1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trying to jump PSU - Is it dead?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Reefer86, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    hi guys, im trying to jump my psu to start a water loop up. i have a hardrive connected and a couple of cd drives in case i need some wattage draw on the psu. Now the PSU starts up but then after 2 secs it turns back off when im jumping it. I have never had problems before jumping it and it staying on, im not sure why its doing it as ive never had a problem before.

    So what does everyone think?

    Thanks Reefer.
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    How did you bypass the 24pin plug? Also, its suffiscent to just hook up the pump to the PSU.
     
  3. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    i jumped it using a paper clip and connecting the green and black (the usual way). Ive tryed just hooking up the pump and the same powers for 2 seconds and then powers off.
     
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Have you ever been able to successfully jump start this PSU? If not, then it probably has a fault detection circuit that doesn't like having the ATX plug not connected to anything and is shutting it down.

    You can get little tester gadgets that put the right loads on all the ATX connector outputs and would stop it tripping.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,823 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    +1 just having the pump powered by the PSU while bleeding. When you jump the PSU are you jumping a green + black? It doesn't matter which black you jump with.
    [​IMG]
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    yeah just the green and black nothing else. well i have tryed with both just the pump and other bits and pieces.

    also yes it has successfully jumped before.

    @ kenkicker - i still havent got my motherboard :( dam ebuyer had IT issues!!!)
     
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,823 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    I love it when shops make you pay for their mistake. Hopefully it gets there soon.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Then, I dunno. Is it working normally otherwise? If it's failing, it might begin by making squirly noises that change with loading - noisier with more load. Try putting your ear next to it and listening for it.

    EDIT: by working normally, I mean when plugged into your motherboard and everything lights up.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
  9. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    Ok sorted guys, just noticed a CD drive was still connected unplugged it now and all is good! was shitting my self thinking i was going to buy a new PSU.
    Anyway thanks alot guys for your answers

    O btw wish me luck for no leaks.
     
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Great it works. :rockout: Don't get why that CD drive would trip it though. :confused:
     
  11. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    neither do i tbh, least it works and if that CD drive dont work i dont mind throwing that away
     
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,823 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    THROW A PIC UP. Pics of hardware, waterloops, and PC etc to us are like Playboys and Penthouse to us guys when we were 13-16yrs old. :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    CD drivers sometimes apply their own space-time continuum rules, I tell you they are the real reason NASA hasn't build a Mars habitat yet.

    Anyway, good luck with the leak testing and yes, PICS!
     
  14. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,427 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    score ha
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page