1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TT DUO ORB VS ZALMAN VF-900 (reveiw)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by freaksavior, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Introduction:

    Zalman is known to produce some of the best CPU and graphics card coolers ever made. Most of their coolers are aimed at enthusiasts who want either a quiet cooling solution or one that can deal with the massive heat loads that an overclocked system produces.

    Thermalright is known to produce some of the best performing cooling solutions on the market today. Their design is original and optimized for today's demands in cooling solutions.

    Today I will be taking a look at Zalman's VF900 cooler and Comparing it to Thermal takes DuOrb CL-G0102.

    Thermaltake Duo Orb

    Zalman vf-900 CU 2
    Specs:

    Zalman:
    Thermaltake:

    Packaging:


    Zalman:
    The usual contents include the mounting hardware, thermal grease, and the cooler itself.

    [​IMG]

    Thermaltake:

    The usual contents include the mounting hardware, thermal grease, and the cooler itself.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    A closer look:

    Zalman:

    The Zalman base was a almost a perfect mirror finish wich is nice. When i had bought it there was one small mark on it. The base is flat with requires no lapping to the base.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Thermaltake:

    The Base of the thermaltake is no where near as much as the mirrored finish of the zalman but had a flat surface to it so the base is required no lapping.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Installation:

    Zalman:

    The Zalman Is actually a little tougher than the thermaltake cooler. The included springs are a bit tough to get on and require a great deal of patience to get the cooler mounted. I didn’t use them for this reason. overall the installation was a breeze and took about 5-10min

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thermaltake:
    The Thermaltake was actually very easy to install. 4 screws, 4 washers, and 4 nuts to tighten to the board, and you’re done. Much Like the zalman the installations are pretty much identical. Once again the overall the installation was a breeze and again took about 5-10min

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Performance/Test Setup:
    Zalman:

    Idle Temperature (ambient being 75F) was a rock solid 42C. It didn't move at all.

    [​IMG]

    Load temp gpu usage at 99.99% it topped out at 73c

    [​IMG]

    The Zalman Fan noise is (my guess) around 25-30db, Not loud at all and pretty quiet cooler

    Thermaltake:

    Now even though it says 837, core is actually clocked to 850

    Idle Temperature (ambient being 75F) was 37-38C it fluctuated.

    [​IMG]

    And load temp gpu usage 99.99% (again) Maxed out at 72c

    [​IMG]

    The Thermaltake cooler was considerable louder than the Zalman fan by a easy 5-10db. Since i do not have proper equipment to measure sound i can not accuratly tell what there are at.

    Conclusion:

    At same price ($34.99) Both of the coolers I tested performed quite well. The Thermaltake is louder than the Zalman so if quietness is the key the the zalman, but if you have other 120mm fans in your case, then the Thermaltake will blend right in. While the Thermal take seems to handle idle temperatures a little better than the zalman. Load temperatures were almost the same with very minimal difference (2c) while load was around 4c difference.

    Being the same price i personally would get the Thermaltake Duo-orb even if it is a tad bit louder,If you don't care forthe blue led fans or the slight loudness then my chose would be for the zalman. Either way you go is going to be good replacement coolers for the 3870 series cards.

    Both coolers
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2009
    [Ion], Chicken Patty, dark2099 and 8 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    so this is the review you were talking about,lol
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Pictures are a bit big. Big doesnt make up for the fact they are out of focus. You need a "macro" lens! If you resampled them to a smaller size, they wouldnt look so bad.

    But thanks for the review!
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    wich ones are blurry?

    and i cant seem to finish this after i installed the vf-900 my card wont boot. i really hope it didn't crap out on me
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Good luck fixing your system.

    Look carefully for TIM that got "overspread" or on a resistor that might cause your current boot fail. I hope you turned the PC off fully before yanking the cards, and didnt just do a software "shut down".

    Good luck.

    The pictures after being automatically "shrunk" by the TPU system are better... but if you click to "full size", then most are blurry. Some of the pictures are redundant, and only add to the overheat of loading the page (most pictures 300K+). So my suggestion is just to reduce the size of all BUT CRITICAL picture, and remove redundant ones.

    Redundant or blurry pictures:
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0028.jpg
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0030.jpg
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0031.jpg
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0038.jpg
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0042.jpg
    http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/IMG_0043.jpg

    For reasons of PACE.... (I'm a film director :D)... just kill those pictures from the review. They dont add... only DETRACT from the other, good, pictures.
    freaksavior says thanks.
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Well its a inconclusive review. Sorry about this guys. My card crapped out apearently. The TIM paste isn't conductive hence why i used mx-2.

    I'll remove those pics right away though
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Oh big suck time, freak. Sorry to hear you lost a card, and ALL IN A GOOD CAUSE for the benefit of a TPU review.

    That's a BIG LOSS. I hope you can RMA. Here's a +1 to cheer you up a bit. :toast:
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh man freaksavior. Thats bad, real bad. You getting an RMA approved?
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Bump. added pics of zalman installed. i did a rub down with alcohol so i hope and PRAY TO GOD this fixes it. i do not want to send this back
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Just saw this thread. Glad someone's doing a comparison like this.

    And dude. You really need to take it easy. You're going to hell because you murdered too many video cards.
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Some one with 56k must have put a curse on you.

    Good luck with the RMA.
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Good review... how many cards did he murder?
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Thanks. and so far 6
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    What TIM was used, I have a TT Duo Orb (and an Acellero Rev 1 S2) and neither of them seem to get better temps on my Visiontek 3870 than the stock cooler did. I've had all 3 on the card with both AS5 and MX2.
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    mx-2.

    It could also be because of my test setup. i have 3 fans on the side, 2 on the bottom 2 in the front, all sucking in air. then one top and one rear blowing out.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Death of a GPU (a play in 6 parts)

    No way is that due to your other fans. You've either

    1./ Accidently been a bit BRUTAL in handling them ("lock up your daughters!!!" :roll:).

    2./ You've got a dodgy GPU slot and/or power supply and you are overvolting the poor thing

    3./ Other reasons more mysterious
  17. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    So I decided to re-set my Duo Orb with some MX-2 today (had AS5 on it to see if that would give any better temps than when I initially set it), and I applied about the same amount I put on my CPU and the temps are now lower than the stock cooler, so I guess I just wasn't putting enough on either. To share the temps and such, on the stock cooler when I first got the card, idle temps were about 50c, first time I put the Acellero on idled at 43c, then when I first put the Duo Orb on, with both TIM's not applied in high enough quantities, idle was like 60c, now with enough MX-2 it idles at 38c.
    Last edited: May 7, 2008
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Be careful putting AS5 on a chip without an IHS. You could fry the card. AS5 is electrically conductive, and if you put too much on or get it on something that bridges an electrical connection where it doesn't belong, your card is toast.

    Besides, MX-2 doesn't need a break-in time like AS5. MX-2 ftw!
  19. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    @DD, i dont think getting as5 on the cpu is enough to fry it, but might make the cpu act weird, etc.
  20. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Yea, I'm definitely a MX-2 guy now, just was testing out the AS5 (plus I have a huge tube that I really have no use for anymore).
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    GPU. It won't mess with a CPU because it has an IHS.
  22. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Well all my GPU's have MX-2 on them so its all good. :)
  23. jbruneau

    jbruneau New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    98 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The review is well done so far, let us know what happens with that card!

    Was it thermal paste bridging connections? Are you running a volt-mod? Is it a volt oc using a custom bios? Is it a system overclock, and pushing the PCI-Ex bus too fast? Perhaps too much voltage to the PCI-Ex bus itself?

    I have been trying to figure out what to install on my BFG 8600GTS. So far, the winner is Sytrin's KuFormula VF1 Plus! It even beat out AC's Accelero S1 w/ the Turbo Module! I plan on trying out the Accelero with Ceramique instead of the pre-applied whatever it is. I can't believe there is a 10 deg C difference between the VF1 and Accelero!
  24. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    im getting my his in Friday so over the weekend im going to finish this up. If my memory serves me right, the performance of the two coolers are almost the same.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    When I picked up my Duo Orb I was originally gonna get the Zalman but it was out of stock, but I am happy now that the temps are lower. Decided to do a quick check on what kind of temps I would get at load, after a few minutes of having the 3D cube open in ATI Tool, max temp I saw was 50c, same as stock cooler @ idle. Sorry for kind of hijacking the thread.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page