x 1200, 8xAA 16xAF ... everything on HIGH .... 50-60FPS

    then i found the .ini tweaks... (which grays out graphic setting)

    went with...
    1920 x 1200, 8xAA 16xAF
    -cardetaillevel="3"
    -trackdetaillevel="3"
    -shadowdetaillevel="3"
    -motionblurLevel="3"
    -effectsdetaillevel="3"

    my FPS dropped to 30-40 ... game still RUNS smooth... no issues...

    using the latest FRAPS ... (seems they just had a update)
    system specs ... (for current rig setup)

    fun game..
    just wish it had a FREE.roam option.. like... NFS.most wanted BLACK
    anyway...
    looks great... i'll see about capturing some screen shots...
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Did you check to see if the game is actually using your 2nd card?
    CarneASADA says thanks.
  17. CarneASADA

    CarneASADA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    tempe. arizona
    no i didn't...
    evga precession ... shows quad.sli ...
    just assumed it was using both cards...

    how could i verify that both being used...
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    The 2nd tab on GPU-Z will display the GPU load. You can run two instances of it for each card.:toast: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1642/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.3.5.html

    I'm thinking SLi isn't supported yet. I'm sure an SLi profile will be released for the game soon.
    CarneASADA says thanks.
  19. CarneASADA

    CarneASADA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    tempe. arizona
    i'll give that a try when i get home from work tonight..

    thanks. again... erocker
  20. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    979 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Will there be a patch for the demo?
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Doubt there will be a Patch for a Demo as final release is already here.
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Heads up!

    The modding community is formulating some great mods. However, at this time everything is rough around the edges on how to do it. There is one place that has a few mods already. I will keep my eye out once things settle down and there is an easy way to mod the game.
    source
  23. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    wow, mods that reduce the graphics content.... I was thinking mods that actually matter. I guess this would help those on laptops running a 9300. w/e

    It would be great if they came out with an expansion for more cars + more tracks, and more car-specific tracks. (IE max 400HP races, or RWD or FWD/2000LBS max tracks, etc...)
  24. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    i get very little problems with this game, a few lockups . i get around 30-40 fps @ 1440x900 aax8 16xAF . which is suprising as ive only got a 5000be @2.8 with a gtx260-192 . im happy its a great game best since the underground games and hotpursuit.
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I found another mod that allows damage to the cars for NFS Shift. You can watch the video here.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page