1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trying to understand AMD HyperTransport 3.0.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by acperience7, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. acperience7

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    259 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I have a Phenom II X4 965 and an 890GX mainboard with HT 3.0. I've never OC'd before and I was messing around with the HT link speed and found that it seems to be capped at 2200Mhz.

    I have the NB and HT link both set to 2600, but it still won't go past 2200Mhz. I'm pretty sure I'm missing something simple, but despite my Googleing effort I can't seem to find a solution besides raising the FSB.

    My bios lead me to believe that I may be messing up some special ratio.
     
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well...
    There is really not much benefit messing with the HT Link speed, it is not like the old FSB where it bottlenecks the system.
    The CPU North bridge (IMC) on the other hand is where you really want it max out,
    since the L3 on a K10.5 is clocked at NB bridge and it also improves memory performance.

    Many boards have stability when OCing the HT Link anyways.
    If you really want to OC the HT-Link try adding some voltage on it.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    So when you set the HTT link to 2600 it reverts back to 2200? Try a bios update yet?
     
    acperience7 says thanks.
  4. acperience7

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    259 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    i didn't update yet, but it's not listed as an issue on ASUS's site.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Do it anyways as it sounds like a bios issue either way. Technically you should be able to run a 2600 htt without adjusting voltage on the htt link.
     
  6. sfp1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Faroe Islands (Faeroe Islands)
    Well it depends if the bus speed is set to 220 then the HT link speed won't go any higher than 2200mhz as it is set at 10x bus speed.

    That should be right if i'm not mistaken.
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That is indeed right.
    Is it the same for BE procs?

    Edit: Oh wait, that 9850 you have is a BE right?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Nope. With a BE chip everything is unlocked. You can keep the FSB at 200 and raise the HTT and NB links.

    Options from my bios are below:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
    acperience7 and Zubasa say thanks.
  9. acperience7

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    259 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Wow. The bios update did it. Thanks guys:)
     
    erocker says thanks.
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Overclock the processors bus speed and the HT Link will increase too :)

    You've got a BE, raising the multi might also increase the HT Link but let somebody else confirm that, but rasing the CPU bus will definitely increase the HT link!

    Use CPU-Z to see the actual and current speeds in which the HT Link is operating. But as others have said the HT Link doesnt increase performance much, worry about overclocking your CPU's clock speed and memory to the max first.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Raising the CPU multi will not, but increasing the HT link (FSB) definitely will. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page