1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Turning WiFi on/off with a timer.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Grnfinger, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a Linksys WRT54G router with DD-WRT installed.

    What I would like to do is be able to turn my WiFi off at a certain time and have it turn back on at a certain time all automatically.

    Is it possible to do this with said equipment?
    I've been in the router setup but when I try to set a access policy is bitches about end time must be bigger than start time, which is NFG. I would like the start time at midnight and the end time at around 5am.

    How can I accomplish this?
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Maybe something like this turn the routers power off and on at the wall socket
    [This is only an example]

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
  3. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    it's an options but not the one I was looking for.

    The wifi is being abused and work is not getting done. They still collect the pay check tho.
    So what I need is internet access off for the wifi pc's. I still need the router for network shares.
    I figure I cant be alone in employee BS so this must have been resolved by someone?
     
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Why give them wifi access at all if they only need network access?
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    I'm not entirely sure what you are asking. Do you want to disable the Wifi or just disable the internet to the wifi PCs? My guess is that you want to disable the internet to the wifi PCs? I do this all the time with Tomato, it's access restriction section is awesome, but I'm not sure how to do it with DD-WRT.

    I'm assuming because all the PCs are wireless and not wired and he wants to restrict the internet but still keep the wifi active.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
    NdMk2o1o and Grnfinger say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Wouldn't blocking 8080/443 and all other internet ports do the trick?
     
  7. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Try Start time 00:01
    End time 04:59
     
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  8. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    yes you are correct.

    Maybe I should try tomato on my spare router and see if I can make this work.
    I've tried every option in DD-WRT and cant seem to make it work the way I want.
     
  9. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    632 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    It probably would, but that would be shooting a mosquito with a shotgun.

    Access restrictions is the way to go. I'm an OpenWRT/Gargoyle user myself, so I'm not sure what the exact phrasing/location of the option is, but it must be in there somewhere...
    OP should be able to restrict access completely or partially, based on time, MAC, IP, destination host, etc.

    This makes it seem pretty straightforward... Are you sure you set it up as described, and confirmed it not working, OP?
     
  10. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    This seems to be working. I feel stupid atm
    Thank you
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  11. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Your welcome
    The Simple solutions are usually the best
    If it works why bother with the complicated one's

    Ps change the Router password so your settings cannot be changed by others

    Some one will if they can
     
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  12. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes your right, they will be trying for days to get back on FB.
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,129 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    US
    Only by hour under Radio Time Restrictions and just enable it. Not sure it it disables the network though probably does huh..
    [​IMG]



    EDIT: Maybe a second router the same so it be Modem router 1> router 2

    The ones you want to stay online you connect to router 1 and the others to router 2 that you want to get disconnected.

    OMG REEDIT LOL..

    Did you try though this section ?. As you can pick who to disable.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  14. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes after a few mins to calm down I figured out my Router time was the issue. it is 9pm EST
    and my router is showing 2am. So once the time was changed in the router the setting stuck and I now have the 2 PC's wifi shut down for there shift.

    Thanks again everyone for the help/advice. I can hear them bitching down the hall now wondering who is going to come up and ask why there is no internet access
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
    AsRock says thanks.
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,129 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    US
    Your Welcome, and thanks for the update LMAO..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page