1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trying to solve something.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by u2konline, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    How come i can install Catalyst XP drivers on Windows 7 or Vista, but i can't install Nvidia XP drivers on Windows 7 or Vista?

    :(
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    :wtf:sounds like a recipe for disaster.... :shadedshu
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    Why would you want to?

    And the likely answer is because nVidia drivers are designed to prevent that, and ATi's aren't.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Nothing like some good old fashioned driver conflict!:roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The video driver model from Vista onwards was significantly revised (called WDDM I think) and is isn't compatible with XP drivers. They changed it to accomodate the new DirectX rendering of the desktop for better effects and overall better performance (2D & 3D) and DX10, plus of course, the wonderful new Protected Video Path DRM, which all us consumers want. :rolleyes:

    Hence, if you can install the xp Catalyst driver, it's doubtful that you're getting the full functionality out of your card and it shouldn't really install in the first place.
     
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    +1
     
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you have Windows 7, why are you trying to install XP drivers :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Not really, the drivers don't really install.
    The only thing that is installed is the ATi Install Manager (and may be CCC) LOL :p
     
  9. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Because recording games with fraps is less demanding when using XP, than it is on Windows 7. I haven't tested recording games on Vista yet, but i plan to do a fresh install with Vista in a few mins and do some testing. Not to get into a whole discussion about this again, but this can be easily solve if i started using " HIGH END Video cards ", but i don't, so i like to find ways around my problems. Games without recording in Vista or Windows 7 is perfect, all my games are running nice on my quad & dual core, but recording is a pain , depending on the game.

    On my Quad i am using a 9800gt and for backup my GT240 with XP for the moment.
    On my E5400 i am using my 4670 1GB card, soon a 5670 card. Gaming is fine on XP or Win7, but depending on the game, recording is very demanding, i lose too much fps, and the game begans to stuggle. In XP, perfect. " Keep in mind, i said depending on the game, just a few games which i have notice, like Crysis, UT3, Hellgate London, l4d 2 and l41. But games like Just Cause 2, record just fine in dx10.

    :laugh:

    Well if i am using Windows 7 or Vista and a ATI card, and if i install a XP cataylst driver, the only thing it does is disable aero effects or DX10 or DX11 in general, but you still get to keep the whole windows 7 look, just gaming performance went back to XP. I want to do this with Nvidia, and i can in safe mode, but in normal mode it still works, but not correctly, games will get the BSOD.

    See above, way above.
    I plan on making a short video of it , soon. So i can show you guys :)
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    That really still doesn't explain why you want to install XP drivers on Win7/Vista...

    Are you thinking the difference in drivers is making fraps perform better in XP?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Im so confused it hurts. :confused:
     
  12. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    You know what, let me ask a more important question, if certain games does not work on XP, is there a way to play them on windows 7, seriously.
    I want to play Ford Racing 2 & 3, and some other ones, but they don't work on xp :(
    I am getting sick of using XP, the look is starting to disgust me :mad:
     
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Have you tried right clicking the shortcuts and .exe files and changing the compatibility to windows xp at all?
     
    erocker says thanks.
  14. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Compatibility mode does not work with alot of games, trust me lol

    http://in.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080117041602AAXmrVM

    Ford racing 2 & 3 does not work, error in link.
    I guess i am just going to have to let those games go and buy them on xbox , you know the ones that do not work on windows 7 or vista. Because i am never going back to use XP OS anymore. But i still want the peformance/dx9, so thats why i install Cataylst Drivers on Windows 7 or Vista ( which i plan to install on my dual core soon ) , that way i can have the look and feel of Win7/vista, but have fully dx9 performance.
    For my quad core, i plan to install windows 7 x64 and fully use my 8GB of ram.

    Peace :)
     
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Hey if you use current drivers then just run your games in dx 9 you'll get the same effect : ]
     
  16. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I figure out what i am going to do, because i just tested some games on windows 7 and they work, some older xp games. The only 2 games so far which does not work on windows 7, is ford racing 2 & 3, i will just buy them on Xbox.

    What i plan to do is, using my Quad core with my 9800GT/backup GT240 w/Windows 7 x64bit and get up to 12GB. And for my Dual core, i will install Vista in a few mins and use XP drivers on it, with my 4670, soon 5670. Because i am never going back to using XP, the OS is ugly looking, i can't stand it haha, and using skins does not help.

    Peace
     
  17. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    I'm sorry but your threads make my head hurt :shadedshu
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    u2k you really should use drivers designed FOR your operating system man.


    You ever thought to you know?

    Just install each version of direct x?

    Works just as well :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page